We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 256
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 213
US$ 196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$ 262
US$ 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$ 220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 142
US$ 137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 310
US$ 252
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 113
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 402
US$ 232
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 194
US$ 184
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 125
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,093)
Filter reviews
5,093 results
Traveller rating
1,399
1,712
1,028
585
369
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,399
1,712
1,028
585
369
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstryp peninsulakids poollaguna restauranta la carte restaurantslobby barfishpastamain buffetbuffet restaurantkids clubmain poolbeefother resortsrecommend this resortthe double decker busfriesgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 5,093 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Because of all the reviews I read about the resort before arriving I wasn't expecting much. I was very surprised at the level of service right from check in to check out. Staff extremely helpfull and willing to go that extra to make your stay enjoyable. Rooms were dated but the hotel is doing major upgrades to the buildings. Rooms were large and the maid did an amazing job keeping it fresh and clean. The beach was very nice and the pool area was great for us. Yes there is no shade by the pool. The gardner's kept the resort looking very nice. Not the best food I have had in Cuba but you will not go hungry. Drinks were strong, had to ask for less rum. Spanish coffee's were the best I ever had anywhere at least 3 before bed each night. This is a 4 star resort at best. For what we paid we can not complain. If you are looking for a 5* experience then pay double or triple the price and go elsewhere. If you are looking for a good vacation at a great price then book here. We really enjoyed are time there and would definitely come back to see the many new friends we made and also for the price we paid.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Boris K:
First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. Thanks for sharing your opinion about our Hotel on this website. We really appreciate your. You should know that you have the open doors of our house, which today is also yours. We look forward to have you around here again; do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit if you have a special request. Best regards,
General Manager
Meliá Península Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We've visited melia peninsula last week, we stayed in newly renovated room, with a awesome ocean view , a nice fully stocked fridge and a gift were among the perks we received, amazing alacarte restaurants (better than the buffet) life show was entertaining, the best par of our trip are the charismatic Cubans, very helpful and friendly, awesome trip, cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smrt205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear smrt205:
Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero!
It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. Estamos muy contentos de saber que ha disfrutado de un increíble con la familia de Meliá Península.Infinitely we appreciate your support for our hotel and recreation of their good experiences with us. Today the hotel management and workers are engaged in improving the shortcomings that have affected our reputation in recent weeks. We are a group that we work to satisfy and meet the expectations of customers so that their suggestions are constant drive motor for daily work. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to be your first choice to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with his family.
Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We were at the Melia Peninsula February 28th for one week. We opted for the Elegance package. Don't bother it is simply a sales gimmick. We did not get a bottle of rum in the room and instead got a cheap cloth bag, similar to the ones that supermarkets dish out for free. We did not get an upgraded room but did not want to be moving luggage during our holiday stay. The Air Transat representative Judith is indeed pathetic. She did not care about any queries/ concerns only about selling packages. As an example we asked about renting pedal bicycles and she simply advised it was not possible. We asked her to call a couple of hotels that had rentals, but she declined. We subsequently discovered that there are at least two hotels who will rent pedal bicycles. Lourdes the other representative for Air Transat was exceptional. She went out of her way to assist us, even though she was not assigned as our representative.
Management! What management!.... well, we sent at least 20 e-mails to different e-mail sites ahead of our stay and did not get any replies. Yes, we had the right e-mail address. We have stayed at other Melia resorts in Cuba and have had excellent experiences with management there, however here they are sadly absent and seemingly couldn't care less.
The room we had was clean and decent although lacked adequate closet space, and instead had a few hangers on a rack and a chest of drawers.
The beach was beautiful, although the beach chairs and umbrella stands were few and far between and crammed together like sardines, and as there were many smokers at this resort you could not avoid being next to them on the beach and inhaling the smoke.
The Cuban staff were as usual exemplary. Friendly and helpful. The food overall though was abysmal. Even the breakfast buffet ran out of staples such as bread and sausages. There was however, always a restaurant manager walking around and he did his best to accommodate and assist guests. Much of the food was canned and bland, even the specialty meals were bland and uninviting.
The pool was one of the ugliest concretized pools I have ever seen. There were inadequate pool chairs and no umbrella stands for the shade.
Fast forward to the Melia Paradisus and it is a completely different experience. The food there is excellent as are the staff and amenities. In further analysis of our holiday you really do have to pay almost double this amount to get a decent experience.
And one word of caution..... On the last evening there was a beach party and we sauntered along the beach for about ½ km and upon our return were attacked by a pack of wild dogs. It was extremely frightening as there were no lights on the beach and no security guards close to the hotels. There were about six dogs trying to corral us. Fortunately we ran into the water and were able to stave off an attack. I reference this as I consider it is something that all of the hotels on the strip need to be aware of and guests to be cautious.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STDTORONTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear STDTORONTO:
Greetings from Meliá Peninsula Varadero. We are very grateful to share your opinions with others and their feedback on our services, which are always welcome as a means to improve the service we offer. We are very sorry that your experience with us has not exceeded your expectations. Your comments will be discussed with the heads of each department involved. We hope to have the satisfaction of welcoming you at Meliá Península Varadero in the near future to clean up the image of your first visit to our complex.
Best regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed from march 18-25,had requested renovated rooms as per the reviews.We were given old rooms in Block 2300.There were problems with the toilets not flushing and when fixed the water ran constantly,air conditioning in my daughters room did not work,when repaired could not be regulated and had to be turned off or on by accessing the fuse panel.Their one bed was broken and there were no shades on the lamps.Both rooms had large gaps around the doors ,we put a pillow on the floor against the door so the mosquitoes could not enter but my daughters room had a gap at the top of the door also so mosquitoes were a problem for her.She became ill and on returning home and seeing her doctor she has contracted Chikungunya virus from the bites and is very sick.The beds were very bad so we never had a good nights sleep.The 24 hour snack bar ept running out of food and drinks also!! We booked with Transnat thinking this was a good resort and were very disappointed as we had been to Melia Las Antilles twice,loved that place and this was supposed to be a better resort.Have been to Cuba many times and this is the worst place we have been to,even the 3 stars are better.We are not fussy or picky people but this was not acceptable!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Honey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Honey F
First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you have spent sharing your opinion with other Tripadvisor users.

I am very sorry that you left the Melia Peninsula Varadero with a negative impression of our establishment. With our commitment and involvement to the client we try from the first day of your stay to offer the best possible service and meet your expectations, unfortunately we have not achieved and I send my sincere apologies.

From the management we have reflected on all those aspects of his opinion, susceptible of improvement, and we have already started different actions aimed at giving an excellent service to our customers.

We reiterate our apologies,

General Manager:
Meliá Peninsula Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We traveled from March 16-23 2018. We were 2 families with 3 rooms. We paid for deluxe junior suite x3. We didn’t receive those rooms. We were supposed to get a bottle of rum in our room, we didn’t. We didn’t get in till late, 2am because there was a back log at the airport. The rooms we got were not deluxe, they were standard rooms. And if the management of this resort comes on here and says sorry that we didn’t do our job, and come visit us again so we can make it up to you, WOW. Seriously? And the transat representative, wouldn’t answer questions, we asked something and she said, “well you should have went to the meeting “. Well we got in really late so it was not on our minds, also we asked to be moved from the rooms we were in and the girl at the desk said no. We can’t do anything. The pictures and stuff that you put on your website are nothing but lies. You get people there, then treat them that way. I have been to Cuba 11 times. I’ve always liked Cuba because of the people, but this year I found a big change. They were ignorant and nasty. I think the resort should have to give back 1/2 of our money, because this was not anywhere near a 4 star. It’s horrible that you as a resort take people’s hard earned money and get that kind of a place. You should be ashamed. Not happy

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear kim v:
Greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us. Your remarks were discussed with the heads of each Department involved to guarantee that our guest’s wishes and requests are fulfilled efficiently. I hope to have the satisfaction to welcoming you at Meliá Península Varadero in the near future to clean the image of your first visit to our resort.
Best regards,.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews