We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, clean, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bonaire Seaside Apartments
Ranked #9 of 20 Kralendijk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is really a good deal. Everything in Kralendijk at walking distance. Good price. Very clean appartment (cleaned daily). Nice balcony with sea view. Good diving school around the corner. Cant be better really. Exceptionally friendly staff. Following her advice our holiday turned out to be superb.

Room Tip: The higher the better (2nd floor or penthouse). Then you have seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 365frequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

The studio condo (208) was great, very inexpensive, amazingly close to Dive Friends, close to town (10-15min walk), decent view of ocean, and felt more like a home than hotel. The studio was not as modern and new as the pics depicted but clean- small kitchenette, small bathroom, separate bedroom, microwave but no oven, good AC, bad fluorescent lighting in the rooms. I think most of the pics are of the 1-2 bedrooms apartments. In the studio bedroom, there is a bit of noise from the street but only during the day. The cleaning lady does not come everyday but does drop off new towels, which was really nice. For the price, I would definitely stay here again. Restaurants are rather pricey in Bonaire and not that great (more than the US) so having a kitchen was great and at least we can eat at a small table on the balcony with a view of the ocean to enjoy meals. The kitchen was very basic and had ikea supplies - no consumables like spices, coffee filters, or foil or saran wrap, etc. We found a local fisherman who sold us some awesome snapper and made a few trips to the local bakery and supermarket for food. Also, think this place could use some better lighting and more homey touches like art, nicer bed linens, better pillows, new cover for the futon, more tupperware, more kitchen stuff, and it would a really awesome place to return to for a month at a time. We were only two people but I think the couch was a futon, so 4 people could stay here but it would be a little small. For 2, the space was perfect - except perhaps the shower.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level (third flr) for better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koreanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I liked the Bonaire Seaside Apartments so much I extended my stay from one week to four weeks. I stayed in a studio at these modern and upscale apartments in the summer of 2011. It was surprisingly affordable. I seriously doubt I could have gotten such a nice apartment for this price anywhere else on the island.

Bonaire is a designed low-rise apartment complex, with three or four different kinds of units. These apartments seem to be among the newest on the island and have a good reputation. When I told local people I was staying here, a few wanted to know what it was like.

The complex is well managed by exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Some of the apartments are occupied by long-term residents and others are for sale. For this reason it has the ambiance and facilities of a condo complex. I barely saw the other guests.

There is a small modern pool on the complex, perfect for cooling off.

The larger units are part of the main building and can be accessed by a lift. I stayed in a cheaper studio, one of the smallest units in the complex. The three studios are part of the main building, but they have their own entrance off to the side. The entrance is protected by a secure gate. A narrow staircase brings you to the studios. At first it bothered me that I had to deal with this gate and staircase to get to the pool and beach, but I got used to it.

From the third floor, the thing you notice the most is the view. From the living room and small balcony there was a splendid view of palm trees, the sea, the boats, Klein Bonaire and the sunset.

It wasn’t really a studio at all. It was a one-bedroom apartment about 55 square metres in size. It was unusually large and modern for what I was paying. Nice furnishings in the uncluttered living area. The balcony furniture was comfortable. Not cheap plastic. There was a flat-screen TV, with good but not perfect reception. There was a variety of about 50 American, Latin American and local stations. They also carried BVN.

In the studios there are two ACs, one in the living room and the other in the bedroom. The open concept living area included the living room, dining area and kitchen, so it seemed like a large space. The separate bedroom had a nice bed, a fan as well as AC, a set of shelves and a closet.

Costing something like $14 to do a single load, the washer and dryer in the basement were expensive but useful.

There is plenty of free parking in front of the building. I hired a vehicle for two weeks during my four week stay. It costs about $40-50 a day. Vehicle break-ins are a problem on the island – I speak from personal experience – so follow the standard advice: don’t lock your vehicle.

For the other two weeks I rented a bicycle at Macho Scooters & Bicycles. It cost $55 for the week. Most of the things I wanted to see and do were within an easy cycle ride away so this worked out OK.

Bonaire Seaside is located in a nice area about 1 km north of the town centre of Kralendijk. The immediate area is a low-key mix of local and tourist. Right next door are the Yellow Submarine branch of Dive Friends Bonaire, a restaurant called Bistro de Paris and a few other places. The dive shop is fully equipped so you can do all your diving out of there. Other amenities are located down the road to the north and south. The hotel is located on a pleasant waterfront path. Walking or cycling into town along here is pleasant.

These apartments are indeed “seaside”. The shore along this area is mostly coral debris, with a few fishing boat platforms and docks. There are a few interesting seashore things going on around here. Sailboats and fishing boats are moored in the water. Between the complex and the water, there is merely a single-lane low-traffic road, a sidewalk and a narrow rocky beach. About 10 metres away. Having such good access to the shore is a big plus.

There is no sandy beach or place to lie down here really, but this hotel is located about 600 metres north of the pier with the water taxi to Klein Bonaire ($15 return), where you’ll find a paradise beach (perhaps the best in Bonaire) and some of the best snorkeling on Bonaire.

In front of the hotel there is a boat mooring area and the bottom is sandy. There is some sea life so you can snorkel here. Snorkelling from the hotel is of course not the best snorkelling in Bonaire, but I enjoyed it for what it was and swam almost every day. About 50 metres out you come to the edge of the famous reef that fringes Bonaire. You can see the edge of the coral reef about 7 metres down. I saw turtles in this area. (There are turtles everywhere in Bonaire.) During one early morning swim I saw a manta ray, not more than 250 metres from this hotel. However, I don’t think it hangs out here. Swim about 600 metres to the right, to the southernmost Harbourfront marina jetty, and you get to a really nice snorkeling spot along the jetty wall.

Free wifi is hard to come by in Bonaire. Half the island seems to drop by Lilly’s coffee & ice cream shop to use their free wifi. No problems connecting there and the signal is strong.

I worked out at the modern and air-conditioned Bon Bida gym, located about 800 m to the north. Expensive but definitely the best on the island.

What about the downsides? No hotel is perfect, but there’s always a risk in being specific about this because some readers tend to blow it out of proportion. I suppose traffic noise and barking dogs were an issue here. These apartments are situated on the main road and in a residential area. (Perhaps it’s not a problem in the larger apartments.) Also, I felt the fridge, kitchen counter space and bathroom in my studio unit were on the small side. But then it was my choice to stay in the smaller unit.

Like some of the other hotels on Bonaire, this hotel relies on an external hotspot service (Splash Wireless) to provide wifi for its guests. If you go for the cheapest rate, it works out to be about 1 euro an hour ($18 for 720 minutes), which you can pay for using Paypal. I experienced persistent connection and payment problems with Splash Wireless. However, I have to add that these repeated problems were always quickly and professionally resolved by the hotel staff. (Splash Wireless itself is completely inaccessible to its customers).

It was a pleasure to stay at a place like this in the Caribbean for a change. I recommend it to independent travellers looking for a modern seaside apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Seaside apartments is located a short walk from Kralendijk center, making it an easy walk to dinner. Rooms are large and clean with basic kitchen supplies in the one bedroom. Though it is not fully staffed someone was there to greet us on arrival and to help us get oriented to the hotel/apartment. Rooms cleaned most days. View from the balcony was outstanding. We booked a package that included diving and the staff at Dive in could not have been more knowledgeable about conditions throughout the island. I will stay there again. All that being said this is NOT a place to get pampered but an independent traveler would enjoy it.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RTP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Soweit man sehen konnte, hatte jedes Zimmer Meerblick. Von daher kann man eigentlich nichts falsch m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Guido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaireseaside, Manager at Bonaire Seaside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
3.5 km away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
1.9 km away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
0.7 km away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Den Laman Condominium
Den Laman Condominium
#4 of 48 in Kralendijk
290 reviews
0.7 km away
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments
#15 of 48 in Kralendijk
107 reviews
1.6 km away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonaire Seaside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaire Seaside Apartments

Address: Bulevard Gob. N. Debrot 41, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Kralendijk
Price Range: ₹ 6,646 - ₹ 23,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonaire Seaside Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonaire Seaside Apartments offer “Value with a View” with their oceanfront, fully air-conditioned studio, one and two bedroom apartments and three bedroom villas. Conveniently located within walking distance of Bonaire's capital, Kralendijk, these modern units feature a full kitchen, dining area, living areas, and porch or balcony overlooking Bonaire’s picturesque anchorage and nearby Klein Bonaire. Scuba diving services are provided by neighboring Dive Friends Bonaire/Yellow Submarine, a PADI Gold Palm Resort/National Geographic Family Dive Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bonaire Seaside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaire Seaside Apartments Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing