We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This trip was our 4th time in Cuba. We really did not want to go back to Cuba because of past bad experiences, but because our extended family had already decided to go and we wanted to vacation with them, we decided "maybe this would be a more positive experience" As it turns out, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to go to Cuba. Most of the staff were ready to please and seemed to extend themselves wherever they could and almost always with a smile!
I was a little embarrassed by the fact that the waitresses were left to explain that they ran out of some of the international drinks each night after only two drinks had been consumed. I complained to the management about this, but the only explanation I received was "we are a third world country" I have no problem with bringing my drink of choice, but this hotel advertises international drinks and I would think that they should be able to supply more than two drinks each night! My husband and I travel extensively and we are not big drinkers, but I believe if a hotel advertises international drinks we should be able to have a nightcap drinking something we like! It appears that a bottle is kept under the bar for those who may complain and the other guests will have to do without. I, in no way want to focus on this as negative experience because we really enjoyed our time at this resort. I would just like for the management to work toward providing the service as advertised.

Room Tip: Building three is central and close to the beach. We had a good room on the third floor with a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank northerntropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,576
    1,540
    708
    226
    128
See reviews for
364
3,666
147
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,018)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Love everything about this place..looking forward to our return...amazing beach,food,drinks,staff, etc....:) <3

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammiOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear TammiOntario
On behalf of the hotel Paradisus Princesa del Mar and staff we thank you for your kind respond and loyalty towards our beautiful hotel resort. We do look forward to have you staying here with us again and very thankful that you consider celebrating your 25th anniversary in our resort as this is a very special occasion.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just got back from Cuba, where we had the most relaxing, carefree and fully content week of vacation.
It is true we have lowered our expectations when coming here, as our last visit in terms of the resort we stayed at was rather average.
But I have to say that this time, our worries and preconceived expectation were for nothing as the grounds, food and staff at the Princesa Del Mar were fantastic.

The resort is found at the far east of the peninsula, and is very beautiful. It covers a large area with gardens that are meticulously groomed every day. Another very nice touch on the grounds is that there are different gazebos and jacuzzi set ups (unfortunately several jacuzzis were not working during our visit, but hopefully next time they will) where mellow music is played during the entire day. This added a very romantic touch.

Our main attraction in coming to Varadero was the beach, and it certainly did not disappoint. We had an exceptional week of fine weather and most of the tourist were also enjoying the beach. With the volume of people on the beach, we were pleasantly surprised that we never had any problems finding chairs on the beach at any point during the day. But this might of been because everyone was splishy-splashing in the crystal clear water! (and rightfully so) :)

One of the concern we had in coming to Cuba was, well, the general quality of the food. Revelation: The food is actually not bad at all! Mind you, this is not France or other food centric country. But there are plenty of options for fish and meat that is grilled to order; there is also a variety of vegetables and fruit that is offered for every meal. On top of that there is plenty of different yummy baked goods and a plethora of desserts. Overall, we were very pleased with quality and variety of food offered at the buffet.

All of A la carte restaurants had lovely atmosphere. We experienced dinner at the Hill Top (very elegant set up); Sakura (a place where one should go in the begging of the stay as you get to sit with 3 other couples and if you luck out, you may make some good acquaintances right at the begging of your stay), Firenze (the pasta was really well done!), and Marseille.

Aside from the Buffet and A la carte restaurants, there were also 2 other places were one can grab a bite to eat: The Racquet Club (24hrs) and the Beach Grill. The Racquet Club was where we landed most of the time when we were hungry outside of serving hours of other places. They serve ice cream which is very handy during hot days. The Beach Grill restaurant set up is a cozy place to have a lunch after lazying around on the beach: very pleasant as there was a live band and good freshly grilled meats/fish.

As expected when coming to an all-inclusive resort, there was no shortage of bars to wet your whistle. One of our favorites was the bar in the lobby. It's a cozy place to relax at any time during the day. It was also a great spot to observe and share the general excitement of new guests coming into the resort for the first day/night. Another lovely touch on the resort is the availability of sparkling wine throughout the grounds night and day: non-stop celebration!

The resort staff found out that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary (without a shameless plug) and upgraded us to a Royal Service room. The room was fantastic: very spacious and had everything that was needed for us to come and rest after day spent in water/sun. As it has been eluded to in some others review, yes it is true, there is construction happening at the resort. And in our case, right in front of our balcony. So the view was not what we expected: crane and construction site, but given that we didn't really spend that much time in the room, we were not bothered by this aspect too much. It was actually nice to know that business is going well for the resort as it totally deserves to bloom and prosper.

Lastly, we would like to praise and thank the staff at the Princesa Del Mar to make our visit extremely enjoyable. From the warmth and energy of Mayte that believed, encouraged and taught my husband how to dance and speak basic Spanish (we miss you very much), to Toniel the gardener that always greeted us with a smile/flower and a world of knowledge vis-a-vis the local vegetation, to our bubbly chambermaid Medolis, and Denis, the overnight security guard who ensured no one suspicious walked from the beach to the grounds of the resort, and all other employees - service stuff at the restaurants, bars and buffet, as well as energetic dance crew that was always there to assist us with salsa steps: thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

In conclusion, based on our experience there is a very high chance that we will be back!

Steph & Jenya

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephanEvguenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear StephanEvguenia
On behalf of the hotel Paradisus Princesa del Mar and staff we thank you for your kind respond and comment in Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a romantic and wonderful wedding anniversary here with us and that our hotel service, restaurants, animation team and of course hotel staff were good, efficient, friendly and helpful as well as the quality and variety of food offered at the buffet and restaurants was of good experience as this is very important to us.
We do hope you return and visit us again in a near future.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Didn't have high expectations for Varadero, but how wrong could we be. From the moment the taxi dropped us off the staff could not have done more for us. Our room was large and in a block close to the beach. We had a lovely maid who kept the room spotless and the gardeners were friendly. The complex was clean and well laid out, it didn't feel that busy and there were always sun loungers available. The food in all the restaurants was really good, fresh steak and lobster in the buffet restaurant cooked fresh to order. All the restaurant staff were amazing, very friendly and always on hand to top up water and alcoholic drinks. The nightly entertainment was good and there was always something going on during the day if you wanted to be energetic (or learn how to make cocktails)! All in all an amazing trip.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Best hotel you can hope for in Varadero! Nice food, friendly staff, perfect Pino Kalada!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biangbiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about choosing our resort for your holiday some months ago. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Since your stay, we have made several changes and improvements which would help you to feel even better than in your last stay. We invite you to enjoy them.
We will be waiting for your return and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.6 km away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
9.0 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,045 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#10 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,597 reviews
4.6 km away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#13 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,899 reviews
0.6 km away
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Melia Peninsula Varadero
#30 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa

Property: Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Address: Auropista Sur, Ctra. Las Morlas, KM 19 1/2, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Varadero
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#6 Family Hotel in Varadero
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#9 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,568 - ₹ 37,941
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & SPA is located in Varadero Beach, the Cuban sun and beach tourist destination for excellence. This stunning Ultra All-Inclusive 5-star hotel is designed only for adults over 18. The property houses 434 rooms equipped with modern comforts and provides a varied gastronomic offer, daily activities, swimming pool and meeting rooms which convey an ambiance of quietness and service. Discover the magical peace of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia Hotels APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort And Spa
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Hotel Varadero
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Varadero
Paradisus Princesa Varadero
Princesa Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing