We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
298
404
349
116
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
404
349
116
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old havana corner room pool bar wifi connection worked fine buffet restaurant cab ride mini fridge sea wall art deco cuban standards lobby area live music omelette la habana malecon vedado
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Did not stay here but called in for a mohito and a cigar to check it out.. it has a more boutique look but with old school character.has a nice street facing veharanda round the front of the hotel to watch the world go by.. well at least all the classic and some not so classic cars..
Well worth a look if you passing..

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jamjar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community_Manager_HP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks for your opinion.
Maybe in the future you can decide to be our client, where you´ll check the quality of our services, while you can continue enjoying the terrace, a mojito and live music every night.
Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This hotel is very quiet, but it is remote from your activities, and so you will need a cab to go most anywhere. There are a couple of very good restaurants within walking distance, and we really liked VIP Havana (search for reviews on TripAdvisor). This was the nicest hotel of our stay in Cuba, but also the most expensive. Regular rates are more than $1,000.00 a night (forget the on-line reservation scams) and to extend one more night after our tour, the best that our tour company could arrange was $650.00 a night. For that money, they treat you like they are doing you a favor, however, and even the cab drivers expect to take their cut. To go only a couple of miles to Plaza de Armas, they wanted the same $25 fixed rate as Cuban law requires them to charge to go to and from the airport. They would not budge below $20, and so we walked around the corner and found an old Russian cab that took us for $5, and he was pleased to have the business. The pool area and lobby are beautiful, but private areas like the rooms are a bit more worn. Original old wood framed single pane windows do not begin to keep out the noise, but thankfully the neighborhood is quiet. Try for a room on the upper floors, for a quieter stay. This is a favorite of high end tour groups, and the dining areas can be rushed at times. Our in room plumbing was so so, and 50% of the elevators were working during our stay, which is pretty good for Cuba. Food is pretty good for any Cuban hotel, but we were just wanting to go back to the USA after twelve days of stomach problems, and we did not eat much here.

Room tip: Upper floors will be quieter
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community_Manager_HP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments.
On behalf of the management and the hotel staff, we appreciate your feed back.
We hope to see you again at the Roc Presidente Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This was likely a fantastic hotel back in the day, but the rooms have become a little run down. We were a somewhat disappointed in the beds and since the AC didn't get really cold the room was a bit musty and stuffy. The buffet breakfast was okay for Cuba standards, but a letdown if you were eating back home. The omelet station was a good choice. I wouldn't say this hotel is horrible hence the 3 stars. I would just say you are better off staying at a casa particular for the price and value. The location is close to Plaza de la Revolucion. If you are interested in exploring Habana Viejo or other interesting site you will need to hire transportation as it's too far to walk.

What we did really enjoy was the pool and outdoor bar area. We were traveling as a family with 2 boys so an afternoon at the pool while mom & dad had a couple mojito's and cervezas and the boys swam was a nice treat for everyone. The pool was clean and nice looking. We had some snack food which was satisfying. The hotel sells WIFI cards at the front desk and you can access the internet in the lobby, pool and it even extends to your room. They run out of access cards, but seem to get a steady supply every few hours so you just have to keep checking back if you miss a batch. Our rooms were higher up with one on the front of the hotel and the other overlooking the pool. Both had great views and I got some really nice photos out the windows which open up so you can get a clean shot. We felt safe and secure here. The staff was really friendly and nice.

Room tip: Higher up for great views. The front offer city views, the back offer pool views.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank superhero70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community_Manager_HP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your feed back about your stay.
The management and the staff work together to ensure that our guests have an unforgettable stay with us. Ours is not a new hotel, but we work hard to keep it in good shape. We will continue our hard work to keep improving our facilities and services.
We hope to see you again at the Roc Presidente Hotel. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile


What a lovely hotel with sea views in Havana. About 3km from Revolution Square which of course is must see.

The hotel itself was very quaint and I'm sure was quite a place in its day. Staff were very friendly and there was a good array of food for breakfast.

A small pool and sun deck out to the side of the hotel for a bit of "panic tanning" if needed.

Only downside I would say is that the drinks at the bar were a tad expensive.
Regards,

Denise Hayward
Tel: 07595 876141

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community_Manager_HP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Madam Denise H.

Thank you very much for your comment. Let me thank you on behalf of the management and staff of our hotel.

Your comments motivate us while we are happy that guests have felt at home in our hotel.
We work hard everyday and it´s a satisfaction to read your comment about the hotel, the services and the staff.

It will be a pleasure to have you with us again.

Many thanks, always at your disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The hotel foyer is better than I expected so I was feeling pretty positive that we had chosen reasonably well, but once we left the foyer/public area it went south pretty quickly. The first 2 rooms we were allocated had power and sewer smell issues. The bell person received a severe electrical shock when he turned the light on. We eventually got a room that was safe and clean but with no water pressure. Having said all that I can say that the staff were all very good. The pool was good and the outdoor shower at the pool was good. The restaurant at the hotel was poor but the breakfast bar was ok. Sitting around the porch area in the evening have a drink was good.
Location was good and there were many local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Walk a block from the hotel towards the beach to grab a cab and you will pay neally half the price of what you pay outside the hotel.

Room tip: Get the staff to turn the lights on first
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hyper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community_Manager_HP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Ms.,

Although we do not fully agree with your impressions about our hotel, we thank you for your comments. We take the feedback we receive from our guests very seriously. This way we can work on the aspects that you consider that can be improved so as to achieve greater satisfaction of those who visit us. Every year we work on upgrades to keep our facilities well maintained.

Regarding the food we have a two week menu with a varied offer. This menu has been designed taking into consideration the opinions and suggestions of our guests so as to please the majority of them.

Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews