We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation and amazing staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vacation and amazing staff!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This was my first time in Cuba and I am very glad i stayed at the Iberostar resort. The hotel itself was amazing and beautiful. The staff was what made the trip ten times better. The entertainment staff were amazing! You get to know the staff so well and they make the trip very memorable. The two entertainment staff members that made the whole trip worth it were Jenny and Lily. IF you get the chance to meet them do it! I had so much fun on this trip and really hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Balcony facing a quiet and less busy pool is best and also 2nd floor and higher is also better becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elyse69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear "elyse69"

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Laguna Azul for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully

Management
Iberostar Laguna Azul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,092
    2,133
    1,348
    613
    433
See reviews for
2,173
2,727
101
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I booked our Wedding at the Laguna Azul 2 years ago when we were last there. We flew down with 35 guests June 29th- Upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk and checked in. Most of the rooms were ready to go, some guest had to wait as their rooms were just being cleaned. We were in building 15 on the lobby floor. Our room was very nice, with an ocean view. Our room was clean, had bottled water and the mini fridge was stocked. The hotel itself is in great shape its beautiful and clean everywhere you go. The food for breakfast was fantastic. You have so much selection, from omlettes to eggs, bacon, pancakes, cheese, ham fruit and so much bread! Lunch at the buffet is excellent! I found the food at lunch to be very fresh and very flavourful, with so much selection. Lunch at the beach grill is good too! They always had a assortment of items to choose from. You could also eat at the 24 hour snack bar. We had pizza, grilled ham and cheese, fries and pasta there it was great! Dinner at the buffet was very good. We loved the grilled flat breads and pizza station. Their was so much to choose from and each night the buffet had some kind of meat at the carving station, from lamb, roast, grilled fish to roasted chicken which was my favorite. The pasta station was excellent too they even had pesto! Desserts were very good, each night they had an assortment of delicious desserts and the most amazing icecream. The service was excellent, we were a large group and they accomodated us sitting all together. We also celebrated two birthdays while we were there. We told our server that we wanted to celebrate a birthday and she asked the chef to make special desserts for our two birthdays. The made a plate of special desserts and wrote happy birthday + the names in chocolate. It was great!
The ocean was amazing and so warm! We loved laying by the beach each day! There are plenty of huts to hide from the sun and plenty of beach chairs. As for beach towels....I knew the resort was having some issues with the towels as they are now being cleaned outside of the resort. We were lucky enough to get towels on the first day we arrived so we held on to them. Some people were not so lucky and didn't get towels. I suggested to my guests that they bring their own beach towel from home just in case. So it worked out well.
We booked two day trips through WestJet Vacations at the resort. We did the Catameran Trip to Cayo Blanco with Snorkeling. The snorkeling wasn't great as we didn't see alot of fish. We had lunch at Cayo Blanco which was very good. The had rice, veggies, buns, hamburgers, hotdogs, shrimp, lobster and drinks. We spent the afternoon at the beach at Cayo Blanco before heading back. A great excursion.
My guests also booked the Havana Special which was a day tour of Havana plus the Tropicana Show later that evening they loved it!

The wedding:
I had my Mom meet with the wedding coordinator Lissette as I was on a excursion to finalize all of our arrangments. Everything I had requested over email was in place. We basically just had to show up! LOL The day of the wedding Lissette came to my room and picked us up to take us to the beach for the wedding. All 6 of my bridesmaids and I were driven in a golf cart. When we arrived to the beach it was amazing. The arch on the beach was decorated in our colors and all guests were waiting. I can't describe how beautiful it was! We hired the resort photographer and videographer. We spent about 2 hours taking pictures on the beach and at the resort. We then rented a old cuban convertable to take us to a mansion a few minutes away to take pictures. Our pictures and video turned out amazing. I would expect to pay over $2000 in Canada we paid $500 for both!

We love Cuba and we love this resort! I have been to Cuba six times and the last 4 I have stayed at an Iberostar Hotel. I would reccomend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you don't like to do a lot of walking ask to stay in the main building 15 or 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear "mitsu"

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Laguna Azul for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully

Management
Iberostar Laguna Azul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We just came back from Laguna Azul (2012-07-8-2012-07-15). as a part of big family vacation with 21 members.Service was 4*, we had problem wiht the toilet and towels, everyday we have to ask ... other wise you have to use the old one. Services from the bars and restaurants were excellent. For the tips,,, up to you , but they have some expectation!! Usually they are very friendly!
Room: cleans, have space, beds are comfort, OK.We stayed on second floor , building number 10, is a litle bit far to walk for children.
Breakfast and buffets: have various with choices,specialy fish,shrimps are very fresh if you like sea foods. Others ...don`t tasted very much , to salty or fad, don`t have to much expectations even 5* hotel. Bring your ketchup :)). If you like deserts.... you will have lots of choices,. Fruits, are bananas, ananas very sweet, water melon and honey melon tasted water, papaya are excellent and finaly mangos.
Beach: excellent, if you wanted to have a front place, need to reserve early in the morning. More activities around swimming pools. Always crowed. There is an other pool next to building No. 10 , quit if you like tranquility.
Hotel: the best building is number 11,
if you arrived in the morning, the rooms are not available at 15h00 or 16h00, have to wait , so bring your extra swimming suit in your packbag to enjoy the beach or swimming pool. Other wise you will be very desappointed!!!
TOWELS: IS THE BIGgggggggggggggggg PROBLEM!!!!!!, we did not have towels for 3 days, somes people arrived whom have to wait fews days to get towels..... wacht out!!!
Shows: every night , they have a show... unfortunatly very late , at 21h45, not to bad
at 20h00 to 20h30, activities for children.
Conclusion: my opinion this hotel is a 3* max 3*and haft max.
Suggest: Holguin, playa pesquero is better.

Room Tip: Building number 11, second floor or third floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KhanhKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our second stay within two years and we cannot wait to stay here again.Fabulous hotel,Wonderful staff, really good food and lovely clean rooms.The only complaint we had was the French Canadians saving seats outside whilst other people where standing up.Sometimes it was tables for 20+ people they were reserving and should not be allowed.Ok we had to wait for towels but we where in Cuba and could have used the ones in the room.We felt so sorry for the towel guy who was getting abuse.He was a really nice chap.

Room Tip: nice and quiet on the fifth floor and room 1126 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janetinlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear "janetinlancs"

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Laguna Azul for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully

Management
Iberostar Laguna Azul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at Laguna Azul as part of a family vacation with 12 members of my Wife's extended family. We are not normally all-inclusive travelers, and generally we take our trips to off-the-beaten-path locations, so I will just give a quick overview of the place, and leave the in-detail reviews to people who spend more time doing this sort of traveling.

1. The staff are what make the Laguna Azul exceptional. From the woman who cleaned our room to the bartenders and the restaurant staff, with only a few exceptions the staff were warm, friendly, accommodating, and polite. They seemed to go out of their way to make us feel like friends more than clients, which was surprising in a resort with 1500 people.

2. The rooms are nice. With the exception of some of the moisture problems that are supposedly common in Varadero the room was clean and tidy. Excellent view of the pool from the balcony, although for a quieter stay I would recommend getting a room in one of the buildings on one of the smaller side pools. From 2:00 every day the main pool gets pretty rowdy with the pool games and lots of music, and in building 15 we could actually here people's conversations from in the buffet restaurant when we were lying in bed with the patio door open.

3. The buffet food was OKAY but not much more, however if you go to the chefs working the pasta line or making pizzas you can eat pretty damned good. Eduardo wowed me with his pastas on more than one occasion, giving me plates I would have been willing to pay $20 for back home.

4. We had our children with us so we went to bed early most nights (9-ish) however the entertainment we heard and saw in the evenings seemed quite good. The performances in the lobby were especially to our taste, talented musicians and some very nice relaxed performances. With a cold drink outside on the patio it was quite wonderful.

5. The beach is nice, although nobody seemed to be doing much in terms of water sports activities. If you want to go snorkeling you might be better off taking one of the local excursions.

6. We had difficulties planning our schedule around the meal times. Breakfast is 7-10, Lunch from 1-3 and supper from 6:30 to 10 or something approximately like that. With our kids we kept having to sneak food out of the buffet for snacks during the day. The snack bar that is open 24 hours left a lot to be desired so we kept bread and cereals around for those moments between meals when the little bellies needed to get filled.

7. Don't be surprised if you drink comes with too much alcohol, don't be afraid to tell the bartenders to put less in, and a lot of drinks they mix might not be exactly what you asked for. Learn to expect it and don't let it bother you!

8. Several of the staff members specifically mentioned that they like getting stuff from other countries (clothes, toiletries, different types of food) for tips. Give some thought to packing an extra bag of old clothes and a few tubs of Nutella to give away as presents, it is appreciated!

Room Tip: If you want piece and quite stay out of the central buildings, try to get next to one of the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Montravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear "Montravelguy"

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Laguna Azul for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully

Management
Iberostar Laguna Azul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
6.0 km away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
7.4 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Melia Peninsula Varadero
#32 of 63 in Varadero
4,558 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
6.7 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
5,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul

Property: IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
Address: Autopista Sur Km 17 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varadero
#7 Family Hotel in Varadero
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#22 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,198 - ₹ 23,125
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul 5*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero's Beach. Approximately 160 km from Havana and 20 min. from downtown Varadero. 814 rooms allocated in different buildings, 24 are suites and 8 are for handicapped. Reception 24 hrs. open, currency exchange, internet 24 hrs. Buffet restaurant with show cooking and 4 a la carte restaurants and Ranchón near the beach. Lobby bar, Cigar bar, aqua-bar, and 2 snacks bars at the pool. Conference rooms, SPA, gym, and beauty salon, 2 tennis and paddle court. Ice cream saloon, animation theatre and disco. 5 outdoor swimming pools. Miniclub (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Laguna Azul Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing