We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel without the 5 star price tag”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
LOUGHBOROUGH
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel without the 5 star price tag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our seventh visit to barbados but our first to the Island Inn, probably not the last as this is a real treasure. Tucked away on the edge of the historic Garrison District, it's advertised as 'not on the beach', but this is deceptive, as a left turn out of the front door leaves you 100 yards from one of Barbados' most beatiful beaches - Pebbles Beach. I have been further from the beach in several 'beach front' hotels! A charming feature is that racehorses from the nearby garrison Savannah racecourse are brought down to swim off this beach at dawn every day. The hotel itself has only 24 rooms, but masses of public areas, so that you feel almost as if you're at a private house party. The staff are genuinely friendly as you come to expect on Barbados, and while the menu is short, the food is invariably well-cooked and well presented.

Room Tip: Basic garden rooms are quieter than the courtyard rooms, poolside rooms can have other people sunbat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MadMacStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    155
    59
    18
    12
See reviews for
56
356
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our 3rd visit to Barbados, having previously stayed at Mango Bay & Sea Breeze. The hotel is really lovely, very small, quiet and quaint. Lovley rooms, very clean, spacious and modern. Nice pool area which was always quiet when we were there, no shade though, could have done with some umbrellas. Nice friendly staff. As it is a small hotel it was easy to mix with the other guests so it is a nice sociable hotel. The food was good at breakfast but could have done with more variation, lunch was very good, buffet twice a week and selected from a menu the other days. Dinner was OK, small portions, a few odd combinations and often not hot enough, twice weekly buffet/bar-b-q was good. Would happily return, in fact most of the guests when we were there had been to the hotel lots of times before which speaks volumes. Offers very good value for money which can be hard to find in Barbados.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CLThom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Small but lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean rooms, really good food, not a huge choice due to being a small hotel, but always something nice to choose and cooked perfectly.
Not a beachfront hotel, but there is a nice beach about 1 minutes walk away.
Lovely staff, but if there was one thing that was missing it was atmosphere. This could have been because it wasn't a busy time of year, but I usually find that the staff at hotels in the caribbean normally add to the holiday atmosphere.

Room Tip: All on ground floor, but the poolside ones are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Visited for 10 days in April. The hotel has had a refurb since we last visited. So the rooms were perfect, a nice job had been done on them. Boutique style rooms with excellent quiet a/c. Plenty of room for 2 people.

The Manager, reception and bar staff (when you can find them) are very nice but the waiting on staff are surly to say the least and could do with some customer service training especially the staff who serve in the evenings.

The food in general was good but I do remember it being better some 4 years ago. We ordered packed lunches but they were pretty poor. Ice cubes were packed into the cool bag which would of course melt and make the sandwiches all wet and soggy. There was only ever 2 drinks per person in the bag and 2 soggy sandwiches, no fruit or biscuits that were supposed to be in there. The catering staff should perhaps invest in some proper ice packs.

The hotel is right next to a secluded beach and its a shame that the owners dont have some sunbeds and umbrellas there. The pool in the hotel is tiny and there is no protection from the sun at all, ie no umbrellas, however all of the outdoor furniture is of a good quality.

The Managers cocktail party is a good laugh and the first one we had nearly all of the hotel guests went down to the gap to follow on the party. The evening is a good way to get to know everyone at this small intimate hotel.

Its in a great convenient location. We hired a car and were out every day round the Island. It was reggae festival time when we were there and we had a great time at all the events we went to. Great time to visit the Island. Weather was perfect every day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngelWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Island Inn 
We stayed at I. I. for two weeks in May, a lucky turn of happenstance as our original self catering hotel had closed and Virgin moved us to this all inclusive on the edge of Bridgetown. At first we were a little apprehensive as we were bringing my wife's 84 year old father, "Dad's" as he became known and as he needs a wheelchair we were unsure of the facilities. We could not have landed on our feet any better than to end up at I.I. Our rooms were spacious and air conditioned with a wet room shower, and a large flat screen satellite TV, I believe the premium rooms have a bath and a terrace as well. 
All inclusive was perfect for Dad's as he loves a freebie and he made full use of the facilities, three courses for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff were brilliant in the way that they kept an eye out for him, nicknamed him Dad's and generally ensured he had a perfect holiday. He was pretty much waited on by the staff who were caring and affectionate, so much so that if we went out for an evening we could be sure that they would keep an eye on him to the point that the bar staff, Earl, Ulrich and Michael would walk him to his room after his one rum punch each night, if we were not around, and ensure he had a jug of water for his tablets. The staff were great and I could not fault any of the team, they put on two weddings whilst we were there (Dad's went to both!) and were always courteous and helpful.
The bar was small but had the usual drinks and the ubiquitous 'Banks' beer sold throughout the Isle. The food was fine if not always to my taste and there was lots of it, buffet style for breakfast and sometimes lunch and you were asked to wear long trousers and a sleeved shirt for the three course dinners. If you asked the night before they would even make you up a packed lunch for the following day if you were off to the beach or sightseeing. 
A couple of tips are that if you go to the beach in the morning about 6am you might be lucky and see the local jockeys bathing the racehorses, also use the 'Cuz' cutters bar on Carlisle bay near the hotel for the best flying fish cutters (Bajun bread rolls with fish, salad and HOT sauce).
Although the hotel is small it was perfect for taking our returnee father in law and was a pleasure to stay and thanks to all the staff the best holiday of our lives.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phatbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.5 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
0.9 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.7 km away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
19.8 km away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,712 - ₹ 29,361
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing