We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Westmoreland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Westmoreland
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
harrogate
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Great accomodation, people, facilities the beach club is fantastic! Expensive but worth every penny and you can see exactly what you are paying for. Would hesitate to return with the family!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hubcap_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    20
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
60
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Arrived at Coconut Grove 12 and was very happy with the villa that we had booked. Setting great, space fantastic, pool big enough to actually swim in, housekeeper who told us within 10 minutes what days she would and wouldn't be working! Not a problem though as we hadn't gone on holiday to spend eight hours a day with someone we didn't know so wasn't unhappy that the housekeeper just did the bare minimum. Note to owner - you might be better off advising potential guests of what they can expect from their housekeeper!

Royal Westmoreland please take note. If you really want to offer a first-class service, you do need to have some sort of facility available at the end of the day so that your guests don't have to go back to their villa when they come back from dinner. Better still, open your Clubhouse a bit later than 7.30pm so that one can actually get a drink before they go out to dinner! Not all of us are getting up at 6am for a round of golf.

Do try the Induglence Spa at Mullins Beach. My daughter (13) and I can highly recommend it as we enjoyed lovely pedicures there.

All in all though a thorougly enjoyable holiday. However, won't be going back to Royal Westmoreland unless they have some form of evening facility and a better understanding of what to expect from the housekeeper.

Please note that our ratings are for the actual villa and the resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

My husband and I stayed in one of the 3 bedroom townhouses in Cassia Heights (#11) from 13th to 20th March '10 and what a wonderful time we had. We've been to Barbados before (staying in various hotels) but we needed more space this time as my stepdaughter, her husband and young son all live on the island and we wanted them to be able to stay with us. The villas are very light, spacious and comfortable. The floor to ceiling windows along the length of the living area that all open onto the terrace were amazing. #11 has views across the 10th tee and it was very quiet and peaceful. These smaller villas don't have a private pool but The Santuary was only a 2 min walk away and the facilities there were great. The Westmoreland estate feels very safe and security around the estate is very good. As our villa had all the (tropical) home comforts we didn't eat in either the Club House or the Half Way House but both places looked and felt very elegant. The Rum Shack also looked lively, however, we didn't try this as with an 18 month old to look after we were shattered by nightfall! Although Westmoreland is a 5 min drive away from Holetown with all its amenities and the beach, this isn't a problem but it would be advisable to hire a car so that you've got that flexibility. We don't play golf but apparantly the course is one of the world's top 10 so it must be good. It isn't cheap to stay at the Westmoreland but that make it feel exclusive and that's why it has such an enviable reputation. We did venture to the Fish Pot restaurant in Speightstown for dinner one evening as this is one of our favourite eateries on the island and we once again had a fabulous meal. We will definately stay at the Westmoreland again and if we win the lottery we will most definately be buying a place on the estate!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireeTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

Stayed in the new Royal Apartments which are brand new - we were the first to stay in ours. We had a one bedroom apartment which was more than adequate for a couple, with a very nice open plan living area with fully equipped kitchen, large lounge area complete with flatscreen tv, dvd player and bose sound dock and a spacious furnished balcony looking out towards the sea.

Very nice bathroom with walk-in shower but no bath. There was a handy welcome pack for our arrival including tea / coffee / milk / bread / bacon etc and also a basket full of Elemis and Penhaligon goodies - shampoo / conditoner / body lotions / soaps - the basket contained enough to last the two of us our entire stay so I could have left all our toiletries at home!

Another very nice touch is the maid service - daily - this is the cleanest place we have ever stayed! They also do all your washing and ironing for you so you can afford to pack light.

We had use of three different pools (the Royal Villas pool, the spa pool which is located close to Mullins Beach, and the sanctuary pool, in addition to access to the Beach Club at Mullins (comfy loungers / towels and beach service) and a very well equipped gym.

This is a very peaceful place to stay, whilst being only 5 minutes in the car from all that Barbados has to offer on the West Coast - the Lone Star restaurant / Tides etc. Closer still is a restaurant called Sassafras which is located at Sugar Hill - we had lunch and dinner here and the food was fabulous with a gorgeous beach view - you can walk to Sugar Hill from the Royal Westmoreland in five minutes.

Regarding restaurants, if you don't mind a drive it is well worth visiting the East Coast of Barbados, which is by far the most stunning part of the island - Crane Beach is gorgeous and you can have lunch at the Crane Hotel - we went to D'Onforio Italian Restaurant there which has just opened - great pizza and pasta but we hear Zen is the place to go for dinner. Our favourite meal of the entire holiday was lunch at The newly refurbished Altlantis in Bathsheba - run by the owners of Little Good Harbour / Fishport (also highly recommended) - the view is stunning out to the Atlantic Coast and the Bajan food was excellent.

All in all we found the Royal Westmoreland a fantastic place to stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Areviewer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Stayed in Cassia Heights during August 09 and the villa was absolutely stunning! Our maid was great, very attentive and came everyday for around 3 hours. The Sanctuary was home to the swimming pool, Sanctuary Cafe and fitness centre. Absolutely lovely and very peaceful. Careful going in August as we experienced a lot of rainfall which we knew before we went but we did not know to what extent. However was not too impressed by Mullins beach or the beach club as I thought that they would be a lot plusher.

Barbados itself is a beautiful island and the restaurants were INCREDIBLE! Must do's include Daphnes, The Cliff and Lonestar. All high in prices but absolutely amazing! Other good restaurants include Scarlett's and The Fish Pot.

However resort is in urgent need of an evening restaurant as the resort is too quiet of a night and a shop so that guests can buy newspapers, bread, milk etc as Holetown is a five minute drive. Would definitely recommend hiring a car!

Amazing resort, amazing island and I would recommend this to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coop06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
4.4 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.9 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
4.1 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
2.8 km away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Westmoreland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Westmoreland

Property: Royal Westmoreland
Address: St James, 24023, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,842 - ₹ 24,364
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Westmoreland is an exclusive Barbados estate and country club, a gated community of luxury homes and holiday villas with exceptional facilities, including the world-class Royal Westmoreland championship 18 hole golf course. Spread across 750 acres of lush tropical landscape in the Parish of St James overlooking the Platinum coast, Royal Westmoreland offers the ultimate Caribbean lifestyle, for a holiday or for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Westmoreland Hotel Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing