We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s good but not wow. ”

Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana
Ranked #86 of 909 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Brand new restaurant , opened in February 2011. We were one of it's first customers. A 'Palador 'style restaurant located in a penthouse apartment of an of classic 1950's building; with magnificent views over the city and of the ocean. interior decor is modern1950's cool, creative, and artfully appointed. the food was excellent!!! One could could compare easily to a fine restaurant in Paris, NY or London. staff are young and attentive and gave great service.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The setting is on the 5th floor of an apartment, views are so so. Food is standard, nothing exceptional. Went with the vegetable soup and that was okay. Service was okay just had to get their attention. Getting the bill was quite a wait but then this is Cuba. Not sure if I would go out on my way for this place again.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Globaltrotter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We would have loved to know your discomfort at the time it happened. Surely we would have avoided the causes. We take note of your signage to discuss with those involved. We appreciate your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this place disappointed a little. the venue is pretty and popular. perhaps we caught it on an off-night. Half the menu was not available (out of fish, for example).

Service was ok - but didn't have that cuba friendliness.

Wine list may be the best in the city.

since food in havana can be a bit tricky - we picked this for the great reviews.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank canadianamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Too bad your experience has not been good. We insist that everything goes well, and our customers are satisfied. Obviously, there is always someone dissatisfied. We appreciate your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fairly highly rated and regarded restaurant in Habana. Acknowledging that there isn't significant food diversity in Cuba, you need to make up for it in experience. Here, the food was just ok and the ambiance so-so. Cocktails were watered down. They did have a live musician come in at some point. It was also our most expensive meal in Habana. There aren't that many upscale dining options, but you could skip this one. One positive - service was good and it can accommodate large groups.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HoneymoonTraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Too bad your experience has not been good. We insist that everything goes well, and our customers are satisfied. Obviously, there is always someone dissatisfied. We appreciate your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You almost feel like going to someone’s flat from the moment you take the elevator to when you go to the simple bathroom with a shower. The wait to get the menus or the starters was a tad too long, but the mains followed in a normal timing. Food hit and miss, the swordfish (fish of the day) was really not good, while the gazpacho was delicious. House white wine was surprisingly good as well! Service is good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank DaryaRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a pity not to have known of their disagreements at the time, surely we would have tried to solve them. We appreciate your publication and we will review all the signs with our staff. Thanks for alerting us !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice place with good food and wine. Reservations are necessary as the place is almost always full. The best dish was the sampler platter. The portions are huge, consider sharing. I had the lobster, could only eat half of it.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank murremeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

How nice to know that you enjoyed your visit. For us it was a pleasure to receive you and we appreciate you sharing your opinion. When you like, we are at your disposal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing