We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week in Barbados. The Beach View apartments turned out to be an excellent choice giving us many of the amenities of a hotel and also the freedom of self catering to enjoy all the island had to offer. The apartment was spacious and very well equipped with so many helpful items. The location was good being both 1 minute from the beach and the bus. We were grateful for the welcome pack after a long journey, very helpful, thank you.
All staff from the office to the security personnel, taxi service and housekeeping were extremely friendly and helpful. We went on 2 lovely trips out organised by the management to a cocktail party and an evening at Oistens Fish Market.
We found everyone on the island genuinely friendly and happy to help, Barbados offered so much more for a holiday then we had anticipated. There are wonderful places to visit. Staying in an all inclusive hotel may have meant we missed out on many experiences so the apartments suited us very well indeed.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea ask for a room above ground floor. Ours was excellent, we could not se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Allie625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 783 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

My family arrived home after a great week at Beach View. The staff is wonderful!!!! We could not have asked for better. They are there to help you every step of the way. The reception staff arranged a dinner at a great resturant for the birthday of my neice and arranged all of our tours with great hospitality. . The hotel is clean, well kept and roomy. We had complimentary food for our arrival that was apprecialted. I loved that it was quiet and peaceful. We had a layover in Barbados and was put up in an all inclusive resort. I was a bad experience in that it was not clean and the staff was very rude which made us grateful that we booked here. Thanks to all of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were at Beach View in April/May 2012. It was a really fantastic place. The suites are extremely highly furnished and very clean. The kitchens are well equipped with dishwashers, washer/dryers etc. The lounges and bedrooms are lovely. We had rented two one bedroom suites but they are all two or three bedrooms and they lock the additional bedrooms, so there is loads of living space. Robin, Carrie and all of the office, security and housekeeping staff are very friendly, professional and really helpful. Robin was waiting for us on arrival to show us to our suite and was there to say goodbye when we left. We were invited to his lovely home for cocktails and taken there by taxi. It was such a nice gesture and testament to how they go the extra mile to do everything they can to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The Monday night barbeque was useful for us as we had just arrived and the food - especially the mac pie - was great. There are so many places to eat in Barbados that you would really miss out by going all inclusive and we felt this was going to be the perfect hotel for us, and we weren't disappointed at all. We hadn't planned to eat in or have takeaways at all but we did a few times as the terrace setting over the pool and looking out to sea was just so lovely. The beach opposite isn't great but it's fine and you can borrow chairs from the office. Or you can walk just a short distance and rent beds. The catamarans stop at Paynes Bay to see the turtles so if you want to borrow snorkelling equipment you'll see them easily here. We rented a car for a few days but it isn't really necessary as the reggae buses stop right outside which are an experience in themselves if you're not too worried about your personal space. One tip though, everyone tries to sell you organised trips to Oistins fish fry on a Friday evening. We were offered a private taxi for $15USD each, but the four of us went on the bus very easily for $2 Bajan and it's very easy to get back. Beach View was one of the best places we have ever stayed in. It was a lovely, comfortable base close to Holetown and Bridgetown and we got around easily from there and had loads of lovely meals and trips. I hope we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Go for top floor middle block. It's the furthest away from the road and you'll get good sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sueinspain_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We recently spent10 days at Beach View. This was our third trip to Barbados and our first time here.
This is a wonderfully-run property. Our third floor apartment was kept immaculate by the house-keeping staff and our every wish was granted by Carrie, in the office. She is an amazing communicator and clearly loves her job.
Our highlight at this property was the Thursday night cocktail party at the Allcott home. It was a rare treat to be invited to someone's home while on holiday. We felt more like friends, rather than guests.
This is a smallish property with two small pools located beside each other. Our only issue during this trip was the noise at the pool. There were a lot of children there that week, as it was the Easter Break in the U.K. schools.The constant screaming and yelling was not conducive to a quiet time for those of us who wanted to chill and read.
We ate at several excellent restaurants in Barbados,most notably, Cin Cin, The Coral Reef, Cariba ,The Mews and Daphnes.,
Only Daphnes disappointed,while Cin Cin provided an unforgettable evening (both food and setting).
We would return to this lovely property at a time which was not a school holiday.

Room Tip: the third floor provides the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katherineincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

So many reviews saying the same thing it's hard to add so I shall summarise our trip.
Arrival: Greeted by the lovely Carrie who seemed so genuinely proud of her dad's (Robin) development, we instantly felt valued guests.
Room: We were taken on a tour of the grounds by Robin and then on to our room, spacious, immaculately clean, beatuful view. Great quality furnishings with every detailed considered, even down to the furniture on the HUGE balcony. The kitchen was complete, no "kitchenette" here. This was a fully equipped modern spotlessly clean one, it even had a blender.smoothie maker.
Grounds: Lovely, well maintained gardens and clean pools, with loads of sun loungers and parasols, beware though, the parasols provide only limited shade and you WILL burn, like I did in one hour on our first day - doh!
Location: Short few steps across the road (which is no problem at all) to a lovely stroll on the great beaches. Fish market yards away with fresh fish caught and sold daily. Bus stops both directions outside the grounds with frequent services ( we never waited more than 5 mins). Minutes by bus or car to Holetown (try Relish for lunch - great or buy in from Posh Nosh at Holetown fro great food without the prep). I would have awarded five stars for location if it had been directly on the beach and feel a bit mean knocking a star off but I'm being honest.
Staff: Everyone incredibly polite and friendly and willing to help with advice on where to go and what to do, from the adorable Oliver on security gate (he's a wise guy!), Carrie and Natalie and the guys on reception, to the lovely ladies in housekeeping.
Beach View is just excellent value, we'd return without hesitation and plan to do so as soon as we can.
Tips: I can't imagine there is a bad room or bad view in the whole place, we stayed in 305 which is top floor in one of the two middle blocks, our block was called Sea Grape. Beware the limited protection from the parasols. The Roti Den a few yards down the road is great for a quick snack. Don't buy Lays crisps from the Esso station, we paid almost £5 (approx US$8, BDS$16 for a large bag - ridiculous). The Orange Street Grocer in Speightstown is worth the bus trip for lunch in lovely surroundings, it's only 2 dollars on the bus although sadly Speightstown has little to offer otherwise. Some people say Jordans supermarket is cheaper than SuperCentre but I guess it depends what you buy, I didn't find any difference to speak of but Jordans is nearer to Beach View, about one minute on the bus but a hot walk so I wouldn't walk!!

Room Tip: HIgh floors (2nd or 3rd) in any block will give great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TicandToc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
12.1 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
341 reviews
0.2 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
625 reviews
13.0 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
778 reviews
9.4 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,742 reviews
0.5 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: ₹ 11,530 - ₹ 29,835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing