We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Italy in the World

Italy in the World
Ranked #8 of 138 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Italy in the world is Bonaire’s premier source of fine Italian wines The shop features the widest possible choice of exceptional Italian wines from the best producing regions of Italy. With labels such as Piedmont, Tuscany, Trentino, Friuli, Veneto, Sicily, Abruzzo, Campania, Emilia Romagna, there is something for even the most discerning palate. The company not only has the best wines but also high quality fine food. the restaurant offer a variety of real italian plate , such as ravioli truffle, mushrooms ravioli, ricotta and spinach ravioli, vitello tonnato,salami plate, cheese plate, and more tasty and delicious food can be taste in the unique atmosphere of Italy in the world, surrounded by thousands of the best italian wines The real passion of Italy in the world can be felt as soon as you enter the shop. Italy in the World is housed in an historical building whose quaint exterior belies the treats that await you inside. We offer excellent customer service and a knowledgeable staff specialized in food and wine pairing. Be sure to ask about joining the Italy in the World Wine Club so that we can keep you up to date as to wines testing and new arrivals.
Restaurant details
Description: Italy in the world is Bonaire’s premier source of fine Italian wines The shop features the widest possible choice of exceptional Italian wines from the best producing regions of Italy. With labels such as Piedmont, Tuscany, Trentino, Friuli, Veneto, Sicily, Abruzzo, Campania, Emilia Romagna, there is something for even the most discerning palate. The company not only has the best wines but also high quality fine food. the restaurant offer a variety of real italian plate , such as ravioli truffle, mushrooms ravioli, ricotta and spinach ravioli, vitello tonnato,salami plate, cheese plate, and more tasty and delicious food can be taste in the unique atmosphere of Italy in the world, surrounded by thousands of the best italian wines The real passion of Italy in the world can be felt as soon as you enter the shop. Italy in the World is housed in an historical building whose quaint exterior belies the treats that await you inside. We offer excellent customer service and a knowledgeable staff specialized in food and wine pairing. Be sure to ask about joining the Italy in the World Wine Club so that we can keep you up to date as to wines testing and new arrivals.
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Delicious, authentic food. Wines are many and marvellous. Christina was lovely. Really enjoyed her Bonaire "origin" story.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank klaurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina664, Owner at Italy in the World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear customer,
Thanks a lot for your review. Was a pleasure having you as ours guests.
Best regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

I've always loved this place. Just now, has the best tuna, in many ways, the rose wine was perfect. The service is great, and dessert; Whao !!!!!!!!!!!. Its the cutest house in the area. Do not miss this place if you have the chance.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

This restaurant was one of best we visited while in Bonaire. The owner was able to get us a table as a "walk-in" on a very busy Friday evening. The food is amazing, the service was excellent and the wine cellar type of atmosphere made it very romantic for a last dinner for us on the island. The owner is an Italian expat, so the food is authentic, well portioned and presented with all of the wines served coming from Italy. This experience (Yes! Our meal was so good that I will call it that) is a bit pricey, but totally worth splurging yourself for.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RazrBlzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

I was visiting Bonaire for the second time, with an old friend. One night we decided to splurge a little on dinner and tried Italy in the World. We were NOT disappointed. We had the delicious Bruschetta, homemade pasta and I had the Chocolate Salami (it is not a salami...just rolled chocolate with real cream). Everything was delicious right down to the recommended wine. It was over a hundred dollars for the two of us, but worth every delicious penny of it! The pasta was freshly made, the bruschetta was perfect and the dessert was out of this world. Highly recommend if you want authentic Italian food!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina664, Owner at Italy in the World, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Al,
thanks for the nice review and taking your time to write it. I really appreciate I like your point about the chocolate salami.
Hope to see again next time .

kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of dining at this small Italian restaurant twice while vacationing on Bonaire. It is a combination wine and fine foods importer/shop and
fine dining restaurant. The restaurant seats guests amongst the racks of wine for sale in two separate rooms. Total seating is about 20 guests +/-. It is owned and run by a native Italian woman, (Christina), who also was waiting on the tables with some help from one or two servers and/or the chef.

The food was excellent both nights we were there. Truffle ravioli in a truffle cream sauce was yummy, as was the smoked marlin and tuna. Also excellent was my tagliatelle with shrimp in olive oil and garlic, lots of shrimp perfectly cooked, not too heavy.

We had wine by the glass, though they have a pretty extensive wine list consisting mostly of Italian wines, of course.

One interesting dessert we had both nights was called "chocolate salami". It was a firm chocolate roll of sorts with some hazelnut bits in it sliced to look like salami served with a very nice soft chocolate panna cotta.

Service was a slow by American standards, but when you are on island time you expect it to take a bit longer. Not sure about Italian standards having never been there.

Overall, the food was delicious, and the setting quite nice for a small group or couple.
While on island for two weeks we cooked in most of time, but treated ourselves to a few nice dinners out.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anegada2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Italy in the World also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Italy in the World? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing