We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in Cuba.”
Review of Restaurante Mangle Rojo - CLOSED

Restaurante Mangle Rojo
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nice place, quiet and reserved, where you can taste various dishes of international cuisine,mangrove-scented broils, Italian pizzas, stews ...Our authentic flavors delight the most demanding and the combination of colors and shapes make each dish a true piece of art esfímero. The more appetizing it is not only excellent cuisine, generous portions and great cocktails, but the friendly and familiar treatment, you can feel yourself as one of the family.Lugar agradable, tranquilo y reservado, donde podrá degustar variados platillos de la cocina internacional, horneados al aroma del mangle, pizzas italianas, estofados...Nuestros auténticos sabores complacen el paladar más exigente y la combinación de colores y formas hacen de cada plato una verdadera pieza de arte esfímero. No obstante lo más apetitoso no es solo la excelente cocina, los abundantes platos o excelentes cócteles, sino el trato amigable y familiar, que lo harán sentir desde el primer momento como uno más de la familia.
Reviewed 19 May 2012

OMG...what a find. The pizza is cooked in Brck ovens and it does something for the crust!!! Better than a New Yorker!!! Enjoy. Very comfie seating indoor and out. Service was great, with a smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bruce Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idania C, Propietario at Restaurante Mangle Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thank you very much for your comment, you should know it is very important for us to get feedback from our customers. We are delighted to have pleased your taste. We hope to see you again and comply all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

I have been coming to Cuba for 20 years and have eaten at many restaurants and paladars.
El Mangle Rojo is by far the best one yet. Their food is fantastic and their service is great.
I highly recommend the fish palmador, it is unbelievable. They also have the best pizza in the entire country. It is cooked in a brick oven. It is only a 10 minute taxi ride from downtown Havana.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank ZuleyMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We had several good meals at Mangle Rojo. They have good salads, pizzas and sandwiches for lunch or dinner. They also have a nice selection of upscale choices--seafood, pork, chicken and steak. Their black beans and rice were the best we had in Cuba. The service is friendly and helpful. You can sit outside on the patio or indoors in the air conditioned dining room. We loved the pizza oven crackers and dip before dinner. My lobster dinner was delicious. Don't miss this great spot. It was a highlight of our time in Havana.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JESS1CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idania C, Gerente at Restaurante Mangle Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thanks, it is very important for us to receive favorable reviews from our customers, we hope you visit us again and so to surprise your palate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This restaurant is the best place to eat in the east of Havana, perfectly chosen and desingned menu offers a fusion between the cuban and contemporary food, the environment is extremely friendly and the service is really professional, I have the oportunity to meet the Chef as well as the owners of the place and they are Knowledgeable of what they are doing.after eating in this place you feel like you have to try the whole menu before eating somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank asigabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Pizza is delicious and real italian style! As i remember prices for a pizza are CUC 5,- to 8,-. The service is also excellent - the waiters speak english (one of them german as well), the cook speaks english as well and has a good knowledge! The furnishing is luxury and comfortable! Best-value! Although not in the city-center of Havana, a visit to Guanabacoa (one of the 15 municipalities of the city) is worth it! I highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Birgit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idania C, Propietario at Restaurante Mangle Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Hello, How are you? Your comment made us very happy. Thank you. The guests are our priority. Your critic have much value for us. We hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Mangle Rojo also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing