We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible ocean front value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible ocean front value”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Coco Reef is a charming, small, quiet beach front hotel on an island where 'beach front' is rare...many of the beach access hotels are across the street from the beach or nearby. This is a quiet small-ish hotel. Not the place to come if you are looking for entertainment or crowds. We had a beach front room which was exactly as promised; directly on the beach with a perfect view of the turquoise water and pink sands. The walk from our room to the beach (at our slow vacation pace) was 2 minutes. The hotel has breakfast (pricey and merely so so- suggest walking to the market 5 minutes away and picking up some morning essentials to keep in the room fridge)...and also offers an upscale lunch and dinner. Both were excellent, but pricey (as is much of Bermuda).

Directly next store to the hotel is the Elbow Beach Resort, which has some fun restaurants...one right on the beach, which we found perfect for lunch and one steps above the beach offering tapas and sushi, which we found fun for late night lighter dinners. The Elbow Beach hotel also has rentals for snorkels (as does Coco Reef) and other beach toys, which are available to rent even for non-guests.

Coco Reef, unlike Elbow Beach, is NOT a full-service resort. For example, there are plenty of beach lounges and umbrellas on the beach, but be prepared to use the provided shovel to dig a hole and set up your own umbrella. At Elbow Beach they do this for you and provide fresh towels throughout the day -- at Coco Reef you must go to the front desk for towels. There is also no drink or food service at the beach (there is next door; in fact, we were often visited on the beach by the Elbow Beach waitstaff asking if we wanted to order a drink -- nice). So I write this so that there is no surprise for those of you seeking that sort of service -- but it comes with a HEFTY price tag. My room at Coco Reef - ocean front and steps from the water was $349 (plus service charges, etc.) whereas a similar room (ocean front) next door at the same time was $832 (plus service charges, etc.). That's alot to pay for someone to bring you fresh towels and set up your umbrella!
There is also no workout room or center, no spa and no room service. We knew this going in and made our choice with this in mind as the price was much too good to pass up.

At Coco Reef -- for the price, you get the best of both worlds. The calm and quiet of a small resort with the availability of some of the ease of the full-service resort right next door.

Finally - the rooms were spacious and clean. Housekeeping did an excellent job keeping everything fresh in the damp humidity. Ken (the GM) was charming and greeted us daily.
I agree with previous writers - skip the motor bike rentals (remember Bermuda drives on the LEFT - and the roads are narrow with many turns. Taxis are in abundance and the bus system is incredibly easy to navigate, though they stop running at about 9:00 pm so we often took taxis' back from dinner in Hamilton (only about $10).

All in all this was a perfect place to stay on probably the most beautiful beach in Bermuda (and we did check out others). I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want to really get the full-on ocean front experience, ask for a second floor room (there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda.

Thank you very much for your kind comments, and extremely comprehensive review of your vacation with us here on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

We are all delighted that enjoyed your time with us, and also found Coco Reef to be excellent value for a beach front resort, compared to many others on the island.

It is also very gratifying that you truly appreciated us for what we really are - a quiet, relaxing hotel located on one of the best beaches anywhere in the world.

Thank you also for your recommendation, and we sincerely hope that you visit us again one day at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    337
    100
    41
    27
See reviews for
128
473
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our second trip to Coco Reef (August 12 - 19). Last year we celebrated our 28th anniversary here at Coco Reef, and we were so impressed that we decided to celebrate our 29th anniversary at this lovely resort on Elbow Beach. As soon as we arrived, we were told that our room was ready and Steve transported us and our luggage with his golf cart. Steve is always extremely helpful, friendly and very hard working. The view from our room was amazing, and only steps from the beautiful beach! The beach is secluded and located at the end of Elbow Beach. The water is clear, blue and warm.

The next morning at breakfast, we were greeted by Ken Watson, the Manager, who does a great job managing the resort. He always goes out of his way to make sure that his guests are enjoying their stay (Hi Ken and thank you from Tom and Marianne!).

We had several delicious meals at Cafe Coco, including breakfast and dinner. Mavis, our server, did an amazing job. There is also a small refrigerator in each room, and a supermarket a short walk from the hotel, so you can stock up on snacks, beverages, etc. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job, and our room was always spotless. The bed was extremely comfortable and there were always plenty of clean towels in the bathrom.

Every evening before dinner we would stop at the bar for drinks and fascinating conversation with Darnell, the bartender. He gave us very interesting information on the history of Bermuda. A couple of evenings we went into Hamilton. Vladimir at the front desk called for a taxi for the short ten minute ride into town.

We were very pleased with our stay at Coco Reef. If you are seeking a small, intimate, truly beachfront resort, then this is the place for you. We will definitely return to this hidden gem on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarTom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Tom and Marianne.

Hello from all your friends at Coco Reef Bermuda and thank you so much for your wonderful comments, it really is most appreciated.

I would especially like to thank you personally for mentioning so many of my team by name, as they all deserve full credit for all the hard work that they do to make our guests so happy.

I am delighted that you had another fantastic vacation here with us at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort" and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 30th anniversary next year.

Steve (my right hand man) is here with me, and he asked me to say Hi...

Fondest Regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Coco Reef is perfectly situated on a peaceful, private beach.

Staff members are friendly and efficient. Rooms basic but clean and with truly beautiful views of the beach.

Restaurant food is good, though lunch, dinner times are somewhat restrictive. The restaurant will provide food for you to take back to your room (there is no room service) and there is a market a short distance away if you would like to purchase provisions.

There is wifi in the lobby but not in the rooms..occasionally you pick up a signal.

Should I return to Bermuda I would most certainly stay at Coco Reef again.

Room Tip: I chose a beach front room which had beautiful views but you might want to choose a first floor beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSXfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review, and we greatly appreciate that you mention you would stay with us again when you next visit Bermuda. This is the best comment that we can ever receive.

We really liked your photos also, which are a true depiction of what Coco Reef is really like. It was very kind of you to post them.

I look forward to seeing you again one day at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2012

If you are looking for a quiet, romantic setting RIGHT smack on the beach, this is the place for you. The ocean front rooms are the nicest location on the island. The beach is beautiful and the water is amazing. I walked next door to the "signific
antly more expensive" hotel to see how it compared and I much preferred Coco Reef.

The staff of this hotel go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and insure that you have what you need.

Thanks to Ken, Nate and the rest of the staff who made our stay memorable.

P.S. Stay away from the scooter rentals. Learned too late that accidents are the norm!! The bus system is great and right at the end of the lane. Taxi to Hamilton is $10.00 and then hop on the Ferry.

Room Tip: 1st Floor in Ocean Front building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Greetings from all everyone here at Coco Reef Bermuda.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are delighted that you really enjoyed your time with us on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

We hope that you have recovered from your scooter mis-hap, and we look forward to seeing you again one day at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We are spent 5 days at Coco Reef(CR) , our first visit to Bermuda. Our impression is very positive.

In our opinion, this resort is good for people looking for a relaxing vacation, especially if a swimmable beach is your priority. In our opinion, this resort is not so good for you if you are looking for a nightly entertainment/ nightlife / party vacation ( consider a place in Hamilton instead) .

Getting there : The resort is ~ 25 min by taxi from small, very friendly and fast Bermuda airport. There is no wait for taxi ( $35) , so don’t bother to pre-arrange the ride.

Resort itself : CR consists of two rows of two- store buildings. The beachfront row is slightly closer to the beach, but father from the front desk ( = your daily beach towels) and restaurant , very small difference. All the rooms have wonderful non-obstructed ocean views (ask for 2nd floor if it’s your priority). The interior is very elegant and classy and the resort grounds are wonderfully landscaped. CR is next door to older, larger farther-from-the –beach and ( at the time of our booking) more expensive Elbow Beach Resort (EBR) ; we can see no advantage to prefer it to CR.

Room: Elegant, clean, and cheerful. It has hair dryer, safe, small refrigerator( no freezer) , coffee machine and nice balcony (so we had our morning coffee without leaving the room). Beds are good, pillows are , OK, rather basic, you might bring your own if you are particular about them.

Sea: The beach is 2 min walk downhill from the rooms. It is beautiful, with fine white-pink sand, clean and well maintained, a few normal Sargasso seaweeds. The sea is great, perfectly swimmable, warm (77F, measured) with small waves . With exception of several large round coral rocks the bottom is sandy . Snorkeling around these rocks will and (better) around the closest parts of shore barrier reefs will show you lot of common reef fish. They are easier to access in front of EBR’s restaurant and during the lower tide. No need for reef shoes unless for snorkeling around the reefs. CR also has a terrace pool; pool and the beach are not lifeguarded.

Guests : Mixed crowd, from families with young children to couples and retirees. Not too many teenagers or college age students. CR and EBR appeared half-empty during our stay and certainly very quiet and peaceful.

Food. Resort has a restaurants , rather good but , as everywhere on the island where everything is imported somewhat expensive. Your breakfast (not included) will cost $15-20 , lunch for two with drinks $70 and dinner $90-120 average ( tips are included in all prices here!) . There is also a very convenient beachside café belonging to EBR a few steps away.

Staff: without exception, very friendly, helpful and pleasant to deal with.

Weather : Rather hot in August (mostly because of humidity) , nice on the beach but doesn’t make you enthusiastic for hikes or walking island tours. Few sun-showers , take an umbrella ( provided by resort) if you go out. In general, a good beach weather. No mosquitoes , sea urchins or jellyfish to report.

Entertainment on site: light live music on the terrace some evenings, and a BBQ party once a week . That’s all, I believe.

Thing to do around: Bermuda has a lot of natural and historical attractions for a relatively small country. CR isn’t exactly close to any of them, but it’s place in the middle of the island makes access easier. We went to the main city, Hamilton ( rather what you’d expect from a cruise port), smaller town of St. George ( peaceful, enchanting, beautiful), took a public ferry between them ( great views of the island), and visited Gibbs lighthouse. On the way back home consider leaving hotel ~2 hrs earlier and stopping by Crystal / Fantasy Caves only couple miles before airport. They’ll store your luggage for you for the tour ( plan up to 2 hrs if you go to both caves). An amazing experience.

Practical matters : The taxis on the island are somewhat expensive, but abundant, honest, friendly and informative. Alternatively you can get around by famous public buses ( the bus stop is ~ 7-8 min walk from CRR). Buses are much cheaper ( $20 for a book of 15 tickets at CR front desk) and dependable, but come once every 30 min on the resort’s line and frequently you’d need connection, hence much slower way to travel around the island. For a party of 3 or 4, especially elderly, taxi may be more cost-effective transport. Despite short distances, walking or bicycling around are not much fun in hot weather.
Next to the bus stop there is a small grocery store, we bought our breakfasts, water etc there.

Useful things to bring with you: 1) Good walking shoes. 2) Light sweater and/or rain jacket . 3) Water bottles/thermos to take water to the beach. 4) A few nice dressy clothes, dresses, collar shirts and long pants for men, expected in many restaurants. Some posh places are rumored to require jackets and ties – don’t bother with those; I wouldn’t put them on in Bermuda’s weather if they paid me.

No need to bring with you : 1) Maps ( Bermuda has excellent free maps available everywhere 2) Beach towels – resort provides unlimited 3) Bermuda’ dollars are 1:1 interchangeable with USDs, and accepted and given as change everywhere, so no need to change the money at all.

Room Tip: CR consists of two rows of two- store buildings. The beachfront row is slightly closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank B_2NewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderfully comprehensive review, and we are so glad that you selected Coco Reef for your first visit to the Beautiful island of Bermuda.

It is most appreciated that you took the time to mention accurately everything that we have to offer, both here at Coco Reef and throughout the island.

I am sure that future visitors to Bermuda will also appreciate the excellent advice that you have shared with the world, and hope that they also choose Coco Reef...

We sincerely hope that you return to visit us again at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paget Parish
1.5 km away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
786 reviews
2.5 km away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
511 reviews
2.8 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,681 reviews
10.4 km away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,422 reviews
9.6 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Property: Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,267 - ₹ 36,728
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing