We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved, Family Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

As an owner, we have been traveling to the Surf Club during Spring Break week (week before Easter) since 2004. Many of the issues raised by others relative to the availability of pool chairs and palapas remain. But what a difference a few years have made. Yes, if you want a "prime" (pool side or direct ocean water view) seat you have to be an early bird during prime weeks like this one. Gone, however, are the days of finding no chairs and fights (literally!). The addition of the adult-only pool, more pool chairs and umbrellas, additional palapas and bimini chairs on the beach have made a world of difference. By mid-week the resort was at 100% occupancy, but you would not have guessed it.

The lazy river pool is a primary draw. Kids love it. So do adults. The kids also love the play ground and the activities. As noted by others, the staff works hard. We have never seen so many people working to keep the place clean. If like one of our party, you are up early, you will see folks scrubbing and washing, and sweeping. Security is also evident with many friendly workers.

Speaking with the Operation’s Manager, there are more improvements to come, including ongoing upgrades to room amenities.

Additional improvement is needed with peak check-in times. Perhaps, an all-hands-on-deck approach (have more front office staff work check-in) would help.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TS26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,773)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,873 - 1,877 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have traded my week at my home location to come to The Surf Club for the past 5 years without one regret. This year was just as nice as years past. I noticed security presence seemed to be greater than I've ever noticed. Thankfully, they were friendly and helpful. Once again the jockeying for seating at the pool and beach was annoying at best with people securing "their spots" as early as 4:30 A.M. Check in was the best ever, with little to no wait. Housekeeping was attentive and very quick to respond. The rooms were relatively clean yet we had a terrible infestation of ants (?) in our living room. I think it's time for the hotel to order new towels for the room, as ours were quite thin. Overall, it was a lovely vacation

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lleno22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am at the Surf Club right now, staying in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath villa. Aruba is fantastic and this hotel does not disappoint! The grounds are extremely well kept and the staff is friendly and helpful. As for dining on-site, I would definitely recommend going to Simply Fish for a sunset dinner (best meal we have had so far and the view can't be beat!) and the Captain's Galley for lunch (the fish tacos are delicious and the portions are huge!). Although not all restaurants have a printed children's menu, almost all have child-size dishes for cheaper than adult portions...just ask

Helpful hints...

Make sure to bring plenty of sunscreen and snacks because it is extremely expensive to buy here! Sunscreen in the hotel lobby ranged from $11 to $26 a bottle!

Do not bother to bring tubes for the lazy river unless you need something special...they sell them at the beachfront shop for (surprisingly) cheap...only $8 for the sames one I bought at Target at home for $6. I also heard from other guests that departing guests frequently give theirs away on the last day of their trip.

Figure out the chair/palapa tagging thing early...if you don't, you will not get a good spot at the beach or pool.

If you like spas, try out the Coffee scrub and 50 minute massage at the Mandara Spa...heaven!

All in all, the Surf Club is a really great place to take children for vacation, but if it were just the hubby and I, I would probably go elsewhere...the pools are extremely loud and there are kids everywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cassie3375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Grounds are nice enough and clean. Adult pool area is the best area to hang out in during the day if you want to relax away from the ocean. Rooms are very nice and their maintenance is done well. Housekeeping is attentive. The gym is decent if you just need a treadmill...there are some free weights and a couple of basic machines for lifting.

Food is pretty good, but definitely not great.

Service is hit and miss. In most Marriott hotels we've stayed at, every worker we've ever dealt with was knowledgeable, professional, great communication skills, etc. We're not sure why some were absolutely excellent and others couldn't tell you were the nearest bathroom was or barely understand what you are asking for. Those ruin it for the others who do provide excellent service.

We had 4 services done at the spa. Three out of four were horrible, and like the service experience, the fourth service/treatment was wonderful. First, absolutely difficult to communicate with their staff. They barely spoke any English, nor understood. Facial, manicure, and pedicure were way below average. I don't think the woman doin my facial knew what the hell she was doing. The Manu and pedi were so bad that my 3 year old could have done a better job. However, the massage with Pedro was awesome. I was able to tell him which areas I needed help with and he took care of them. He was informative and responded to whatever questions or concerns I had.

We would not come back to this place if/when we come back to this island.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in a 1br villa with full kitchen, washer/dryer, and balcony. Our view was not that great (looked over some trees and to the adjacent timeshare property) but then again I did not pay the upcharge for an ocean-view. We were there the last week in March so many spring break families at the resort. The pool areas are very large so did not feel too crowded and the lazy river feature was a nice plus. Several restaurants on property but all very expensive. When we arrived me and my wife and two teen-agers were pretty hungry so we first looked at the Simply Fish restaurant on the beach of the Marriott Hotel property. Entries were like $35 and up and my kids were not feelin' the menu, so we went to Champions which is inside Marriott Ocean Club next door. We had two burgers, two fishsandwiches, couple of soft-drinks, and two beers...total before tip was $106 (OUCH!). The next day we went to Kung Fui supermarket a couple of miles aways so we could do a few meals in the villa. The resort had activities every day (pool volleyball, beach volleyball, bingo, face-painting, hair-braiding, etc.). Overall, its a great property for families. Unless your you want to simply spend all day lounging by the pool or beach, I recommend renting a car to explore the island (about $45 dollars a day incl insurance).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,205 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,037 reviews
0.3 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
697 reviews
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,531 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: ₹ 20,339 - ₹ 46,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing