We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect break in the sun”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent a week at Avila and could not have had a more relaxing time.

Although the hotel was busy it did not feel crowded and we enjoyed spending time on the beach.

Swiming every morning followed by the delicious breakfast. Loved the smoothies and salads at the pool bar!

The hotel has a car rental in the lobby which we made use of to explore the island and see more of the beautiful beaches in the north.

There is a Blues Bar with live music on a Thursday, which was fantastic! Such a great spot. We tried several of the restaurants in the area at night and did not feel unsafe at any stage.

We will go back again and would like to stay for two weeks and see more of the island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BSL08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 644 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is located quite close to Willemstad, we often walked into the city (20 min walk). The neighbourhood does not look very appealing, but we never had any problems even at night.

The room we stayed in was small but ok - normally you don't stay in the room during the day, so this was no problem. The hotel has two small beaches with free sunchairs and enough places in the shade.
We only had breakfast in the hotel once because we think it is overpriced. Save some $ and have your breakfast in the Barrista coffee on the grounds of the hotel. For dinner we always went to one of the close restaurants or to Willemstad. The restaurants close to the hotel are very nice and the prices are ok.

The Avila hotel lacks good personel. There are some exceptions (Lady at the pool bar preparing snacks for lunch) but normally they just don't seem to be happy in their jobs. We've never seen a waiter smile...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Avila Hotel was well known for its personal touch and friendly staff. At our stay we were very disappointed, beginning at the check in counter were the staff was uninterested and didn't notice the guests and their needs. The room smelled strange like mold.We were happy to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Extremely disappointed! Very clean facilities a definite plus. And the food was also delicious. However the staff seemed to ignore us. To the point of a dinner that took 3.5 hours with poor service by our wait staff, needing to wave our hand to get the servers attention to just refill waters. 45 min. to get appetizers and another 1 and 15 minutels before our entree. This happened twice during our stay at dinner.
During the day, Bar tenders failed to acknowledge us unless we interupted them to get their attention. We are very patient people it was just rediculous what it took to get service (not even service with a smile).
If planning on new years vacation, fireworks blow off literally around the clock for at least 3 days prior and continue for two days after new years eve. It is loud!
Sleep was tough with fireworks, rooster crowing at about 4:30 am, and kids running across tile and yelling at 6:30am.
Locals outside of the resort had said that Avila is in a rough area of Curacoa, nothing happened to us in that respect. When Im used to going to places where the staff helps make the vacation the best that it can be, its disappointing.
To sum it up, poor service, loud, good food, clean.

Room Tip: Try and get on the ends of each wing of the octagon it seems to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petchman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We decided to stay at Avila based on the location of the hotel and the fact they have 2 real beaches. When we arrived at 4pm to check in the woman at the desk said our room wasn't ready yet. She said it would be about 10-15 minutes but we could check our luggage. Well 10 minutes, 1/2 hour, 1 hour, 1.5 hours..finally 2 hours later our room was available to check in. I have NEVER been to a nice resort and had to wait 2 hours for the room to be available.

We stayed in the Blues wing with a nice terrace over looking the water. The room was nice and just what we expected. They do have an ant problem so do not leave any food uncovered in the room, or drop crumbs your floor will be covered in ants. Also the walls are extremely thin, and you can hear your neighbors every move.

There is no hospitality on the island of Curacao. Everyone does things at their own pace..
I have never seen ordering a drink take 5 people behind the bar 30 minutes to figure out how to make it. Ordering drinks from the bar became a chore, even a glass of wine was a problem. Many times they would give us the bill before the drink even arrived. Service is not their specialty. They make you feel like you are making them have to go out of their way to do their job. I only found a few people at the resort extremely friendly. To name a few Rickart-so sweet, helpful, made the vacation enjoyable. Luxeandrew is the only one who knows how to make a drink, and can make it in a timely fashion.

We ate at a few restaurants. Fishalicious was by far my favorite!! Great fish! Rozendeals is a close second. The service at both of these restaurants was on pair. Breakfast at the hotel in the morning was great!! Amazing waffles cooked with sugar-yummy! Good thing it was a buffet and we could serve our selves.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend Curacao to my friends, and would not go back to the island. I have been to many island in the Caribbean and this one I would suggest staying away from.

Pros: beach, buffet breakfast,blues bar on thursday night, Rickart & Luxeandrew for taking care of us.
Cons: island not safe, run down, AWFUL AWFUL service...like nothing i have ever experienced!

Room Tip: Ask for the large room in the blues wing at the end of the pier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
3.1 km away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.5 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
451 reviews
0.7 km away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
365 reviews
8.5 km away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: ₹ 11,477 - ₹ 25,791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing