We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn looks towards the Brecon Beacons - and the local sheep!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn looks towards the Brecon Beacons - and the local sheep!
The super-king sized bed can be made up as twins if you prefer.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Barn looks towards the Brecon Beacons - and the local sheep!
The super-king sized bed can be made up as twins if you prefer.
Outbuilding at Nant Llwyd
The Barn at sunrise - perfect!
Local traffic jam.
Our nearest neighbours
The perfect spot for a cup of coffee or a glass of wine.
The Barn and outbuildings
Early morning in Brechfa Forest - only minutes away
View from our lane
Stunning views from Mynydd Llanllwni
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marion F
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our stay was amazing from start to finish. We relaxed the minute we stepped into The Barn with the welcome tea tray and cake. This is one of the best self catering places we have been to and would highly recommend it for peace, quiet and great walks in Brechfa Forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
We're so pleased you had such a relaxing holiday - for both the two legged and four legged guests. We look forward to seeing you again. All the best. Elinor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not sure who enjoyed it more! Me or the Dog!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

If you love taking your dog away with you and you want to stay somewhere with that little extra in comfort then you will be hard pressed to beat "The Barn".

The two bedroomed holiday let has been tastefully decorated. Each bedroom has its own ensuite (1 shower and 1 bath/shower) the beds are of high quality along with the duvets, pillows and bed linen ensuring a wonderful nights sleep. This part of the house is, quite rightly, the "no dog zone". But don't worry! the rest isn't!

The open dining/lounge and kitchen area is great for chilling out in the evening with dog(s) and a huge entrance (leading to utility) is the perfect place to let them sleep. There's a fully enclosed garden with lovely views just for your own use.

There are some beautiful forest walks just down the road - one from the house and others a mere mile or two down the road. The lovely owners will happily dog sit if you want a meal or trip out on your own and freshly laid eggs, home made cakes and bread are available on request.

This is a break from the real world, a beautiful, quiet and relaxing break with or without pets. It is not in the middle of a town or village but 5 miles will put you in a small town with a shop etc.

The only thing i would say is make sure your dog is a well behaved one - there are loads of sheep in the neighbouring fields and out on the open moors and it may be too much of a draw to want to chase them !

Would I go back? Absolutely ! The dog sulked for a couple of days so it's anything to keep him happy! Until the next time ........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
What a lovely review - thank you very much to all three of you for making the week so special! Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, beautiful location, a great getaway!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with my partner for a long weekend at this well-equipped holiday cottage. Everything was spotlessly clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and there wasn't a single thing we needed that hadn't already been thought of, even Sky TV and wifi! The location is stunning, and there are some beautiful walks right from the doorstep - the owners have even provided maps and recommendations of walks and these didn't disappoint. There are also some lovely places to visit within easy driving distance.
This is a lovely location to escape from the hustle and bustle of the town. We enjoyed waking to the birds outside our window and the sheep in the nearby field. There is a lovely garden area , and the owners keep free range chickens who provide delicious eggs. Home made cake is also available which is delicious! Elinor and Paul were friendly, helpful and welcoming. This is the nicest holiday cottage we have stayed in, and we will definitely be back for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and surroundings
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2013
It was lovely to meet you both, and we're really pleased that everything went well for you here. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PincherPe...
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, charming setting, fine service from owners”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a glorious week in southern Wales, at the Barn at Nant Llwyd in 2010. Elinor and Paul treated us royally, the "Barn" was anything but a barn -- a charming two bedroom converted old stone barn, complete with living room and full kitchen, and outfitted with fine bedding and linens and North American quality bathrooms. We've stayed at vacation rentals in many parts of the world, and the Barn ranks in the top tier.

There are lots of outdoor activities, charming pubs and quaint restaurants nearby, and southern Wales is a delightfully beautiful surprise.

We highly recommend The Barn. You will be treated well.

Peter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Top quality accommodation, central location in south Wales, tranquil countryside but lots of hiking and sights nearby
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2013
It's lovely to know we appeal to our North American audience too! Thank you so much for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets at The Barn
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Apr 2013
We really appreciate the feedback, and are always looking for ways to make the stay better for our guests and their dogs. Thank you for such a leg up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing