We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Havanna”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison David y Lidia Diaz
Ranked #40 of 687 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Havanna”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed for 4 days in this excellent casa particular in Havanna- big bedroom including a dining room with library in a beautiful colonial house.
David is extremely helpful and a very nice person and organised for us and also other persons transportation to Vinales and Santa Clara -We would definitely go there again and also recommend our friends to stay there!
Alexandra & Lukas

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    94
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
158
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights in this Casa and we fully enjoyed our stay. The house is impressive, the food is great and David is full of good advices. From there you can walk to either the old Havana or Vedado which is perfect. We had a massive two bedrooms suite for ourselves which was incredible with 3 meters high ceiling. Definitely the place to stay in La Havane.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmeladejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We end up in this Casa en Havana Central because our driver recommended it.

Aside from David and his family who are super friendly and helpful, the 2 casas are large and comfortable, with traditional wood furniture, great mattresses, with new electric and air conditioning system, lots of water pressure (a nice change in comparison to havana vieja or other casa we stayed at.

It is pretty conveniently located, to walk to la casa de la musica, et parque central area.
Food was great and lots to eat for a very reasonable price, David has the best cigars contact that we found also.

i would come back there if i ever am in Havan again..

Room Tip: more quiet is 2nd casa (David Junior's)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophtrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I honestly can't recommend this place enough. The houses are amazing, the rooms are great, breakfast is fantastic (I'll defy anyone to eat all of it;-) its massive) and David and his family are lovely, lovely people.

I can't imagine better value for money in a capital city.

The house is situated close to the the old towm (about a 15 minute walk) and the street itself looks a little run down, but don't let this put you off, you actually get hassled far less here than in the old town where the bulk of the tourist trade is.

David gave us a run down of all the things we need to be aware of as first timers in Havana and the advice came in handy on a number of occassions.

The resident crocodiles and turtles are a soothing way to pass a few minutes in the hall way as well.

If you're going to Havana, please consider this place (and no, I'm not on comission) :-) its a great, quiet refuge from the craziness of the city and we met a nice bunch of other travellers there as well.

Gaz

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donharba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross-on-wye, england
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We didn't know what to expect when we returned to Havana to stay in Maison David y Lidia. We had chosen somewhere else but it was full so the web agent suggested and booked us here. It was in a very convenient part of Centro Havana which was just what we wanted, so it was easy to walk into Havana Viejo. The street is narrow and the front door not very imposing so we were delighted when we entered and found ourselves in the hall of a large and imposing old colonial-type building. David has the whole ground floor including an open courtyard with fountain. There were 2 small alligators in it which David told us had bad eyes. "I am a vet and when they are cured I shall return them to the wild."
Our room was in fact a suite. We had the original salon of the house, a very large bedroom which he kindly put a second double bed in for us, a little hall with a fridge, and a bathroom with efficient shower. David speaks excellent French and in fact most of his guests were French - this seems to be a hidden gem that only the French so far have discovered! (which is particularly why I wanted to write this review) He also speaks good English and was very helpful. The Continental breakfast was large and tasty, not cooked but lots of pastries, breads, fruit and jams. David has a computer and internet connection, which is rare in Havana. He is also listed on rentaencuba,cu. For around £25 per night for two, you really can't go wrong. This is a really great place to stay whilst you are in Havana - we have already recommended it to friends and would have stayed there on our final night when we again returned to Havana - sadly he was fully booked.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollysmum_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#8 of 79 in Havana
470 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.2 km away
Casa Habana Blues 1940
Casa Habana Blues 1940
#81 of 687 in Havana
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
B&B Central Havana
B&B Central Havana
#22 of 687 in Havana
282 reviews
1.8 km away
Central Yard Inn
Central Yard Inn
#36 of 687 in Havana
154 reviews
0.8 km away
Aby's Casa in Cuba
Aby's Casa in Cuba
#58 of 687 in Havana
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison David y Lidia Diaz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison David y Lidia Diaz

Property: Maison David y Lidia Diaz
Address: Street: San Miguel Number: 426 | Between: Lealtad and Campanario Centro Havana Cuba, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 687 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,128 - ₹ 1,879
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Street: San Miguel Number: 426 (low) Between: Lealtad and Campanario Centro Habana. Havana.Cuba ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing