We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a relaxed tropical vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Nazare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a relaxed tropical vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel 2 weeks in April. The experience was overall fantastic and we certainly enjoyed the hotel in all it's components.

I will not say much about the room we got, since it was part of a special package that we bought, so it was way above average. We had 2 floors, 2 bathrooms and a small terrace. We understand this is not the standard room of the hotel, so we got more than we expected and were very happy about it.

About the rest, here are some interesting points:

- The variety of food offered is very wide and tasty. It seems some previous guests forget that this is not the Hilton in Manhattan. The buffet can accommodate any food preferences and if some guests find the food not warm enough (which we completely disagree) there are microwaves available. Just press a button and your food will come out boiling, if that's how you like it.

- The a la carte restaurants: many previous reviews mention them but none goes to the point: the Italian, Seafood and Japanese (to a certain extent) restaurants only provide you with food samples. The portions are small and sometimes they look more like aperitives. The food tastes good but in 2 of the restaurants it was not enough to be called a satisfying meal. We had to go to the buffet afterwards to complete our dinner.

- The service is very good BUT sometimes is clear that those who tip more and often get more attention. This is specially visible in some bars where some of the guests seem to be regulars (seriously, you go to Cuba to sit all day in a hotel bar and get drunk?). We avoided some of the bars after feeling that we were being ignored and discriminated by the barmen.

- The entertaining team is good and particularly the night shows are of significant quality and engaging. These are daily and start a little bit too late (9:30pm), specially having in account the average age of many of the guests (over 50's). After each show most of the attendants leaves and there are few left to dance with the entertainers.

- The beach is very quiet and clean (the policy of adults only should be followed by other resorts) and there are plenty of sunbeds. However, the epidemic behavior of reserving your place by putting the towels at the crack of dawn is widespread. At 9:30 in the morning you will have to search for quite a while to get a free spot.

- The customer service skills of the reception personnel is very low and it contrasts with all other hotel employees. However, you have a minimum contact with them, so it's irrelevant. Customer support is quite good and most people are nice and attentive.

In resume: for a 5 star hotel, in a tropical environment and in a country like Cuba, it certainly lives up to the expectations. We felt relaxed, had fun and got what we paid for. Therefore, we would strongly recommend this hotel to future guests and also advise people to have an open mind and evaluate things according to the context.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josellito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,028
    1,496
    431
    159
    68
See reviews for
620
2,855
334
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (994)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have just returned back from what was my first trip to Cuba, whilst there we checked into several hotels including the Melia Las Americas. I must say this hotel is very clean and tidy and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food selection was great, with 4 international restaurants onsite which can be booked in advance, we went to three of these and the food was of a very high standard. The rooms were massive ours had a twin double beds huge a bathroom, balcony and a small kitchen facility. There was entertainment throughout the day and a variety of courses i.e. candle making, wine tasting, cocktail making etc. The location was very good, beaches were white sand although a bit Shelly, but overall I thought this hotel was lovely and we really enjoyed our stay! If you asked would I go back.. Yes I would!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xkatepx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The room was really huge and very comfortable. The main restaurant had lots of varieties of delicious foods and the all inclusive system is very nice so you can step at any bar, anytime, and get some delicious cuban drinks. The hotel's beach is very good and at night you can have a salsa class at the club.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Had a great time in Cuba, it was my first time and I would deffo be back,,,the only thing I would change is the food in the main hall, as it wasn't very hot,, and wasn't much choice of foods to pick, haveing saying that u do get to pick to eat in the five international resteraunts 1 at a time,,, I would just like to say a big big Thankyou to our room made JULIA who made our experience so much better,, very happy and smiley lady that really looked after us and made beautiful arrangements in our room we will miss her'm she is a credit to your hotel,,,our room number was 4014 over looking the golf course brilliant view.. Watching the sun set ...missing the piña coladas very much lol thank you see you next year,,,,thanksJULIA,,,,,,:0))

Room Tip: 4104 best room over looking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this Hotel, and everything was perfect. The food, variety, selection & preparation was excellent. The selection and service at the Lobby bar, especially from Annie was fantastic.

The Hotel, rooms, pool(s) and landscaping are bar far the best in the area.

Reynaldo (sales manager) and Eduardo as well as many of the other staff go out of their way to assist and make your stay as problem free as possible.

One thing you will notice right off the bat is the lack of little Lizards on the property. This is due to the 3 cats roaming the grounds. The other Hotels in the area would be wise to follow their leed. Besides, the cats are adoreable!

Being an adult only resort eliminates the noise associated with kids, which only adds to the relaxing atmosphere.

Security insurers people not belonging on the resort amke a fast exit.

Having the Golf course within walking distance is a bonus for those wanting to play.

I highly reccomend this Hotel.

Thanks, Melia and especially Reynaldo for a great stay.

Peter B.

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites are roomy with private pool & bar areas through-out the resort. However, the Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
8.4 km away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
2.0 km away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
4.2 km away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
1.3 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Property: Melia Las Americas
Address: | Playa de Las Américas, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,275 - ₹ 27,839
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing