We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very Quaint Museum

Some interesting Carnival History in an old Colonial Building. The fee to take photos is a bit... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2018
Will G
,
New Orleans, Louisiana
Celbrating the annual carnival

A small museum which tells the history of the Carnival which takes place every July through... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2018
Ian C
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 99 reviews
  
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
11
11
12
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
11
12
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews folkloric dance small museum audience participation takes place take photos carnival courtyard performance cuc history photographs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Poor guide , poor presentation - nothing interesting ! Actually when you pay they build expectations and later on you realize it is not worth it !

Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Some interesting Carnival History in an old Colonial Building. The fee to take photos is a bit annoying but...

Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

I had read in Lonely Planet that there was a folkloric dance show every day from 4-5pm included in the 1 CUC entrance to the museum but having sat through painful touristy ones in different countries it wasn’t top of my priorities to do. However I visited the tourist office looking for something to do in the afternoon and this was the only thing on. Well it was only 1 CUC and honestly it was the best CUC I spent in Santiago. The music was great, the dancers were good and there was a lot of tongue in cheek audience participation. The highlight for me was the mischievous saint who was meddling with all the audience and was hysterical. The crowd loved it and so did I!

1  Thank toria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

A small museum which tells the history of the Carnival which takes place every July through photographs, musical instruments, masks, costumes and other memorabilia on display in this 18th century house. It's good to explore to get the feel for the Carnival, which has echoes of that in New Orleans.

There are performances every Monday at 4pm in the courtyard, but sadly we weren't in Santiago on a Monday.

Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

The Museo Del Canival is worth a visit if you are interested in costumes etc but you could walk around the whole facility in 5 minutes. We really liked the performance in the court yard!!

Thank KirstyMartin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

This is a small museum just a few blocks from the main plaza with various carnival-related items and several scheduled shows in the interior patio.

Thank Gungo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Unable to visit as the place is only open after 4 pm.From the outside it looked very interesting not even able to see the performance.

Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We learned so much here. I am originally from New Orleans and it was great to find out the history of another Carnival tradition. We also learned about New Orleans' relationship and exchange of traditions with the Carnival in Santiago.

Our tour guide was Mirtha and she was awesome! She led our group around giving history simultaneously in Spanish, English, AND French Creole and kept everyone interested and invested in the artifacts.

Thank k8dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

It isnt very big bu you do see costumes from previous Carnevals which show the Cuban uingenuty is making something from very lttle
We did see a folkloric dance depicting Sandenista themes which was excllent Something happens most days in the coutyard

Thank YvonneNBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

A few rooms of old photos of past carnivals and a couple of faded costumes does not justify the 1 cuc entrance. The 'show' at 4pm (Cuban time!) does not justify the other cuc they lift off you. The whole place is tired and lacks enthusiasm (except when telling you it will be 5 cucs extra if you want to use a camera)

Thank Sambururob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews