We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best food in Cuba!”

Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana
Ranked #86 of 909 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Brand new restaurant , opened in February 2011. We were one of it's first customers. A 'Palador 'style restaurant located in a penthouse apartment of an of classic 1950's building; with magnificent views over the city and of the ocean. interior decor is modern1950's cool, creative, and artfully appointed. the food was excellent!!! One could could compare easily to a fine restaurant in Paris, NY or London. staff are young and attentive and gave great service.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice place with good food and wine. Reservations are necessary as the place is almost always full. The best dish was the sampler platter. The portions are huge, consider sharing. I had the lobster, could only eat half of it.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank murremeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

How nice to know that you enjoyed your visit. For us it was a pleasure to receive you and we appreciate you sharing your opinion. When you like, we are at your disposal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We gave Café Laurent a spontaneous try and came without reservation early on the evening. Every table was booked, but we got the chance to dine on barstools at the balcony bar, which had a great view and turned out to be surprisingly comfy. The service was very attentive, but what really stood out was the food. After three weeks of traveling Cuba (where many restaurants serve canteen level food) we craved for properly crafted dishes done by cooks who are proud of their work. And we got positively surprised. The plate of mixed appetizers was extraordinary, the chicken "chef style" was an umami bomb and the ropa vieja intensely but elegantly flavoured "classic with a twist" on top of the best puree I ever had. This was a very good example of what cuban cuisine CAN be.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Really very kind and comforting your opinion. We thank you very much for making it public and allowing other travelers to choose us as well. We always try to make room for our customers, no matter how full we are. See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dined here at the recommendation of our Virgin rep who did the reservation for us. Short walk from our hotel before going on to the Nacionale to see the Buena Vista Social Club. Food was excellent; very good and attentive service without being in your face and a really quaint location. Definitely recommend - worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank horse-mad-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a pleasure to read your kind opinion. We will share it with all the staff. Your satisfaction and that of all our clients, is our main objective, to have achieved it is reason for joy. We will work to always be like this. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The charm and originality of Cafe Laurent was remarkable. We took a cool elevator plastered in old Hollywood newspaper up to the top floor restaurantt. The lunch was incredible. They were accommodating to vegetarians and pescatarians. We started with giant salads that were wonderful. One originally came with bacon, but when we explained that I was a vegetarian they immediately brought out a fresh one. We had fresh fish, ropo vieja –shredded beef on a bed of mashed potatoes that was amazing, and a vegetarian risotto. Dessert was ice cream and flan. Their mojitos were to die for!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M4088BUalisonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very happy to hear your opinion. It was a pleasure to receive and serve you. We certainly have options for vegans and carnivores ... hahaha. Thank you for sharing your criteria with other travelers. See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great experience. The staff was friendly and attended. The rooftop view was amazing at the sunset time.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank CeciliaC3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

They were blessed, they had the best time. We have the best sunsets of Vedado, totally free. Thank you for choosing us and also tell other travelers. We wait for you when you like again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing