We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 344
US$ 239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 194
US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 193
US$ 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 368
US$ 285
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Cactus(Varadero)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 140
US$ 135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 159
US$ 155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 113
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$ 249
US$ 179
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 427
US$ 199
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,067)
Filter reviews
5,067 results
Traveller rating
1,394
1,712
1,025
579
357
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,394
1,712
1,025
579
357
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstryp peninsulakids poollaguna restauranta la carte restaurantslobby barfishwalk in closetpastamain buffetbuffet restaurantkids clubmain poolbeefother resortsrecommend this resortfriesthe double decker bus
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 5,067 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

First off, we are in our fifties, like a relaxed attitude, are easy-going, and will not freak out because there wasn't a fork on our table! - see an earlier review). This was our first trip to Cuba so nothing to compare this resort to.

We stayed from March 10-17. Check-in was easy (11 pm) and we were taken to our room (in block 25) on a trolley which we were grateful for because the signage on the buildings is sometimes not obvious. We requested a ground floor room in the family area but got 3rd floor by the pool! Oh well, the view of the pool was nice though. Didn't request a different room.

Our bathroom was updated and was very nice although our shower leaked. We reported, caulking applied the same day, but still leaked! No other complaints about the room. Maid service was great.

There is no shade by the pool but we're beach people so no big deal. By mid-day there is some shade at the back of the beach so if you didn't get up at 8 to reserve a palapa then you should be ok.

Virtually every staff member was friendly (not the almost-sarcastic friendly I have experienced elsewhere) and all knew the basics of English. The woman making omelettes on the right end of the buffet is a gem - I hope management knows this and appreciates her! Also the older gentleman often working on the pasta bar in the evening. That must be hot, tiring work!

Agree the food is repetitive, not the variety I might have liked, and the signage could be better. I've never seen so many unknown sauces in my life! Quality was better in the specialty restaurants with some interesting choices (long pants/no sandals for men in the restaurants - maybe not enforced though?). Didn't get sick which I have on virtually every other trip to the Caribbean so that's a big plus!

We requested late check-out, and all went smoothly. We could return the towel card or the towels. This seems to have caused confusion earlier.
Grounds were well maintained and there have been a lot of new plantings. Hurricane damage is not evident but you do see a number of stumps of palm trees.
Overall, if food is not near the top of your list, I would not hestiate to recommend this beautiful resort.

Room Tip: Avoid buildings that back onto the east end which seems to be some industrial area.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear mg_williams:
Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero!
It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your personal experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know you have enjoyed an amazing holidays with the family of Meliá Península. Your remarks were discussed with the heads of the envolved Department to guarantee that our guest’s wishes and requests are fulfilled efficiently.
We already are looking forward to welcome you in the future, please do not hesitated in contacting us before your next holidays…
Best regards
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We traveled Jan 29th 2018- Feb 6th 2018. When we first arrived the lobby looked great service was good. when we got into our rooms they were not the greatest.....even after they said they were fully renovated. my other couple got a room with 3 beds. we had 2 beds. One day i was taking a shower and the nozzle broke out of the wall. they did fix it promptly. The buffet was okay not a lot to choose from the a la carte were really good the snack bar was great pizza was delicious. Some of the fountains were not working looks like they were still fixing them. The waiters/waitresses where wonderful made a few great friends. We had a great time made great friends and great memories. we made the best of what it was :)

Room Tip: lower level floor close to pool
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Anna H:
We so much regret your experience at our resort had lead you to write this review.
It shows we have not been able to fully meet your expectations and we heartily apologize for it. It is a fact that there are still several issues in which we need to keep on working for all our guests to experience a trully 5 star service. Thanks to your comments, which we have very carefully studied, we have focused on several particular aspects so we are able to make our services more efficient, especially in the field of service and the facilities of the hotel.
In any case, we would really appreciate if you give us the opportunity to serve you, once again, in your next vacation in Varadero.
General Manager
Meliá Peninsula Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Weather was AWESOME!!! for our week here. Really liked the plantation style buildings over a concrete block sticking up in the air. Check in was a breeze. I found the staff to be friendly enough. Even the grounds keepers were friendly. We had an issue with our washroom requiring us to move and that was no problem. Both of our rooms were great. Except the second was nicer since we had a balcony and king size bed.

Beach was great!!! Had to get down early to get a palaba but I’m an early riser anyways so that didn’t bother me at all. One thing that did piss me off though is the absolute lack of consideration some humans have. I noticed that people would claim a palaba yet not show up all day. Come on!!! If you aren’t going to be using the palaba for the whole freaking day have some courtesy for Pete’s sakes.

Entertainment could have been a bit more diverse but it wasn’t a deal breaker.

The grounds were kept immaculate. In my opinion it was a lovely resort. Another Trip Advisor reviewer posted lots of amazing photos so you can see for yourself.

My palate is perhaps not as refined as other reviewers so can’t really make any comments regarding the food. I was satisfied with what was offered and always managed to find something to eat. Besides, I was here to feel a warm tropical breeze on my skin, to relax, swim, read and to take a classic car trip into Habana. Those were achieved and everything else quite frankly is secondary.

That TripAdvisor readers is my review. It may not be the same as the person above me, or of the person below me. It may not even be your experience should you decide to go there. This is about my experience and my expectations.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with balcony perhaps away from the adult pool
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Gary H:
Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero!
It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your personal experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know you have enjoyed an amazing holidays with the family of Meliá Península. Your remarks were discussed with the heads of the envolved Department to guarantee that our guest’s wishes and requests are fulfilled efficiently.
We already are looking forward to welcome you in the future, please do not hesitated in contacting us before your next holidays…
Best regards
Melia Peninsula Varadero!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We just returned last night from a week's vacation. We have traveled quite a lot throughout the Caribbean, this was our second trip to Varadaro. Arrived with pretty low expectations, but were still disappointed. Our room was facing directly across from a building that was being completely renovated. Construction went on till 10:00 pm We asked front if we could move, told to come back in the morning at 9:30, we did, then told to come back at 2:00, then to come back at 4:00, then come back again the next day... We finally spoke to the air transat rep, and she was the one who was able to get us a different room with in 2 hours! I think her name is Judith. If you have a room issue she is the one to see! Rooms are all dated, but our new one had a renovated bathroom.

Beach is actually great! No complaints. Lady at the beach bar was lovely also!

Food was quite repetitive. And often at room temperature. I did up getting an intestinal issue :(

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Jacquie N:
First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer.
We are deeply sorry you have had those inconveniences at Meliá Península Varadero. Regarding your remarks, we have opened investigations with the involved departments to find an answer as quickly as possible. This kind of situation is not common in our hotel, but we are ought to consider all the details in that case.
I hope to have the satisfaction to welcoming you at Meliá Península Varadero in the near future to clean the image of your first visit to our resort. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We are two experienced traveller who frequently vacation in the Caribbean to all inclusive resorts.

This resort has to be the worst place we’ve ever stayed, by far. They had no beach towels or room towels. The food was disgusting and cold there were fly everywhere. We had to beg for bottled water. The staff were just rude.

Don’t waste your money here.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank mustangvert67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear mustangvert67:
We so much regret your experience at our resort had lead you to write this review.
It shows we have not been able to fully meet your expectations and we heartily apologize for it. It is a fact that there are still several issues in which we need to keep on working for all our guests to experience a trully 5 star service. Thanks to your comments, which we have very carefully studied, we have focused on several particular aspects so we are able to make our services more efficient, especially in the field of service and the facilities of the hotel.
In any case, we would really appreciate if you give us the opportunity to serve you, once again, in your next vacation in Varadero.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews