We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certificate of Excellence Isn't Enough”

Paladar Los Mercaderes
Ranked #52 of 904 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is located in the center of OLD HAVANA in a beautifully renovated colonial house built circa 1890. It has 2 salons, each with unique decorations, fabulous furnishings and signature tiles. There are also frescos from 1905 on all of the walls which brings an added facet to the style of the restaurant. Our beautiful interior hanging garden adds an enticing and pleasant ambience to your dining experience. Please join our family restaurant and enjoy fabulous Cuban food plus some international food , friendly service, great beverages and all the best of old Havana.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Of all the restaurant reviews I've posted on Trip Advisor, this might be the first 5 Star rating I've ever posted. This is the best restaurant that I visited while in Havana and have every intention of visiting again.

Great Ambiance, Great Service, Great Location, and most importantly the food is beyond outstanding! Yamil Alvarez, owner, stated that the restaurant was privately owned. I typically don't recommend particular appetizers, salads, or entrees as everyone has a different palate. Excellent and not watered down cocktails, the Caesar salad is amazing, and of course the seafood dishes contain nothing but fine Cuban offerings. If you go with a group, it might be worth considering ordering different dishes and eating items family style. This is probably as close to authentic to Cuban cuisine that one will experience without going to a private residence.

The restaurant's ambiance was well planned. The location is a converted house/apartments located within walking distance (10 minutes +/-) from the cruise port. If a member of your party as a mobility issue, the stairs leading to the restaurant sitting area might be a challenge. There is a balcony for individuals or parties of 2. Live music (excellent!) that plays/performs classic and recent musical hits.

After dinner, the owner stopped by the table and inquired about our experience. As many restaurants that I've visited, rarely does a manager stop by the table to inquire, and if they do; they literally ask a throw-a-way question and literally their feet never stop and are moving to the next table.

Fine dining with the ability to wear casual clothes. As far as pricing, it isn't the most expensive restaurant that I've visited, but I was willing to pay whatever the cost to experience authentic quality Cuban cuisine. It's not as if the restaurant is around the corner from my house.

I've attached pictures of my experience. Because of another event, I went when the restaurant first opened and the dining room was obviously empty. Not a cause of concern.

Excellent restaurant!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandpower_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Agradecidos por dejar su maravilloso comentario y por su recomendación. Hacemos todo lo posible para que cuando visite nuestro espacio se sienta cómodo, la comida, los tragos y la atención sean especial. Estamos contentos con usted de que se haya sentido genial en nuestro restaurante y haya disfrutado de nuestros servicios y platos. Esperamos tenerlo pronto de vuelta. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful restaurant, great location and amazing food! It was nice to have something different, good option for vegetarians.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario Anni. Agradecidos de que le haya gustado nuestro restaurante y su ubicación. Acá siempre se le atenderá con un servicio especial para que se sienta lo mejor posible y siga disfrutando de nuestros platos y servicios. Esperamos su visita nuevamente. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Of the best spots to eat in Havana Vieja! Private owned. The flavors highlight Cuban cusine which is hard to find!

Date of visit: November 2018
9  Thank wanderingGReca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por visitarnos y por compartir su opinión de nuestro local. Estamos agradecidos de que la hayan pasado genial. Esperamos tenerla pronto de vuelta. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our best meal in Havana. The place is intimate, romantic and with live music. Food is deliciously inspired. We had caesar salad, hummus, special of the day pork dish and ropa vieja. The friendly owner (Jamil?) greets and gets feedback from guests. When he learned we were celebrating a birthday, we got a surprise cocktail with a bday candle...sweet! The rest of staff were friendly and efficient. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hiyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario y por su recomendación. Agradecidos de que la hayan pasado genial. Esperamos que vuelvan para que sigan disfrutando de nuestro restaurante. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent choice for those who want to try the privately owned restaurants in Cuba. This is one of the best paladar restaurants in Old Havana wiht good service and fine food.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank gudlaugsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchísimas gracias por visitarnos, gracias por la recomendación, esperamos que nos vuelvan a visitar. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar Los Mercaderes also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Paladar Los Mercaderes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing