We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in Santiago - best value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Basilio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Basilio Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best location in Santiago - best value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Cheap, clean, well located, spacious rooms. Good price since there are not much alternatives in Santiago, as far as hostels are concerned.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ktheodossiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
17
95
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Located in the very heart of Santiago de Cuba, this is one the best accomodations in town. The beautiful building is in walking distance of all the cities sights but still very calm. There's a few private parkingspots right in front of the hotel.

The small hotel has only a few rooms that all surround two well maintained, elegantly tiled and plant-filled courts. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings and nice colonial style furniture. Clean bathrooms and sheets, a silent airconditioning and a working fridge all meet the expectations.

The small breakfast room serves fresh fruit and wellmade sandwiches and some snacks during the day.

San Basilio's staff is friendly, but a bit on the formal side. The softdrinks in the room's fridge were free, according to the staffmember on the reception the day of arrival, but appeared on the bill when we checked out another personel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HarmBron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

My parents (aged 60) and I (aged 23) recently went on a tailor-made tour of Cuba, and during our trip we spent 2 nights in Santiago de Cuba at the Hotel San Basilio (my parents also stayed here in July 2009, during the carnival). Background on me: I’ve travelled fairly extensively over the last few years, to Cuba, the DR, Mexico, Turkey, Europe etc, staying in various hotels from basic 2* hotels to 5* luxury adult only resorts, and try to be realistic in my expectations. For me, the major pluses of San Basilio hotel are it’s location (very central), the size (it is very intimate with just 8 rooms), and the decor: the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished in traditional colonial style. I was very close to giving the San Basilio 4/5, but a couple of things (like the AC which wasn’t great, and the noise which was tiresome) made me give it a three; but, I’d say it’s really a 3.5/5, or a 7/10. I’ll break my review into sections for ease:

Check-in: quick, efficient, and friendly, with rooms ready for us.

Rooms: we had two double/twin rooms. My room was large, with two large single beds, a decent sized wardrobe, a dressing table with a mirror and satellite TV, plus two chairs and a table. Small safe in the room available at an extra charge (as with many hotels in Cuba, don’t expect to fit much in it; when I say small, I mean small!). Mini-bar and fridge, but the mini-bar was overpriced IMO (2 CUC for a local beer), and wasn’t fully stocked. The AC wasn’t great (I’d suggest leaving it on when out to get any benefit from it), and the rooms were noisy at night, with music playing loudly close-by until 12am (bring ear plugs!). The bathroom was large and clean, with a good hairdryer, but the shower was poor; though, I do have long hair and still managed OK, it just took longer. Plenty of towels provided (2 large plus a handtowel pp).

Breakfast: not great. Eggs cooked to order with bread or toast and jam, and a small amount of fruit, plus a juice and a tea or coffee. A la carte so no helping yourself!

Location: very good; extremely central with the Rum museum and a paladare down the road; close to all the museums, the Casa de la Trova, etc (approx 5-10 min walk).

This hotel really is very pretty and I did enjoy my stay here; it is not fancy by any means, but the decor and rooms are lovely, and the staff are very friendly (which can be unusual from my experiences in Cuba!). I would highly recommend it for a short stay, and it would make a lovely choice for a couple (I really wished by OH was with me as it was really quite charming and romantic).

If you would like any more info, please PM me and I’d be happy to help.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank london86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

A lovely boutique hotel (only 8 rooms) all recentlyrenovated with beautiful mosaic tiling & bathrooms. Very difficult hotel to locate if driving - parking (supervised at night only) in the narrow street . Rooms airconditioned but no pool ( a drawback in the intense heat and humidty of Santiago de Cuba in June/July), fridge in room, luxurious toiletries supplied, breakfast in tiny but pleasant dining room. Easy walk to most attractions (rum museum just down the street) and main shopping street. Staff helpful and nice. Avoid noisy room 2 which is adjacent to reception where the TV is on all night and staff & guests are constantly coming & going. Be sure to have a good map and lots of patience when trying to find this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaigeySouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibara, Cuba
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Charming little place on a Santiago back street just a couple of blocks from the beaten path. The hotel has 8 rooms currently all priced 60 cuc year round whether double or single. The rooms are decorated in blue fashion and well furnished with good sized private bathrooms. There is a petit dining room to have your free breakfast and an equally small waiting area for guests when they arrive.

The hotel is situated well with everything you need close by. Plazas Delores, Marti, and Parque Céspedes are all within 10 minutes walking distance. Many drink spots and restaurants are in the area to choose from. A few museums, banks, and the post office are in the vicinity.

Nothing much on the negative side to say about hotel San Basilio. I did find the the mini bar selection in the room to be ridiculously priced and opted to buy my refrescos somewhere else at a much cheaper price. With the a/c on at night there was no noise problem.

A quaint and relaxing hideaway.

  • Liked — ambience
  • Disliked — over-priced extras
  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank CubanWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
2.0 km away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.8 km away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 km away
Gran Hotel Encanto
Gran Hotel Encanto
#6 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#8 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
766.2 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Basilio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Basilio Hotel

Property: San Basilio Hotel
Address: Calle San Basilio No 403 e/ Ca, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Hotel Class:3 star — San Basilio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your San Basilio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Basilio Hotel Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing