We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beltran de Santa Cruz Boutique Hotel Havana
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location Location”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you are reading this you are obviously considering staying here, so I will give it to you straight. The Location is perfect, you walk out of the hotel turn right and after 20 metres you are exactly where you want to be, in Plaza Vieja one of the 4 main squares, and one of the more lively ones.
Your first reaction to the street where the hotel is situated may initially give you some concern regarding safety......don't worry you have arrived smack bang in the thick of Havana, which is one of the safest cities around due to the friendly locals and a smiling policeman on every block.
The hotel itself is charming, an old original colonial house turned into a Hotel many years ago, no retro here ,all authentic rooms and minimal furniture. For this reason the plumbing is ancient and the showers are just about usable, don't let this put you off. If you want sparkling showers and bland interior you need to go elsewhere.
The courtyard is delightful and the friendly parrot will charm you during breakfast.
The breakfast is samey, fresh fruit, fresh bread and jam and (how do you want your eggs).
If you need more there are plenty of places nearby.
From this Hotel most of the attractions in Havana are within walking distance, this is
worth taking into consideration when making your choice.
So to summarise a charming hotel lacking modern amenites in a perfect location......enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room rather than a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rob_Greavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    36
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
15
53
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Like many others we turned up (having paid in advance and even confirmed in person a few days previously) but on the night itself they had 'problems' with our rooms so moved us into a hotel in Vedado. They said we could stay our second night but when we phoned through the next morning the problems had only got worse so we never got to stay. They did provide a car to take us to Vedado and gave us a complimentary dinner for 2 in Vieja the next night but overbooking or not honouring bookings does seem to be a real issue at this hotel - so book at your own risk (I did and half expected this to happen).

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank anarchy130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

In Havana, I had every solo traveller's nightmare. I fell victim to a misplaced cobblestone and sprained an ankle on one leg and fully traumatized the knee on the other leg. The staff at this hotel helped me in every way -- helped me up and down stairs, kept my spirits up by bringing bottomless mojitas, brought me ice in the middle of the night, forwarded frantic family and travel insurance phone calls, and arranged for a wheelchair at the airport. All this kindness was expressed with very little Spanish on my part and very little English on theirs. I am very, very grateful to Felix, Dario, Melina, Dianaya, and all the other caring Cuban angels at Beltran de Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Room Eight is a history of Havana in architecture and design. You have to see it to believe it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hexakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billund, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We like our 3 nights at Beltran, first of all we were close to everything and could easily walk around in the nieghbourhood. The rooms are ample with all the things you need, we even ended up buying the bottles of rom and coffee they had exhibited in the rooms - the last souvenirs :) Breakfast was nice, it is nice when they ask you how you want your eggs, and the parrot kept us company. The patio was a great place to hang out and enjoy a quiet moment. Service level was good. only thing - you have to pay to use the safety box!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmanDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Nice to be greeted by the parrot shouting "hola". Great location just off the Plaza Vieja, and an interesting building, but don't expect 5 star western standards in this state-run hotel. The rooms can be gloomy when the shutters are closed, there's mould in at least one room, and the bathrooms don't appear to have been upgraded or repaired since the 1950s. I can put up with that for a night or two just to soak up the atmosphere in Havana, but the hotel lets itself down badly with its service. My daughter, who speaks really fluent Spanish, was furious when one of the staff lied about a WC flush being repaired and denied all knowledge of a further night being booked (we should have gone elsewhere but it was too much trouble to find another hotel for one night). Breakfast arrives in dribs and drabs, with no choices being offered. The staff kept my son and daughter awake until the early hours with noisy conversation in the atrium (which is surrounded by all the rooms). I made the mistake of eating in the attached restaurant (very dull pizzas) and the waiter never returned with the change on the bill. I probably would have left him the extra couple of pesos as a tip anyway but would have been nice to have the choice to do so. If you want an older style hotel then try it for a night, but I believe there may be better ones (the Florida on Obispo?).

Room Tip: First floor for a bit more privacy (but no lift).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeicesterBrusque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz
0.5 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#25 of 79 in Havana
730 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Conde de Villanueva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#14 of 79 in Havana
711 reviews
0.2 km away
El Meson de la Flota
El Meson de la Flota
#43 of 79 in Havana
122 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel El Comendador
Hotel El Comendador
#37 of 79 in Havana
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltran de Santa Cruz Boutique Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltran de Santa Cruz Boutique Hotel Havana

Property: Beltran de Santa Cruz Boutique Hotel Havana
Address: Calle San Ignacio Entre Murall 411, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing