We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveller rating
433
270
230
129
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
270
230
129
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renovated room interesting history an update main bar classic hotel live music air conditioned gomez glamour architecture dust iberostar vieja
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

I was transfered here as the hotel I was originally booked for had a problem.
Habana Riviera was clearly built in the 50s and looks a nice throwback. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaraunts and bars are pretty good, even breakfast has live music and champagne if you want it.
Going upstairs however you can see the hotel is tired. I was on the 18th floor, the windows howled all night because of the weather outside. I tried to put the climate control onto heating but there was no difference, there was no airflow from the ceiling unit. The air con in my room did nothing but make a humming noise.
I honestly can't comment on price because I was transfered here.
I felt it was good experience to see this 50s hotel, if it gets the restoration it needs, I'd come back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Habana Riviera by IBEROSTAR.

Firstly, we appreciate your positive thought as regards our bars and restaurants, our live music during meals and our friendly staff, it makes us happy know that they have impressed you with their services. However, we regret that the rest of your experience wasn't pleasant as expected, please accept our apology for the mishaps highlighted about maintenance. Our hotel is under a renovation process in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. We wish you might consider giving us another opportunity to host you in the near future to experience all the positive changes made based on our guests recommendations with the intention of enhancing our facilities.
We are happy to read you will come back after we finish our renovations. For sure we will be more than pleased to host you back.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We stayed in the hotel when we were in Cuba. The hotel was better than I expected, although truth be told it is a little tired. It could use an update. The hotel was quite clean, and the amenities were better than I expected. It would be nice to see a remodel though.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Becker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this honest review and for choosing to stay with us among other hotels in La Habana.

We are very happy to read you found our facilities good and clean, and that you have enjoyed our amenities. However it is regrettable to see that our maintenance conditions affected your overall stay. We would like to mention that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment process and our rooms and other locations will be in optimal conditions very soon. Therefore we will be more than happy to host you back under better conditions but with the same friendliness that makes us proud at IBEROSTAR.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The hotel is next to Malecon street in the new Havana and close to Piazza de la Revolution. It has big rooms and beds, it was clean, simple and comfortable. The food was good and the staff nice, I reccomand it

Stayed: December 2017
Thank AliN2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayami D, Quality Manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It has been an absolute privilege being your host.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, our rooms with their incredible views are really beautiful and confortable. The location is privileged, just in front of the popular Malecon and close to the Revolution Square.
The meals and drinks we offer are greatly appreciated by our customers.
Thanks for your recognition to our excellent staff and for recommending us.
We wish you could give us the opportunity to stay with us again. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Quality manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

I chose this hotel because of the reviews which turned out wrong. This hotel seems to have been great in the past but now no one should be staying there. It is old and extremely musty and in need of a lot of repair. The elevator was scary and the hallways are downright filthy. We checked in on Christmas Eve 2017 and quickly checked out the next morning. The mold is a health hazard as well. We walked across to Melia Cohiba and it was like night and day!! Melia Cohiba was about 200.00 less and great. Having great staff which they have does not compensate for a hotel that should be closed until they renovate. The pool could not even be used! I gave it a rate of one because I had to in order to submit but it doesn’t even deserve a one.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dforchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying in our Habana Riviera and for bringing your concerns
to our consideration.
We apologize about the situation you described in your room and other facilities. Our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working on areas to be improved and our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. We would also like to inform you that we will be starting a new program with an external company to eliminate the musty smell in the rooms. We are doing this to avoid the extra humidity we have been suffering this summer and mainly after hurricane IRMA because it has presented some difficulties to keep all our rooms completely away from must.
We apologize and we hope to have the opportunity of welcome you again in the future in order to create a memorable stay.

Warmest regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

The location is good, on the Malecon, which also makes rooms vulnerable to traffic noise even on higher floors. Walking around gives nice views of the ocean and sunset but the diesel fumes can be nauseating. The cleaning and breakfast staff are friendly, though most of the staff at breakfast are very old and slow. The rooms are big and well furnished. Music and dance in the lobby are worth spending some time. The room tariff is expensive

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank MooresRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your past stay at our Habana Riviera.
We are pleased to hear you found our location good and could enjoy our friendly service and your room accommodations.
However, we are sorry to read other aspects of your stay were not up to the level you expected. Our management is now aware of your comments and for sure will take it into consideration for your future trips.
Thank you as well for your recognition to our Night Entertainment. Our manager of that area will extend your congrats to all the ones involved.
We truly hope to host you back any time in the near future so we can offer you an unforgettable experience.
Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews