We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOLD! DIRTY! Don't WASTE your money!!! ”
Review of Hotel Acuazul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Acuazul
Ranked #57 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Family of 7, 9th time to CUBA. This resort is not on beach you must walk across 2 streets. Vacation from Mar17-24. Got there, we got 4 rooms. 3 of the bathrooms didn't work/ and no toilet seats. Room 211 the bath tub had rust holes and smelled. Room 209 there was so much mold in the closets and on the door jam/smelled. Room 203 & especially 205 had mold all over that my family member broke out in a rash as she has allergies immediately and impacted her breathing within 10 min of being in there. Needless to say we needed to move her. Went down to front desk and was told we couldn't move rooms they were not helpful. Tried to contact Rep(Lucy)on 3 occasions that day with no answer. We left for fresh air. Returned to Resort to eat at the restaurant only to be told that we could only get one glass of soda(ALL INCLUSIVE??!?) that they did not have anymore(but I saw a cart full of pop go by?).The food well it surely is CUBAN lol we made the best of it as we been to Cuba on numerous occasion and knew what to expect. Went back to front desk to ask another attendant to change rooms, she was the only one to be helpful. She offered room 310 facing the street(which is extremely loud at night time) but better than mold infested. Breakfast was told no eggs. Next day we awaited for the REP Lucy in Lobby. She approached us where I reported everything to her, we tried to contact her 3 times with no answer, mold, holes, dirty, rudeness explain that this was not all inclusive(snack bar was told no fries/pizza but saw the chef cook a basket full and saw the pizzas in the napkins. All we were left with was ham and cheese while their friends ate all the food). She stated it was the first time she had heard complaints(REALLY?!). I told her that I was going to put it on trip advisor as this could be deadly and the fact no rep was there to help and told her I had pictures of everything we spoke about. She quickly asked to see them and we got moved off the resort to a private house. We got maid service for 2 days and the remaining 3 we had to fend for ourselves(no toilet paper, front desk wouldn't help us! No clean towels as we threw them on the floor because toilets were leaking). NIGHTMARE resort(we never saw our Rep Lucy again for remainder of stay) thank god we've been to Varadero before and knew people and our way around. BIG SHOUT out to Alex, Raulito, Marlene(entertainment) for always checking on us, helpful, and making our trip memorable off resort/beach. Found great tattoo place around the corner, Picasso Tattoo Studio(Carlos +5353811162 & Leandro +5352770323 phone number) so clean, professional nice and inexpensive but quality work. We love CUBA, will NEVER stay at this resort again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank OHANAdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Definitely not a 3 Star hotel - not even 1 star. Despite numerous complaints the TV never was fixed. The shower had no head, The bath room was continually flooded because of the lack of a proper shower curtain, and the TOILET HAD NO SEAT. Every morning we were killing hordes of mosquitoes breeding in the bath room. No lamps, no bedside table, no place for suitcases and no key to the safe. The A/C was like loud like a tank. Only 1 out of 3 public toilets in the hotel worked, but it never had paper. Coffee machine in the dining area always broken - Terrible place, do not stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Piesek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I recently spent 9 days here at enjoyed every day and night. This place is all about the people you will meet. The food was better than I expected. Road noisy, but you get used to it. Pool/bar are excellent. Lots of great local food very close by.....Beatle's Bar...Pullman Hotel for Rock & Roll.......its Cuba.....relax and enjoy

Room Tip: pool side would be more quiet after 11 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

The food was pretty good. The spread at New Years was fantastic. Bring light bulbs and toilet paper. The hallways were dark and the toilet paper was sparse. Only 2 small hotel towels for showers which were cold to warm. Strong smell of pétrole from the plants between 4 and 5 am.
Bring earplugs because the bar in front of hotel is noisy. We were there just to sleep and eat. Location was great. Beach was even better than imagined and the sun...priceless.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank chantalp675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to Cuba and the first hotel, on our first night. This hotel, like all the hotels in Cuba, is owned and operated by the government. The first room we were led to was in the adjacent "apartmentos". The elevator was slow, pitch black (broken lights) and dirty. Hallways smelled like roaches. If you don't know what roaches smell like, imagine the smell of wet cardboard mixed with elmer's glue. The room was dirty and damp, had windows and doors that did not close, an old rusty refrigerator, cardboard taped around the A/C, broken tiles in the bathroom, and two small (both short and narrow) sagging dingy beds with no pillows. That room was $119. Next we were led to a room in the main hotel that was $16 more per night and a bit better, although still very old and dilapidated. There was a small balcony almost completely occupied by the A/C, but we managed to cram out there both mornings with our cafe con leche. Nice view of the main street and ocean. The hallway was less terrifying in the main hotel and we were on a low enough floor that we could avoid the elevator. A word about food and drink. The food was disgusting. The dinner buffet smelled like dog food. Flies everywhere, dirty tablecloths, lukewarm dishes of varying shades of grey slop. The chefs are basically cooking in prison, so I don't blame them. But be warned. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, and even that was a challenge. You can't technically have coffee in your room, although we worked around this rule by promising to return the cups. Get there early for breakfast. They don't change the linens on the tables, and the best items go fast. Also the flies... The alcoholic drinks, which are included, are served in small plastic specimen cups. After draining the two gulps of liquid, guests left cups and straws to blow around the facility, making the already run down resort feel even more like a literal garbage dump. We stayed at another hotel in varadero at the end of our trip and it was only marginally better. Both were overrun with loud, drunk, ill-mannered tourists. We overheard conversations and spoke with several people, whereby we learned many were from Quebec. I was appalled at how disgustingly they behaved. There was no attempt to throw waste in garbage bins. Plastic cups strewn across the beaches, mistreatment of the staff, drunk and just stupid. The environment was run down and our fellow patrons acted (appropriately!) like pigs. Some of them come for months at a time to just throw themselves around the slum-like hotel, eating food that smells and looks and tastes like prison food and getting drunk off a thousand tiny plastic cups of rum. Quebec must be awful if this is their idea of vacation. Sadly I can't recommend any casas particular in varadero since we booked (and paid) in advance at these two hell holes. But I did see several CPs on our walks around. Our wonderful experience at an independent casa in Havana convinced me that is the only way to travel! Prices might be a third to one-half of what you pay at the govt hotels and facilities and food far superior. Guest reviews of the more expensive hotels down the beach in Varadero indicate they may be incrementally better, but still far short of US standards and costing upwards of $300-$400 per night. In Varadero there are a few decent places to eat past Calle 30. La Bodeguita del Medio is one of the more consistent restaurants within walking distance, "consistent" being used in the Cuban sense of the word. By US standards, note that they may run out of 40% of their menu and close hours early. But hey, this is Cuba, folks.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mirrrcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.3 km away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
3.1 km away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#47 of 64 in Varadero
137 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#48 of 64 in Varadero
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#44 of 64 in Varadero
860 reviews
0.5 km away
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga
0 km away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#52 of 64 in Varadero
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acuazul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acuazul

Address: Primera Avenida e/ Calle 13 y Calle 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range: ₹ 3,827 - ₹ 9,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Acuazul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Acuazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuazul Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing