We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend”
Review of IBEROSTAR Tainos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great place to relax and enjoy my daughter. Everyone was terrific. Animation Julio (happy birthday) was a ball of energy and kept us alive !! Auqua gym has got to be tried. Pool Julio kept our bubbas full, asked only once what we were drinking and with a nod would refill. Buffet was standard, Sakura restaurant was very good, Frank Nelson is a wonderful chef and entertainer. The evening shows were a ton of fun. Narieda kept our room spotless, each morning we would come back to incredible towel art. I found everybody works hard to make sure you enjoy your stay no matter how long or in our case short your stay is. Look forward to returning to a longer visit. We had 2 1/2 days there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rael96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,323 of 4,113 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

After reading some of the bad comments, we didnt know what to expext. Now, we know that some reviews are false. We had a wonderful time. Hotel looks old and maybe it need some touch, but what we found what is great, STAFF and Cuban people, in general. When we arrived the room was not what we expected, we went to the reception, and they have changed it straight away. Claudia at the reception ,is a starr, wonderfull young lady. Later as the week was running we have around us all the animation team, and I do not have enough good words to say about those people and the shows we watched.

Food: Considering that cuba has some specific situation we found the food to be excelent and the Alexander the general Cheff is a person who try to make all the things perfect. I can not found you anything bad. If you have some more money to spend go to Ritz or Hilton, but whit our expirience we give a Tainos all our love. ..and we will be back..

Peter Nadj

Room Tip: Havana is a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I can not believe some comments it seems that we were not in the same hotel. The staff is wonderful,people are great. Cuba is the best place on earth. Don't forget that Cuba is under embargo and it is all about general education, to know a bit a country, where you going to spend your holiday. I know that we will be back. Thank you Fraga,George, Beatriz. I have to say, that we never ever, have seen (in other hotel )that general manager on a departure time held a goodbye cocktail . Sometimes in another resorts you have a feeling of rush to get out from the hotel, here the bus arrive, and GM Dejan have stooped the bus, and with a cocktail and canapés wish us a good flight. Good touch,

See you soon.

Room Tip: Have fun and some of us should get some education
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joxxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A few weeks ago upon our return from Spain we decided to spend the weekend in Varadero, I chose the Iberostar Tainos this time around because I knew it was a solid 4 star property and that consistency was visible throughout the operation.

CHECK-IN

We arrived at the hotel at around 3pm, Check in was smooth and quick; we checked in just before a bus from the airport had arrived many tourists. We were given access to the facilities but still had to wait about an hour for our room, which was fine, as they managed to get us a top floor (main building)room with a decent view.

ROOM

The room was just as I expected, we were lucky enough to get a room with a King size bed. The rooms are spacious as are the washrooms. The room did come equipped with a mini fridge, which contained beer and a variety of soft drinks.

FOOD AND BEVERAGE

We found all areas good and always found something to eat. The buffet is opened for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and was by far our favorite spot; the food was constantly replenished and fresh. The managers were constantly doing their rounds looking at presence and even tasted the food on a few occasions. We had the Japanese a la carte one evening and found the show better than the food offered.
The bars were all great as were the bar tenders. The lobby bar by far was the best one of all, the servers are very attentive and service oriented.

GROUNDS AND FACILITIES

The grounds at this property are well kept, some areas do show some sign of wear but then again this is not a new property. At the time we were there they were repairing the walkway to the beach.
The property has one large pool and many beds all around. We never had any problem finding one, as at this property the towel game does not happen. There was a nightly “themed” show at the theatre, which kept us entertained to say the least.

BEACH

The beachfront at the Tainos is great especially if you like long walks along the beach. There were many palapas available and we always managed to find one. The animation team is great at this property and is constantly interacting with the public to join in on dance and volleyball.

CHECK OUT

Checkout was a breeze, simply paid for the safe charges and we were on our way back home to Havana.

Overall we had wonderful time at Iberostar Tainos, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone including families and couples. This is by far Varadero most solid 4* hotel and is managed very well by staff that truly care about their guests.

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow room, No difference in cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank simplycuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We traveled there 12-20 February. I probably could give this hotel a 3 or 4 out of 5 however it was the little things that made it a 5.We arrived late at night and we got the bungalows we requested and we were pretty much all in one area, We flew in from 4 cities and a group of 14, We had one room out of the group that was below standard and they were willing to accommodate a change when a room became available. The staff were amazing, the beach rocked and the pool area was nice and clean. The food to my surprise was 100 times better than the last place I stayed at in Holguin Cuba in October. They gave us a room to shower in at check out, late at night since we all left between 10pm and 4am. We checked out of our rooms at noon, and not one person asked us where our bands were. I suppose if you get to know the staff, they get to know you! I would definitely go back here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Staff, see them when you have a problem and see the managers to get the things fixed! It does work.
Get involved - Enjoy the events and the things around the hotel, you are there to have a good time.
Rooms- Were older but clean and functional. The maids were great and the room big, bungalows are great but the main is also nice
Meet the other guests- Lotsa Other Travelers from all over. We started conversation with other travelers and met people who knew friends and family!
Visit Varadero and Havana
Don't sweat the small stuff!

Room Tip: Request a Bungalow Get to know the front staff and managers. things get solved fast then! Enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smarty106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.5 km away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
4.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
3.9 km away
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
#28 of 64 in Varadero
7,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,605 reviews
1.9 km away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,819 reviews
2.8 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#7 of 64 in Varadero
6,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Tainos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Tainos

Address: Las Morlas, Km. 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: ₹ 9,449 - ₹ 23,751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Tainos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine sandy beach of Varadero. Tropical gardens. Water sports galore. A Caribbean village. Colourful, Cuban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Tainos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tainos Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Hotel Tainos
Iberostar Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Tainos Cuba
Iberostar Tainos Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing