We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,669)
Filter reviews
2,669 results
Traveller rating
1,252
879
309
129
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,252
879
309
129
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool smaller beach privilege bar privilege package theatre bar neptune restaurant snack bar entertainment staff a la carte restaurants privilege guests privilege room main pool italian restaurant rain shower beautiful resort recommend this resort ocean front
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 2,669 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing time in Cuba . Just returned on April 2 2018 . We did a duo trip 3 days Havana and 4 days Veradero. The Ocean vista was a very nice hotel . The staff was very accommodating and really helpful as the first room we were set up in the air conditioning was not working so they were great to move us to another room . The food was great . I had heard so many people say the food wasn’t going to be very flavoured. We had a great variety as well as 3 restaurants which didn’t need reservations to go to . There is a little beach and a large beach which has the boat activities . We spent most of our time on the little beach area . This area is actually connected with several other hotels so you can walk the beach about 15 min down to a shopping market which was nice . Directly infront of the hotel is a beautiful infinity pool overlooking a cliff it’s really breathtaking. The rooms were great my only complaint would be the showers the water was so hot ( I know people love hot showered but I couldn’t figure out how to get the water cooler so too hot for my liking )
We did a tour on a catamaran and it was great took you snorkeling, to see the dolphins and to a beach area for a buffet and lobster lunch .. amazing for and extra 15CUC so delicious..

The last day we upgraded to the VIP which was great as we ate dinner in the Neptune restaurant lobster again !! And received late checkout . As well as took advantage of the VIP perks it was only 28CUC

The nightly entertainment was also great . There was a preshow and each night something different . Very professional and enjoyable

Had an amazing time

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Debbie G, THank you for choosing our resort to spend your last vacations, it is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our facilities, activities and restaurants. We hope to host you again in the future, thank you for your comments. Kind regards, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Im half way through my trip at Ocean Vista, amd haven't had too much to complain about.

The food is far better than I was expecting, lots of flavour and variety, the cab ride into Varadero was only 15 cuc (taxi with a/c). Alcohol selection is good and quick service, we are traveling with a 6 month old baby, bigger stroller and haven't had any issues.

The Loud section durring the day is at the pool bar, every where else is lively. Live band durring the day and even more live Music at night.

Every employee is English speaking and has been entertaining my poor spanish vocabulary.

Improvements would be to seal suite door again (only because I worry about bugs). Do a little more up keep on basic maintenance of small stuff like doors, shower handles, but I really cant complain at all. This resort has changed my wifes opinion on Cuba (and that is a BIG accomplishment)

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lukemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear lukemountain, It is gratifying to learn that you have chosen our resort for your last visit to our destination. Furthermore, that your experience at OVA was satisfactory and meet all your and your wife´s expectations. We are grateful for posting your review. We are looking forward your next visit to Cuba! Bests, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Myself and 5 friends just got back from Cuba and stayed at Ocean Vista Azul. We had a great time. The best part of the trip was meeting and making friends with the staff. We had dance lessons, spanish lessons, pool activities, beach activities and nightly entertainment. It was difficult to leave our new friends who made our vacation so awesome. Thank you so much Danny, Mirtha, Michel, Felix, Pedro, Nena, Barbaro, Choco, Noriel and Gustavo. You are the best and were the highlight of vacation. We wouldn't have had the great time we did without you. Sincerely Marlene, Gloria, Brenda, Sandi, Sandy, and Davina.

Room tip: They all seem great. All are close to everything.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horsense4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear horsense4u, We truly appreciate your kind comments and compliments you have made to our performance; it is rewarding for us to learn that you chose OVA for your vacations. Furthermore, that the performance of the mentioned members of our staff was the highlight of your trip. We are aware that it is because of them that we are able to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for posting your review on this site. We look forward your next visit. Warm regards, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I enjoyed my time at Ocean Vista Azul. The infinity pool was great to do laps in, the beaches were nice, and the service was excellent. The food wasn't great and there could have been more variety. But as many people have said, you don't go to Cuba for the food. Also, the evening events were lacking and although the dancers tried their best, the shows were often disappointing. One night I walked past the theatre of the Iberostar Bella Vista (resort next door separated by a fence) and noticed they had amazing live bands for their shows. Ocean Vista Azul had a great band that would play sometimes prior to the main show but the lack of space to dance didn't make it that enjoyable.

I would warn others about staying in building 8 on the second floor. Our room was two from the elevators (an accessible room) and we didn't have hot water for 2/3 of the time we were there. Also the toilet didn't flush well and the room smelled faintly of mold. The dresser also was busted so we couldn't put our clothes away properly. Being across the pool and close to the theatre didn't help either because of the noise.

Overall, good resort though for the price. The pools and beaches were great and there always seemed to be enough lounge chairs wherever we went.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Angy W, It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the performance and friendliness of our entertainment staff. We will be more than glad to share your appreciation with them. We are thankful for writing your experience and we look forward your next visit. Bests, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Resort was very nice.
thanks Danny, Noriel, mirta, - Activity staff was amazing and super friendly. Mirta was always there to help with questions and to get my friends and I involved in activities.

Only negatives was trying to get clean towels and ala cartes where not great.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Relax95279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Trip advisor member, We want to express our gratitude for choosing our resort for your last vacations. It is rewarding to learn that your stay was satisfactory and that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and the beauty and cleanliness of our facilities. Thank you for your suggestions and remarks about the aspects of your vacations that were not totally satisfactory; be sure that your comments will be forwarded to the pertinent departments. It is good to learn that overall, and despite these minor issues, you had a good time with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future. Best regards, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews