We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Vista Azul
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$ 256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$ 296
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 204
US$ 173
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 114
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$ 151
US$ 104
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 148
US$ 136
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 91
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,145)
Filter reviews
2,145 results
Traveller rating
1,009
721
249
96
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,009
721
249
96
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolsmaller beachtheatre barsnack barneptune restaurantprivilege bara la carte restaurantsprivilege packageprivilege guestsentertainment staffprivilege roommain poolmikes coffeeitalian restaurantrain showerbeautiful resortocean front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 2,145 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Im half way through my trip at Ocean Vista, amd haven't had too much to complain about.

The food is far better than I was expecting, lots of flavour and variety, the cab ride into Varadero was only 15 cuc (taxi with a/c). Alcohol selection is good and quick service, we are traveling with a 6 month old baby, bigger stroller and haven't had any issues.

The Loud section durring the day is at the pool bar, every where else is lively. Live band durring the day and even more live Music at night.

Every employee is English speaking and has been entertaining my poor spanish vocabulary.

Improvements would be to seal suite door again (only because I worry about bugs). Do a little more up keep on basic maintenance of small stuff like doors, shower handles, but I really cant complain at all. This resort has changed my wifes opinion on Cuba (and that is a BIG accomplishment)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lukemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear lukemountain, It is gratifying to learn that you have chosen our resort for your last visit to our destination. Furthermore, that your experience at OVA was satisfactory and meet all your and your wife´s expectations. We are grateful for posting your review. We are looking forward your next visit to Cuba! Bests, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and 5 friends just got back from Cuba and stayed at Ocean Vista Azul. We had a great time. The best part of the trip was meeting and making friends with the staff. We had dance lessons, spanish lessons, pool activities, beach activities and nightly entertainment. It was difficult to leave our new friends who made our vacation so awesome. Thank you so much Danny, Mirtha, Michel, Felix, Pedro, Nena, Barbaro, Choco, Noriel and Gustavo. You are the best and were the highlight of vacation. We wouldn't have had the great time we did without you. Sincerely Marlene, Gloria, Brenda, Sandi, Sandy, and Davina.

Room Tip: They all seem great. All are close to everything.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horsense4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear horsense4u, We truly appreciate your kind comments and compliments you have made to our performance; it is rewarding for us to learn that you chose OVA for your vacations. Furthermore, that the performance of the mentioned members of our staff was the highlight of your trip. We are aware that it is because of them that we are able to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for posting your review on this site. We look forward your next visit. Warm regards, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my time at Ocean Vista Azul. The infinity pool was great to do laps in, the beaches were nice, and the service was excellent. The food wasn't great and there could have been more variety. But as many people have said, you don't go to Cuba for the food. Also, the evening events were lacking and although the dancers tried their best, the shows were often disappointing. One night I walked past the theatre of the Iberostar Bella Vista (resort next door separated by a fence) and noticed they had amazing live bands for their shows. Ocean Vista Azul had a great band that would play sometimes prior to the main show but the lack of space to dance didn't make it that enjoyable.

I would warn others about staying in building 8 on the second floor. Our room was two from the elevators (an accessible room) and we didn't have hot water for 2/3 of the time we were there. Also the toilet didn't flush well and the room smelled faintly of mold. The dresser also was busted so we couldn't put our clothes away properly. Being across the pool and close to the theatre didn't help either because of the noise.

Overall, good resort though for the price. The pools and beaches were great and there always seemed to be enough lounge chairs wherever we went.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Angy W, It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the performance and friendliness of our entertainment staff. We will be more than glad to share your appreciation with them. We are thankful for writing your experience and we look forward your next visit. Bests, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Resort was very nice.
thanks Danny, Noriel, mirta, - Activity staff was amazing and super friendly. Mirta was always there to help with questions and to get my friends and I involved in activities.

Only negatives was trying to get clean towels and ala cartes where not great.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Trip advisor member, We want to express our gratitude for choosing our resort for your last vacations. It is rewarding to learn that your stay was satisfactory and that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and the beauty and cleanliness of our facilities. Thank you for your suggestions and remarks about the aspects of your vacations that were not totally satisfactory; be sure that your comments will be forwarded to the pertinent departments. It is good to learn that overall, and despite these minor issues, you had a good time with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future. Best regards, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything at OVA was amazing! The beach was absolutely stunning, so clean and tidy, white sand clear water. So much sun!
There were many options when it came to pools or lounging. The staff were brilliant! One of our servers organised our day trip to Havana, it was safe and there's so much to learn about in Havana.
There are loads of options when it comes to food.
The cafe/coffee house in the hotel is amazing, we had iced coffee there everyday.
We ate lunch at the grill by the pool bar everyday.
It is clean tidy including pool area, the hotel, buffet areas, lobby, rooms, bathrooms, there are staff everywhere, maintenance and entertainers, always asking how they can make your stay more enjoyable.
WiFi is available in the lobby and near the pools, you do have to purchase 1 hour internet credits.
The beautiful thing about this hotel was that the rooms are clustered in blocks, each block has 4 or 6 rooms. So it is private and not crowded at all!
I would defo go back, i enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amritxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Vista Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear amritxo, We truly appreciate your kind comments and compliments you have made to our performance; it is rewarding for us to learn that you chose OVA for your vacations. Furthermore, that the performance of our staff was the highlight of your trip. We are aware that it is because of them that we are able to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests and to make you consider would go back in a flash! Thank you for posting your review on this site. We look forward your next visit. Best regards, The Ocean Vista Azul Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews