We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Havana Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Habana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Habana
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Havana Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed in the Melia for two nights at the start of our Cuban holiday. This allowed us time to visit Old Havana, using the free hotel shuttle which runs hourly and is very convenient. Stayed in a junior suite on the 6th floor, very clean and comfortable and eat both evenings in the hotels Itialian restaurant, good value at around 30CUC's for two with a beer, the main buffetwas 25CUC's each and looked good but we also eat lunchtimes in the old Town so did not bother to sample it.
Buffet breakfast very good, recommend the fresh cooked omlettes. Returned for our final night after an 11 night beach stay, arriving at 0100 (due to internal flight issues - recommend you do NOT fly internally in Cuba - very disorganised) to a full sized suite on the 8th floor with complementary bubbly and choc's - eaten the following day!
A good standard hotel, but be warned nothing to do around it and a shuttle or taxi ride into Old Havana is necessary to see the city sights.
Tip - use the supermarket across the road for water/ rum etc, much cheaper thn the hotel!

Room Tip: 6th or 8th floor facing west for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Kn_12

We read the comments you wrote and we are very thankful for them since they serve as a kind of feedback to us to help us identify those areas in which we should work harder to reach better results.
Once again we would like to thank you for devoting some of your time to read this letter and most of all for sending your opinions to us, by means of which you work together with the staff of Meliá Habana Hotel to offer the best service to our clients.
We hope that you take notice of our contact information at the bottom of this page and do not hesitate to use it if you ever think of coming back to Havana, to our Hotel, which you can consider your home in Havana
We look forward to see you again, in Cuba, of course.
Best regards

Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,448
    1,192
    378
    96
    62
See reviews for
631
1,431
139
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Although the hotel is far from most tourist attractions and hotel this hotel is very worthwhile. Not only that transportation by taxi is very cheap (12cuc to/from Habana Vieja), but it offers a shuttle for the city center (and night for the Cañonazo ceremony).

The hotel is very nice, the lobby bar has shows in the evening, the rooms are spacious and clean (although a little old, this can be seen in details like the painting and finishing), the breakfast is great and the view to the beach is beautiful.

Just had a bad experience with concierge. I asked to reserve seats for the concert of the Buena Vista Social Club. Reservations were made, but at night I received a message that the reservation had been canceled. When I went to inform the reason, concierge told me that there had been a technical problem and there would be no show that night. He recommended another place, I went and loved it. But what was my surprise to come by later and see there that the Buena Vista was functioning normally? I was very upset and made a formal complaint with the night shift manager who promised me a satisfaction. But I left Cuba without knowing exactly what happened. So my recommendation is not to trust the hotel staff. Make yourself reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. If it is first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamilecttf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dario Alejandro F, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Mr. Jamileccttf,
We appreciate a lot all your excellent comments about the hotel, the staff and our service. We are very thankful to know you will recommend us with all your friends.
We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the best standards of service and for that reason we would really appreciate it if you help us to clarify this.
We look forward to see you again, in Cuba
Best Regards

Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the Melia Havana for only one night when we did the overnight tour from Varadero to Havana. The hotel is quite large the lobby very spacious and welcoming, a lovely spot to relax with a drink after a day touring about. It is in Miramar quite a ways from Old Havana, but quite a nice neighbourhood. We arrived late in the afternoon had time for a shower and a nap before dinner. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with good AC and the beds were quite comfy. The bathroom is very large with an excellent shower, however, when I lifted the towels off the rack they were quite dirty and grimy, everything else looked relatively tidy, but the bathroom could have been better done. Our room had an ocean view and overlooked some townhouses being built next door as well as a galleria that had LOUD music thumping out of it. We were a little hesitant that the music would go on all night but when we came back from the Tropicana show all was quiet. The buffet restaurant downstairs is quite large and they offer a wide selection of items to choose from. The wait staff leaves something to be desired, two of our party had to wait over 20 minutes for a glass of wine and a sprite, but the food itself was fantastic. There was a wonderfully tender and flavourful beef stew that rivals the best I've ever had. Breakfast the next morning was equally pleasing, better than our hotel in Varadero, again the staff was a not so friendly and attentive but the food made up for it, really very very good. It is a bit out of the way so I don't know if I'd want to spend a full week there but for a few nights it was acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mitchipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
364 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

we arrived after dark and the concierge gave us a card for a in home restaurant near by
which was great! he was very helpful also about information to use the hotel shuttle to old
Havana. The hotel lobby is very large and was decorated nice for Christmas! The room itself
was a good size with a nice view of the ocean, clean and bathroom was fine. Honestly much
better than we expected! The breakfast buffet was good too alot to choose from! All in all we
were very pleased not at all sure of how it would be friendly staff too!! Not walking distance really
to Old Havana but the free shuttle worked out well!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights on an excursion to Havana from Varadero. The hotel was very good by Cuban standards, comparable to a three-and-a-half star hotel in North America. Our room was cleaned daily (although not until late in the day). Our room had a king-size bed, although this was really two twin beds pushed together. We had a great view of the Malecon from our room. We felt pretty safe here, and there is security staffed throughout the ground floor and lobby who look like they don't mess around.

We didn't use the pool but it looked nice!

We ate at the 24-hour snack bar one night and found it to be fairly typical for what you can expect in Cuba: burgers and fries that don't seem quite right, but they hit the spot when you need a late-night snack. We didn't eat a any of the other hotel restaurants.

The service at the lobby bar was not fantastic, and the drinks were standard (outside-of-Cuba) hotel prices.

Being a cigar enthusiast, I was especially impressed with the cigar shop in the Melia Habana. It was extremely well stocked, with nearly all of the new production cigars available in singles and by the box, as well as a few older and hard-to-find cigars such as older limited editions and 10-year-old, non-mainstream regular productions. There is a bar in the cigar shop where you can enjoy a smoke and a drink. I didn't stay long enough to judge the quality of the service, but my experience is that most of the employees in these shops don't smoke cigars themselves and therefore aren't that knowledgeable.

The room rates were very reasonable and good value. All in all, we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
7.2 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
5.3 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,479 reviews
0.5 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
6.9 km away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
9.1 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Habana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Habana

Property: Melia Habana
Address: Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Havana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#2 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#3 Business Hotel in Havana
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,862 - ₹ 35,202
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Habana 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miramar, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from Havana Convention Center. 397 rooms, 4 suites, 12 Junior Suites, 98 Royal Service, sea view with balcony, Full bathroom, Air conditioning, Satellite TV, Safe, Minibar, 220 volts. Restaurants: Italian, Oriental Fusion, Grill, cafeteria and Buffets, 5 bars, Swimming pools with children's area, Babysitting service. Sauna, GYM, Massage, WI-FI Internet in all the hotel, Meeting facilities. Live Music. Free shuttle to old Havana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Melia Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Habana Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Habana
Melia Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing