We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
76
12
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
12
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa great stayjuliohostscasacuba
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I liked the look of this place; it was clean and on its second floor location, there are some nice views. However, we did not stay here. When we arived we were greeted and told that the room we had reserved was under renovation and the repairs were taking longer than expected. This was just after the new year so we weren't bothered, especially because accommodation had been arranged for us in the neighborhood.
The place we ended up staying doesn't seem to be on tripadvisor, but it was a good place and it cost the same amount we were quoted at El Mirador. Julio took the time to give us refreshment and told us a bit about the city; he seemed to be a gracious host who cares about his clients.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primerstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I sent a reservation request to Julio about 2 weeks in advance and he confirmed that there was a room available. Then I sent another email to double confirm 2 days before my stay but didnt receive his reply. When I arrived, he told us his house is under renovation and referred us to Casa Norma which is a floor below him. This is no big deal but it wonders why he didnt not tell us earlier, probably because he could earn the referral fee.

We came back to Havana after 3 weeks and bumped into him, he told us his house was still being renovated but I could see them drying bedsheets and receving guests, not sure why he lied.

Negative experience with Julio. Think this Casa has become very commercial thanks to TA, those who want to experience local life can skip it as there are plenty of choices along the street. Btw, he speaks little English.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed at Casa El Mirador for two nights in a nice, spacious three bed room with private bathroom for CUC 30 per night (plus CUC 4 p.P. for breakfast). Julio and Isabel have been lovely hosts and super helpful regarding our stay in Havanna and also for planning the rest of our trip through Kuba. Breakfast - including coffee or tea, fresh fruits and juice, scrubmled eggs, bread, cheese and jam - is available for extra charge (CUC 4 p.P.) and is super delicious. We'd absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatjanas_Journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed 3 days at Julio and Isabel flat in la Havana it was a really good experience.
Nice accommodation, the room was clean and big enough for the 2 of us and well located.
Also Julio and Isabel are really welcoming cooking a tasty breakfast and gave us tips and suggestions :)

Will definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuDw02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

this place has everything you need. comfortable rooms fairly engaged and reasonably helpful hosts and consistent breakfast (by day 4 i could not take any more eggs :-) ). despite that, i feel that we have enjoyed our stay here and would go back. the location is very good with walking distance to most places!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews