We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nowhere better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Maura Habana Vieja
Ranked #3 of 694 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nowhere better!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed for a week with Maura and her family and we loved it. Her breakfasts are wonderful, and we loved our room, really great shower too. Maura also helped us plan the rest of our trip, arranging other casas for us in Vinales and Trinidad, her recommendations were all excellent. The house is very well situated next to Habana Vieja and the Malecon, but easy to get to Vedado and Habana Centro when you want a break from tourism central! We will be going back to Maura's the next trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JJS-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
You are very kind with your opinion, it satisfies me a lot that you are pleased with their stay in my house.
Thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    58
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
109
513
132
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Located within easy walking distance of Havana Viejo, the Malacon and the popular shopping street, Obispo, the home of Maura's friends also on Refugio was a perfect location for our first visit to Havana, Maura, unfortunately could not accommodate us and a couple of friends during the Easter week so she reserved two rooms for us at the home of Teresa & Justo and their lovely family. Our room was clean and simple, the bathroom was fine, even if it took a few minutes to figure out how hot water operated in the shower!!!! Our hosts were very friendly, giving us lots of advice on what to do and not to do, places to visit. Thanks to them we were able to hire a car, etc. Breakfast was a feast with lots of colourful fruit, breads, coffee, tea and it was also a nice time to have a conversation with Justo. Speaking Spanish is an advantage if you want to learn a little more about the Cuban way of everyday life! Thank you Teresa, Justo and your daughter for all you did for us, it was greatly appreciated. A big kiss to the little one. Et bonne continuation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for their opinion, it is very kind

thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Maura's in April. The location is great to explore Habana Viejo and is near the Malecon. Maura is a very warm person and she really made an effort to make sure our trip was going well. The breakfast was excellent, the room and bath were very nice. Thanks Maura for the recommendation to the Castropol restaurant which was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jeank189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for their opinion, it is very kind

It is very kind, we are very proud of having had it in our house.

thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The house is located about 15 - 20 minute walk to the Havana Vieja and 2 minutes from the Paseo de Marti. The location comes with a price of some noise that can be heard in the room.

In house dining is not something Maura keenly offers. She's frank about it, which I really appreciate. However she would still prepare meals upon requests.

Very friendly and informative, while ready to help, even if her Casa is fully occupied.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maranino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We just came back from a week vacation in Cuba, at first we tried to book at Maura's house but it was fully booked. She referred us to a house a half a block from hers and made sure we had two days at least at her house. She booked a cab to pick us up from the airport, despite we were not going to her house at first. This gave us a hint on how great she is as a host. After five days in Havana, when we got to her place she made us feel welcome and showed us her house, the facilities are world class standard and her breakfast is fantastic. Once you've tried her home made Pineapple jam you can't stop! Maura is a great host, there's a good reason why her house is number 1.

Room Tip: This house has stairs... so if for any reason the travelers have issues with steps, they should cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SuperTecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for their opinion, it is very kind

It is very kind, we are very proud of having had it in our house

thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.5 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,495 reviews
9.4 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,205 reviews
4.6 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
1,519 reviews
9.0 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
954 reviews
9.0 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maura Habana Vieja? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maura Habana Vieja

Property: Casa Maura Habana Vieja
Address: Refugio No.104, apto N 2 | e/Prado y Morro, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 694 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,943
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House apartment in the Old Havana, near the Havanan Prado, the area with more night life in the country, full with history. From Casa Maura can visit any point of the Old Havana on foot, the Capitol, the Walk of the Prado, the Palace of Bellas arts, the Bodeguita del medio, the Cathedral of Havana, dozens of museums, restaurants, coffee, bars, where you can test the flavorful mojito or the refreshing daiquiri. We offer you comfortable, very clean rooms, security, with air conditioning, fan, private bathroom, plugs for 110 volt and 220 volt. You can enjoy the coexistence together with our family respecting your privacy in all moment. We offer you breakfast, cocktels, slight food, has dinner in the house, laundry, ironing of clothes, massages with specialists, classes of dances, service of taxis, walk in old cars or in cars thrown by horses, everything for people approved legally, agreeing the price directly among you and those that give him this service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing