We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience St. John's Church
from US$ 80.00
More Info
from US$ 48.00
More Info
from US$ 85.00
More Info
from US$ 80.00
More Info
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
55
46
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
46
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prime minister the east coast island tour great stop carved pulpit great history resting place vantage point david thompson buried here feet above sea level views are amazing worth the trip well worth the visit cruise ship yard grave
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This was incredible. I have never seen a church like this. It looks like an album cover from the outside, but inside it is a full functioning church. The grave yard was also really cool to see. Worth the trip, you will be blown away!

Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Visited this church as part of a trip . There was a man outside selling poetry books that he wrote . He read some of his work it was clever and very funny , my daughter bought a book to keep which he signed for her .

Thank maggiemaggie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Glad we ventured here. We only stayed 1/2 hour or so, but that is all you need. Amazing views of the rugged east coast of the island and the Atlantic. Wander through the old church and gardens and listen to the owls cooing. A must for Barbados sightseeing.

1  Thank nicolesF7369BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely old church located on a hill affording great views of surrounding countryside and the sea. Not as lavish inside as other churches but the attraction is its simple but atmospheric design. Walking around the graveyard provides great scenery and moments to relax away from the town crowds.

Thank DaveBAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

This was one of the stops on our island tour with our cruise ship.The church was open so we got to go in and see the pipe organ and beautiful alter but the most interesting part was the grave yard in the back of the church with all the old Graves and tombstones.

Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stopped here while driving around the Island. Well worth a visit both for the views & the Church itself. A walk around the graveyard is also well worth doing

Thank VegasJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Visited here early morning, there was no service going on so we were able to look inside the church and see it's beauty.

There was fresh flower arrangements near the doorways which were gorgeous.

The building itself is gorgeous and the view surrounding it is amazing.

It is worth having a look round the grave yard (with respect) some of the deceased are very interesting people. There is an old fashion sun dial near the top too.

Thank Sherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We stopped here as part of Teds Tour. There are nice views, and the grave of a prime minister if that interests you. We didn’t go inside the church as there was a crowd attending a funeral. The mourners didn’t seem to mind a tour bus pulling up, and we were assured that they were used to this. We were accosted by a strange local man that wanted us to take a photo of him standing on the prime ministers grave, and then as we walked back past the entrance were greeted with the open coffin of the deceased. I wouldn’t rate this as a great experience

Thank essexdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

St Johns Parish Church must have one of the best views in the Caribbean. Situated on top of Hackleton's cliff rising to over 400 feet above sea level. The Church commands beautiful views of the rugged east coast. The view alone is worth a visit.
Believed to be one of the oldest churches in Barbados. First built of wood in 1645 and later destroyed by fire. At least another three churches have been built on the original site, and over the years all have been destroyed by hurricanes. Today's coral stone church built in 1838, is built of sturdy stuff and should withstand all weathers. Inside, the carved pulpit has six different types of wood, its creation truly a work of art. Stain glass windows are another feature of this Gothic church.

The graveyard has some very old tombs. At the back of the church is the resting place of the islands former Prime Minster, The hon David Thompson.

St John's is open daily from 06.00 hrs to 18.00 hrs. There is a small dingy gift shop and a few street vendors. 30 minutes drive from Bridgetown. I can't be certain but I don't think there are any toilets on site.
Peter m

Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Listed as the first Church in Saint John this historical landmark has one of best views of the coast line and views of the parish. It is also the final resting place of the country 6th prime minister David Thompson who was the 3rd sitting PM of Barbados to die in office.

Thank Jamel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews