We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and atmosphere, So Busy, ”
Review of La Guarida

La Guarida
Ranked #57 of 902 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Cuban, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "It's the most famous of Havana's Paladares" New York Times, August 2002. "The greatest and most magical is La Guarida, so magical that it is temting to protect it by witholding its address" The Guardian, February 2001. "The city's best restaurant....La Guarida is the hardest table to reserve on the island this remains the hippest best restaurant in Havana" Cigar Aficionado, June 2001.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

4 of us went for dinner
Lucky to get a table on a Friday night - must must book !
The beautiful roof terrace dining area is the place to be but the inside rooms are beautiful too
Also got a stylish top roof terrace with snacks
Toilet is even amazing !
All food was good - especially the rabbit - but the coconut soup desert was out of this world !
Quite pricey - CUC115 for the 4 of us 2 courses and not much drink

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 201 of 3,984 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

It was our last night of our fantastic tour around wonderful Cuba and we wanted to eat somewhere special. There were a few names in the frame but we chose La Guardia and what a great choice it turned out to be.

Our taxi dropped us outside a fairly typical run down building which judging buy the lovely marble winding staircase inside must have at one time been magnificent. We walked up the 2 or 3 flights not knowing what to expect when finally we walked into the great La Guardia. We were greeted by very pleasant staff who showed us to our table outside on a balcony.

Menus came - not cheap by Havana prices but very reasonable by London prices for food of outstanding quality beautifully cooked and presented. Good wine and cocktail list (as you would expect) again reasonably priced.

If La Guardia was in London not Havana we would be back in a heartbeat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spartak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Arrived in a taxi, we thought the driver had got the wrong place.
We were told by the doorman to go up 3 flights of stairs.
The restaurant was marvellous, you wouldn’t believe the standard of food we were served. Had the Rabbit Pate and Ropa Vieja with Moors and Christians. We were well attended to throughout the Evening, went up the spiral staircase to view Havana.
Price was surprisingly good, had a bottle of Chilean Red , came to around £90 for 2.

Thank kccre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve read most reviews and were tempted to try La Guarida ourselves. What a flop. The service is basic, food is not prepared freshly (vieja ropa tasted old and dry), the prices: the most expensive meal on our trip to Habana, for very little quality. The interior boring and nothing much of impression - most casas particulares are decorated same way. Don’t be fooled by the fake impression and go somewhere else. There are many better places to actually dine and fine.

1  Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGuaridaHavana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Guarida, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018
Google Translation

Lamentamos que esta haya sido su opinión y que no haya entendido el concepto de La Guarida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We enjoyed a lovely late lunch here. And we loved everything about it - the atmosphere, the other diners, food and wine. If you are going to Havana - do book lunch or dinner here, it is really not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAIAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Guarida also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La Guarida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing