We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 252
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 210
US$ 196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$ 279
US$ 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 177
US$ 135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$ 198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 142
US$ 137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 287
US$ 252
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 113
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 376
US$ 227
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,105)
Filter reviews
5,105 results
Traveller rating
1,399
1,713
1,031
587
375
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,399
1,713
1,031
587
375
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstryp peninsulakids poollaguna restauranta la carte restaurantslobby barfishpastamain buffetbuffet restaurantkids clubmain poolbeefother resortsrecommend this resortthe double decker busfriesgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 5,105 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We just arrived back from our fourth time in a row to Melia Peninsula varadero ( 4 may - 12 may) and it was amazing!!
Upon arrival we were given our premium suite and Vip treatment.
The rooms were clean and amazing as always.
The grounds are spotless and very well maintained.
The Beach was incredible.
etc etc etc
But the best part of it all is the staff whom we've known since our first trip back in 2013. They always greet us with a smile and hug and took FANTASTIC care of us and saw to all our needs in a speedy friendly manor.
I would like to say thank you to Arelys, Yo-yo, Jennifer, Josalyn, Arturo, Sergio,Andreas, Yolanda, etc etc and to the wonderful management!
These People have treated us like gold since our first trip and continue to do so!

In closing, I can guarantee there will be a fifth trip to Melia peninsula in 2019!
Look forward to seeing you all again soon and keep up the good work!!

Dean Smith

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deanjsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Smith:
Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero!
It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your personal experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know you have enjoyed an amazing holidays with the family of Meliá Península.
We already are looking forward to welcome you in the future, please do not hesitated in contacting us before your next holidays…
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We were a party of 6. 3 couples. Stayed here April 28 -May 5 2818. Resort was great. Stayed in room 2915. Was clean and tidy. Everything worked. Arien our maid was fantastic. He kept our room clean abd his towel figures everyday were wonderful. Buffet was ok. No problem finding something to eat. Omelettes were great. Did the Bbq, Japanese and Mexican. Only complaint the beef on the kibob at the Bbq was tough. Beach was beautiful. Pool was great but needed umbrellas and shade. None. Got burnt really bad. No shade. Staff at 24hr snack bar were great. Lobby bar was great especially Allan the waiter. Exceptional service. Entertainment was ok. Disco was too loud, we are too old, lol. We took a trip to the market on the doubledecker twice. Was fabulous. Took a tour of Havana. Had our own bus and tour guide. Was fabulous. Becky was very knowledgeable and we ate at a Cuban Restaurant, great. We would definitely come back. Overall great place and staff. Grounds were beautiful and groundskeepers were very friendly. Replacing roofs on buildings because of Irma.....

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Douglas:
It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We appreciate everyone of the reference in your review, and we are happy to know you enjoyed the location, facilities, the beautiful beach, the animation activities, cleanness, and the big variety of choices at the resort. Undoubtedly the entertainment staff is a good asset of Meliá Península.
We also would like to thank you for recommending Meliá Península Varadero
Our guest satisfaction is very important to us, that is why, we read and analyze every opinion shared. once again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Overall we had a good experience. But there are still a lot of improvements that could be made. So our room was in block 27 and it was great 2 big beds, amazing shower, stocked mini fridge and the sea view I'd requested. Although there were a lot of worn qualities about the room, the balcony door didn't lock and when reported to reception but it was never fixed. The washing line on the balcony fell off in my hand, the plug panels fell off the wall. We couldn't use any of the plugs with an adaptor as we had been doing in previous accommodations we'd stayed in so couldn't charge phones or use hair straighteners. Other worn aspects in the reception/bar/toilets aswell. Just not 5 star standard. The pool was quite close also which was good. The beach bar about 20 metres away. The pool itself was good and cleaned every morning when we went by for breakfast. The food was good also burgers, hotdogs, sandwiches and fries (but fries only at a certain time which was a little odd). Our one huge problem with the pool was that there were no umbrellas, in 30 degree heat and no protection from the direct midday sun is very strange. I've never come across a resort that didn't have some umbrellas around the pool especially as there was several families around with young kids. There are umbrellas at the beach but all were occupied early in the morning or were 'saved' by towels. There is also umbrellas at the actual kids pool but none at the main pool. It doesn't really encourage people to stay there all day if they have leave during the hotter periods. The staff in the pool bar were so so nice and friendly and well able to provide a high level of customer service. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the bar in the main hotel. Nobody behind the counter would actually acknowledge you, there were 4 or 5 staff behind there at one stage with one doing the drinks for the table service but no one serving at the counter. When they did start to serve they had no idea who was there the longest and you could be standing for quite a while before getting your drinks. The breakfast buffet was great lovely fresh omeletes and other choices. Toaster was woefully slow though. And trying to find butter was near impossible. Little annoyances I know but every single time you go for bread there as no butter. The juices were so watered down it was difficult to even know what type of juice it was meant to be. We ate in the Cuban a la carte and I had to leave most of my meal behind as it was tough, dry and had no flavour. My sisters meal was slightly better, we left and went to the buffet for something else to eat. The Mexican restaurant was really good the flavours were great but the portions could have been a bit bigger. Another thing there isn't enough of is access to drinking water. Again in 30 degree heat you should have access to bottled water. The main bar would only give glasses of water. We asked at reception if there was a water fountain so we could refill a bottle, there was none, they said we could get bottled water at the pool bar. But at the pool bar they said they couldn't give it out and the only way to get bottled water was to get room service to deliver it. We rang 4 times asking for 2 bottles and never received any and only on the 5th call a bottle was left outside our door. There is a bottle in the mini bar each morning but doesn't last long for 2 people. Especially in a country where you are advised not to drink tap water you should have access. Even if there was a filtered water fountain we'd have been happy.

Overall it wasn't a bad stay and wouldn't have a problem recommending it but would explain to not expect 5 star standards.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank helena05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear helena05:
We so much regret your experience at our resort had lead you to write this review.
It shows we have not been able to fully meet your expectations and we heartily apologize for it. It is a fact that there are still several issues in which we need to keep on working for all our guests to experience a trully 5 star service. Thanks to your comments, which we have very carefully studied, we have focused on several particular aspects so we are able to make our services more efficient, especially in the field of service and the facilities of the hotel.
In any case, we would really appreciate if you give us the opportunity to serve you, once again, in your next vacation in Varadero.

Meliá Peninsula Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

This was our first time to Cuba
We met and enjoyed many people.One of the people we met was Cynathia
She was a server at the buffet she was great at her job.coffee always filled but best of all a beautiful smile.please forward this to her (yvan and Trudy)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trudy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Trudy L:
Greetings from Melia Peninsula Varadero.
I would like to appreciate your comments and also for sharing it on the web sites with the rest of the travelers around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We have a staff that work in order to satisfy and to fulfill the expectations of the clients, so your suggestions give us a constant push for the daily work. Thanks so much for choosing us and we will expect you next time.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We just returned from our fifth visit to Melia Peninsula Varadero. We feel so at peace there. The staff is great from the girls in the office to the cooks to the housekeepers to the grounds keepers - just everyone. Having visited this great Resort five times, we feel like we are coming home. I have to mention some names - Jose and Rosita, Lianny, Dianys, Anita, Maylebis, Elvis (yes - our housekeeper was Elvis. Now we can say we met Elvis). Carlos (what a sweetheart) and the crazy Yoyo.

Loved the Ala Carte restaurants. Our favourites are the Japanese (with our dear friend Jose), the Mexican, and the International where we had a delicious dinner as returning guests. The buffet is always good for breakfast (delicious omelets), lunch - great variety with delicious ice cream - our favourite is the coconut ice cream. Often we are still so full from breakfast, we will just have ice cream for lunch. The buffet is also good for dinner. Again, a great variety. You will never leave there hungry.

This Resort was hit hard from the hurricane Irma last September. We were very privileged to see pictures of the destruction. To clean up the Resort from all the destruction and damage and reopen in just 2 months was nothing short of amazing. Everyone chipped in to help. There were new rooves to put on (all the rooves had just been redone - so sad), clean up of trees and shrubbery (so many trees were toppled), rooms to be fixed from leaks, lobby to be completely redone. As I said, everyone worked hard to reopen. That is what we see at Melia Peninsula Varadero - a “family” that cares for each other. A few things still need to be repaired. The lagoon at the Buffet is still empty of water because one of the pipes broke with some of the destruction. In Cuba, you cannot just drive to the local hardware store and buy the part you need. It has to be ordered and shipped in from who knows where. They hope to have the lagoon with water back in it in a couple of more months.

The resort is working hard to redo all the buildings. With the hurricane, the work was slowed down a little but they are still hard at work to redo everything. The grounds are breathtaking. Even they were hard hit. I didn’t count but I am guessing they lost about 20 - 30 Palm Trees and the barrier between the resort and the beach was hit very hard. There use to be a barrier of trees and bushes between Melia Peninsula Varadero and the resort next door. It is all gone and you can see the resort next door clearly. That was amazing to us.

I have seen on here people complaining about bugs in their rooms. As I said, we have been to this resort 5 times. We have had a room on the first, second, and third floors and we have never seen a bug. If you do, go to Customer Service and they will help you move to another room. Customer Service bends over backwards to help their guests. But if you don’t tell them, they won’t know.

We look forward to returning “home” in the Spring of 2019.

Room Tip: There is lots of walking so ask for a room close to the beach or close to the pool or close to the buffet.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Nancy:
Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero!
It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We appreciate everyone of the reference in your review, and we are happy to know you enjoyed the location, facilities, the beautiful beach, the animation activities, cleanness, and the big variety of choices at the resort. Undoubtedly the staff is a good asset of Meliá Península.
We also would like to thank you for recommending Meliá Península Varadero
Our guest satisfaction is very important to us, that is why, we read and analyze every opinion shared. once again.
Best Regards
Melia Península Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews