We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced”

La Bodeguita del Medio
Ranked #159 of 909 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is really no real reason to go there besides its fame. The place is very small, uncomfortable, crowded with not much to see. The mojitos are very expensive, tiny and not very special.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8,849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 8,850 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were a large group and were upstairs...decent food and good music...was a lot of fun. Was very clean for as crowded as it was. Lots of people waiting to get in

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank azloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First, let me acknowledge that La Bodeguita de Medio is indeed a tourist oriented bar and restaurant that gets packed with visitors from all over the world. Yes, the famous mojitos that Hemingway enjoyed so much at this place are indeed pricier than at other more locals oriented bars and restaurants. Here's why I recommend visiting and visiting more than once:

*Delicious mojitos prepared in an entertaining way
*Great atmosphere
*Great music
*A chance to meet people from all over who are also going to impressed by this place of historic significance, especially to those are fans of Hemingway

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank MikeL-33133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went because it is a “must” while visiting the city.
However, what a big disappointment. The place is ugly, the service is horrible (the lady serving us was looking at her phone all the time and was not helpful at all).
They didn’t have any of the food we were looking for and the food besides us looked awful. They didn’t have some beers we wanted to try and their Mojito has nothing special. We stayed there for a drink and we left. Just take a picture under the sign when you pass by, don’t enter, it’s not worthy. Trust me .

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Fab_Elizalde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited after a day of touring in Havana, and it was wonderful. The food was good, and the drinks were great! Friendly and helpful staff, and overall an enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jessibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bodeguita del Medio also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La Bodeguita del Medio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing