We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
White Hall, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and stayed at the Riu from April 17-22 and had a great time. We have been many AI’s resorts in the Caribbean but this was our first trip to Aruba. The first thing I was not so sure about was the constant “trade winds”. At times it did get quote windy and not your drink over and always blew your towel right off the pool lounger. I highly recommend bringing those beach towel clips.

The Room was spacious, clean, and nice. Yes the beds are hard and by the time we left my back was hurting. They stocked our fridge daily with beer, soda, and very large bottles of water.

As with most resorts you have to get up early to get a pool lounger, especially at this resort because it seemed like they did not have enough loungers for all the guests. The pool has tiles missing, paint peeling, and it was a little chilly for us. Waitresses came around often and asked if you needed a drink. We brought our insulated mugs for our drinks and they had no problem filling them.

The beach is nice but the water was not clear like other places we have been too. I had heard something about recent rough waters so maybe that is why and it will clear up, though it never did during our stay.

We both thought the food was very good. It definitely seemed more American than most places that we have been to. We tried the Steak and Italian restaurants and both were excellent. The buffet always had fresh fruit and a nice variety.
We rented a Rhino (2 passenger side by side) from George’s ATV’s and drove around the entire island which was great. The only bad part is that the gas pedal only goes down so far because they have a bolt preventing it from going down the whole way. Everybody is passing you on the road or you are holding up traffic because you can’t go any faster. We also went to De Palm Island for the day, which was a complete waste of money. There is really not that much to do there that we could not do at the beach. The “water park” is small and the water is freezing.

Overall we had a great time in Aruba and would return to the Riu!

Room Tip: Bring beach towel clips so your towel will stay on your pool lounger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,919
    1,805
    727
    337
    317
See reviews for
1,579
3,187
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel was very clean and most of the the staff were nice. We stayed in building A and had an excellent view of the pool and ocean. Be careful of your room choice in building A. If you get on the ends half of your view is another building. The rooms were a nice size and the balcony was relaxing. One of the main problems that we had was the humidity inside of the rooms. If you did not keep the air conditioning down extremly low your room would get humid. Several of us stayed and those that turned the air conditioning down at night, woke up with water puddles on the floor. The beds were another issue. They were hard unless you got a foam topper (some toppers were softer than others) and you always felt like you getting into a wet bed. The sheets seemed to hold the moisture of the room and smelled musty.

The buffet was okay. We did not eat in any of the restaurants. They had enough variety that you could find something to suit your taste. Let me say that I did not gain one pound on this vacation and ate at the buffett for all three meals. That is all I have to say about that.

The pool was nice. It is true about getting up early to secure a chair at the pool. I was down there by 6:00 AM every morning. So much for sleeping in while on vacation. I did not attempt the beach. I was not getting up any earlier than I did to get a seat at the pool.

I did not care for many of the drinks that were made. I must say if you like your drinks strong, you are in the right place. If you try a few of the bartenders you will find some that can make a pretty good drink. Mostly I did not like the flavor of some of the juices used or the brands of alcohol.

If you are looking to kill some time in the evening they have a show around 10:00 PM. It last for about a half hour. If you have something else to do, do not stop your plans as you may be disappointed.

If you are going for the casino, the casino here is very small. We went to other casinos that we liked better.

Aruba was a nice place to visit as it was our first time. We are not in a hurry to go back, if we did we would consider trying another hotel.

Room Tip: I would choose Building A as it is the main building. The balconies are bigger and you have an excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank offseasontravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Overal thel hotel is good. But... For beach lovers - you have to get up around 4.30 a.m to reserve palabo/hut on the beach. Later, If you are lucky enough you will get a shadow of a palm tree or pay $25 per day (till 5 p.m) for an umbrella (rent on the beach). Otherwise you will be burned by sun, UV index is extreme!
The beach is public, so hotel is not responsible for its condition- for me it's not a good feature for the resourt claimed to be 5 stars all-inclusive. Thus, you are under constant stress of competition about your main pleasures - beach and pool. Same situation about the pool. It is not a relaxation on vacation. I love Aruba, sea and beach, but for sure will find another resourt next time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at the RIU from 4/24/12 to 5/1/12. Our king suite overlooked the pool and had a great view of the ocean. The room, housekeeping, were great. The lobbies, pool area, walkways, restaurants were extremely clean. The staff was very visible and helpful. The food was excellent. We ate in the Italian restaurant and the Steak house. It is not often, as in the steak house, that you get an appetizer of crab legs, shrimp cocktail, etc, followed by filet mignon and lobster. The meal also includes a baked potato and steamed vegetables, plus baked alaska or triple chocolate cake for dessert. The quality of the buffet was excellent. Again, you don't often get roasted turkey, duck, pig, ham on a buffet. They also had beef tenderloin on the buffet. There were so many fresh breads and desserts, I couldn't name them all. The service was also friendly and helpful. Lounge chairs around the pool and the huts are an issue. The huts go very early, but there were always lounge chairs available under the palm trees. Later in the day, lounge chairs do open up around the pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful, a special thank you to Gabriel who helped us at the front desk and Ana Lucia who was nice at the buffet. I have read the criticisms of the RIU but I did not find all of them valid, we had a wonderful vacation in sunny and windy Aruba.

Room Tip: The building looking to the ocean seems to have the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank can1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My partner and I stayed at the palace back in June 2011
This hotel has the wow factor!

Our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels every day, mini bar was also stocked daily.

The restaurant food was amazing every day plenty of food to choose from, I have never seen so many desserts to choose from. Do not go to the hotel if you are wanting to eat healthy, you got no chance. There are a couple of other restaurants which you need to book for, I recommend you book these a few days before you want to eat in there are these restaurants get very busy.

Weather was brilliant while we were there, there was a lovely breeze everyday so this kept us cool, with the wind you will need to put plenty of sun cream on.

Entertainment every night.
You will have a great holiday

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the hotel pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DaisyJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,596 reviews
0.5 km away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,094 reviews
3.8 km away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,823 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
627 reviews
5.1 km away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,970 - ₹ 56,572
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing