We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely colonial mansion, some problems with bathroom and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Udine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A lovely colonial mansion, some problems with bathroom and breakfast”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The building is lovely, well kept and nicely furnished. The room was very spaceous and with a window, although it couldn't boast a great view.
+ A perfect colonial mansion
+ Excellent location.
+ Good cleaning and assistance at the reception.
- The batroom presented some problems: WC flush, not quite hot water from tap, ill fixed taps and light switch, when taking a shouwer you cannot but flood the floor
- The breakfast is monotonous and the service is too long (it took on average 1 hr to have breakfast and you got the same fruit plate + omlette).
- Safe was present in the room but it wasn't fixed in anyway (a person having access to the room could simply carry it out with all belongings).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanna_BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    164
    142
    66
    51
See reviews for
60
260
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Virgin who we travelled with rate this as one of their top 5 Cuba hotels and so our expectations were high.

We spent 2 nights here, the first was in a small room with no window and an air conditioning unit that sounded like some one was digging up a road in the corner of the room and so could not be left on.

The hotel is built around a central square where the restaurant and bar are, the staff began noisely setting up for breakfast around 6 and so we were woken then. The bathroom was grubby and had a dodgy switch hanging from the back of the mirror.

The next day we asked to be moved to a room with a window and were given a suite (not until about 3.30) which was huge and far more comfortable, though the bathroom was still very tired looking - however this room looked out on to the road and so was unbelievably noisy, so all in all the hotel gave us a complete no-sleeping experience.

Breakfast was included, this was basic and not great. The hotel felt more suitable for a backpacking stop, fine in itself but it was sold to us as a "magnificent hotel" which it sadly is not.

The best thing about the hotel is the location in the old part of Havana close to some great areas to stroll around with some fabulous restaurants and bars very nearby. Havana itself is wonderful and we would love to go back, but NOT to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere! If you do choose to stay ask for a room with a window, but at the back off the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP-Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Spent 3 nights in November 2011 in Havana's Palacio O'Farril.
Lovely courtyard hosting a restuarant, adorned by greenery and some art for sale, big, modern oil paintings.
Wonderful, friendly, smiling staff, resorceful and willing to help.
Unfortunately our room was less then acceptable. Room 102, big suite with the adjoing lounge room, good size clean bathroom and internal hallway. The problem was awful mould and wetness seeping down the wall in the corner of the bedroom. At night the bed sheets felt moist and after unpacking our clothes in another place , the clothing smelt mouldy.
We tried to keep the windows opened during the day, which is ok as all windows have crates, but in the evening and at night this is not poosible as the noise from the street and the clinking of dishes, music and diners in the reastaurant in the courtyard is quite loud and constant.
So we were at the mercy of old and hard working air conditioning unit, mincing the moudy air around.
The other part of our stay in Havana was in Hotel Parque Central, which was a tiny fraction more expensive, but no comparison in quality, which that tiny fraction bought.
Maybe we wre unlucky with our room, but if you get room 102 in Palacio O'Farrill do not take it.
Everything else about this hotel is delightful, the feel of the old, colonial past, good a la card breakfast, helpful staff, the location, but the room made our experience disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAgnieszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Room was very simple but clean and spacy. Beautifull high ceiling.

The palacio has a marvellous internal patio were you can enjoy a good breakfast. The rooms are plased on the galleries you see from the patio.

Good service and nice restaurant.

Good choice in a city were clean rooms, good service and acceptable food are rare

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilcoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

got to O'Farril sent by Hotel Telgrafo where third floow is completely broken. I am given a room with no windows (there are several) and a very noisy air condition system that could not be turned off. I ask at 2,3 am to be changed to another room (which it happens) but there the temperature is so low i had to sleep wiith my fleece on. IN the morning and after an almost a sleepless night i am also asked to pay for some water i took from the minibar in the first room. Room was simply broken so if you want to sleep literally in a refigerator go to O'Farril where they charge you for broken rooms. Avoid absolutely. very nice in the apparence but once in the room you loose sensation of time and feel claustrofobic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
722 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno
0.2 km away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#15 of 79 in Havana
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#17 of 79 in Havana
790 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel del Tejadillo
Hotel del Tejadillo
#41 of 79 in Havana
316 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#35 of 79 in Havana
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio O'Farrill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio O'Farrill

Property: Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Address: Calle Cuba 102 - 108 entre Chacon y Tejadillo, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,568 - ₹ 17,519
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio O'Farrill 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio O'Farrill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio o`Farrill Hotel Havana
Palacio o Farrill Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing