We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap”

La Bodeguita del Medio
Ranked #161 of 915 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

A real tourist trap. I was really disappointed with the Mojitos in this bar. I expected the best in Havanna but got one of the worst. They made 10 at a time without any “love”?We ordered 5 but they forgot to add rum in our Mojitos so we had to go back and ask for it. However good atmosphere in and outside the bar.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mariesX5906SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 8,941 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2018

attention ! I have only visted the bar at street side. My comments are not applicable for the restaurant part.

The overpriced Mojito (5 CUC) was terrible and was a kind of infused water ... Very crowded though ... Mr. Hemingway's favorite Mojito spot became a tourist trap. I would say : take your picture from the outside and get your drinks at another place. There are plenty of bars around with excellent drinks for half the price.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D6956YJbobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

A must visit place - la bodeguita del medio! Situated just off of Plaza de Catedral this place is a historical icon.

With its graffiti strewn walls outside and its history told by pictures inside it has one hell of a buzz whether you visit at night or during the day - we did both.

Mojitos are 5 cuc each - great value we thought...

At night it is crazy with not an inch to spare, so you may need patience to order your monitor and then are likely to have to drink it outside in the street - we initially came here on a cruise ship tour.

In the day when we returned, we were lucky enough to grab a seat at the bar and listen to the band playing in the corner - this will be a must return to place for us every time we come back to Havana !!

Atmosphere overload - totally awesome !

Just a footnote for the rude people who come in to the bar, don’t buy a drink and take pics of the band - the least you can do is give them a tip !

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank angier931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

If you are in Havana you must visit La Bodeguita del Medio and have a Mojito which is very good. It is rather small and cramped and to be honest the la Bodeguita del Medio in Prague is better but still a great bar to visit with all the history associated with it.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 14noelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

So this was Ernest Hemingway’s place for mojitos. They were extremely good it just took a while to get them, the place was BUSY

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 447shawnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bodeguita del Medio also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La Bodeguita del Medio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing