We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the climb”

Paladar Los Mercaderes
Ranked #51 of 902 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is located in the center of OLD HAVANA in a beautifully renovated colonial house built circa 1890. It has 2 salons, each with unique decorations, fabulous furnishings and signature tiles. There are also frescos from 1905 on all of the walls which brings an added facet to the style of the restaurant. Our beautiful interior hanging garden adds an enticing and pleasant ambience to your dining experience. Please join our family restaurant and enjoy fabulous Cuban food plus some international food , friendly service, great beverages and all the best of old Havana.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This gem is upstairs on the busy Calle Mercaderes. The night we attended, the stairs were lit with candles and strewn with rose petals. The restaurant itself has eclectic decor and very good food. There is music but not intrusive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario! Nos complace escuchar que le ha gustado tanto el lugar! Esperamos su visita. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was incredible. Owner was so nice - introduced himself to us and talked to us for a while. Pricing was very reasonable.

Thank JackieL1445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchísimas gracias por visitarnos, gracias por sus opiniones, esperamos tenerlo de vuelta por acá pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cuba is not known for good food, period. So it was a great surprise to have lunch at this restaurant, the food was by far the best we had in 3 days in Havana and 10 days in Cuba (although I do also recommend another restaurant and one bar). I went by it the first day and heard the music on the second floor and was attracted by the menu, but we only went back the last day in Havana. There were many different "gourmet" options on the menu. The lobster with pineapple was amazing, and we also liked the other options (risotto was good, their pork loin with passion fruit also surprised me, the meat on bbq sauce was incredible). We even got a shot of rum at the end from the friendly staff at the end of the meal!!! Definitely recommend this one.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isabela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchísimas gracias por visitarnos Isabela, gracias por sus opiniones y por recomendarnos, esperamos tenerla de vuelta por acá pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We loved everything about this restaurant. We weren’t expecting such a hidden gem. We were with a tour group with everyone heading back to the ship and this meal was the highlight of our time in Havana. Great service and food. The best follow up visit came from the owner to insure that we were pleased with our experience.

Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario! Nos complace escuchar que le ha gustado tanto el lugar! Esperamos su visita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner is in love with their ribs! I thought the black bean hummus was delicious. The staff are very warm and friendly and the restaurant is beautiful. Sit on the balcony, listen to the music and watch the world go by, it is heaven

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHVISTA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Los Mercaderes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario Paula. Agradecidos de que disfrute de nuestros platos y servicios. La esperamos pronto por acá nuevamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar Los Mercaderes also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Paladar Los Mercaderes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing