We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base on paradise island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Codrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Tree Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Codrington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We had a recently refurbished twin room with cooking equipment, which was one of about 10 appartments forming Palm Tree Guest House. Booking was done over the phone with the owner Cerene, which is a bit less convenient that booking over the internet.
We arrived by ferry and Cerene arranged for a taxi to meet us. Our appartment was at the front and had a nice area to sit out in the evenings. Room was spacious with a new double bed and huge cooker (also brand new). Efficient aircon and cable TV also in the room. Unfortunately there was only one key (which we kept) so appartment couldn't be cleaned whilst we were out. However we left out bed linen and towels when dirty, which were promptly cleaned and returned.
Appartment is on the outskirts of Codrington 'the Village', just south of the airport - however no issues with noise as usually only one flight a day!. It takes 10 minutes to walk in to the Village and less than this if you hire bikes (which we did).
Limited places to eat out locally, but for breakfast would recommend making a trip to the excellent bakery (also run by Cerene) from where you can buy freshly made filled rolls for breakfast (She can also arrange to deliver breakfast to the appartment if required). We usually took a packed lunch and plently to drink to one of the many deserted white or pink sand beaches. In the evening we either used the cooker or got a takeaway curry or roti from Grace (who can usually be found during the day selling snacks outside the school on the way to the lagoon).
Barbuda is not geared up for tourism (unless you are prepared to pay thousands of dollars in one of the two luxury resorts). Stores are rarely marked as such and fresh fruit and vegetables are only available a couple of times a week, but Barbuda is a very small friendly community where you will be made welcome if you treat the locals with the politeness and respect they deserve.
Don't be too dismayed by groups of wild donkeys and other animals who wander everywhere around the island including what might be described elsewhere as the capital's High Street!
Would also recommend that one day is spent on the lagoon to see the frigate bird nests and swim on the pink sand beach the far side of the lagoon (not totally for the exclusive use of guests of the Lighthouse Hotel!). Recommend using the boatman 'Goldilocks' who can often be found in the bakery for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Philmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed at the Palm Tree Guest House from January 28, 2011 to February 4, 2011 and were very happy with the accommodations. The service was impeccable: fresh breakfast in the mornings with fresh, still warm baked bread from the local bakery (you have to ask to receive it and is not included in the price but only costs a few dollars US).

This guest house is on the outskirts of Codrington - about a 10 minute walk to town (Barbuda is a small island so the word outsirts is very relative). A little far from the beaches (abt 8km), but the only hotels that are close to the beaches charge over $1,000.00 per night so the choice is obvious.

It is certainly not a 5 star resort, but it is a small, clean, well maintained and well looked after family owned guest house with about 10 rooms in total and very warm and welcoming owners. All rooms are air conditioned and the air conditioning works well. There is running water and the guest house has a back-up water system so we never had any issues with water. There is also Satellite TV and WiFi internet. There was a kettle and mini-fridge in the room with some mugs and cutlery so we were able to have hot coffee every morning.

There are bicycle, scooter and car rental on the island, just ask someone for directions or a taxi. All of our questions were asked by the woman owner when we were there and she made our stay very enjoyable and fun.

The island itself is a little corner of paradise on Earth! The miles of unspoiled, virgin beaches, the friendly locals, the fantastic food, great excursions, etc.

There are no Bank Machines on the island so bring money with you (US is the only currency accepted besides the local EC dollars) Best thing to do is to exchange your US to EC as soon as you can. There is a bank in Codrington that can do this. The exchange rate is 2.7 EC = 1 US

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul_Crl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I was there with my girlfriend and was something incredible.The woman owner of guest house wanted immediatly money for pay room after 10 minutes that we arriwed in Barbuda and this was only the begin...She didnt tell us that in sunday was all closed so we was without food all day.She didnt come for 2 days for see if was died or alive or for ask if need something.Room was more or less clean a part one condom under the bed and one big animal (10cm) died under table,shower was more or less broke so we couldnt wash normal for 4 days.One day before that we go away she come in flat and suggest us one excursion with boat for 50 US but day after man with boat asked us 120 US for excursion of 4 hours ! ! !She always told us be careful,be careful to go in Antigua for a lot crime but the person that you have to be careful in Barbuda is SHE.When we went away she didnt come for great us so we had to lived keys in airport.INCREDIBLE!!!We Ican only tell that island is very nice and beach are fantastic white and pink sand without people for km and also when you will be on Barbuda go eat in UNCLE RODDY,he is very kind person and he cook excelent lobster and king fish in a little bar directly on the beach. For people that look for some guest house in the island is possible find something more more better!
Sconsigliatissimo, non male come posizione ma stanza poco pulita con preservativo sotto al letto, e animali morti, la padrona di casa interessata solo a far pagare il piu possibile ai turisti, poco cortese, modi arroganti e da capetto con noi e i suoi stessi concittadini, decisamente da evitare , il trattamento ricevuto e quello del cercare di spillare piu soldi possibile.... ATTENZIONE .. Sull isola ci sono altre guesthouse con buoni prezzi e a quanto saputo con ottime sistemazioni..Per chi va andra sull isola una menzione per UNCLE RODDY ristorante e bar sulla spiaggia (coral group beach) gestito da una persona davvero gentile disponibile, dove potete mangiare ottimo pesce fresco ,aragosta per pochi dollari .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank omargubernati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

I gave this a Neutral rating so you know it's nothing fancy,and might not be for you, but read on...

In Barbuda, your choice is between an expensive resort, isolated from the rest of the island, or one of the little locally owned guest houses in town, some distance from the beaches. We chose the latter and loved it. This is a modest but very pleasant guest house on the outskirts of Codrington. When we weren't visiting empty beaches, we could wander the village or sit on the veranda and watch goats go by. It lacked hot water but the owner, Mrs. Deazle, was wonderful. It's a little way out of town, but we could order dinner, delivered from her restaurant.

When you call to make your reservation, ask her about car rental and maybe a tour guide for the first day. Bring a flashlight, and maybe an imersion coil to heat water for coffee and tea. There were refrigerators in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RogerR-Phila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Palm Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Guest House

Address: Codrington Village, Codrington, Barbuda
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Barbuda > Codrington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Codrington
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable living in beautiful Codrington, Barbuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Guest House Barbuda/Codrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing