We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A True Escape to the Country”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
226 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 226 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thorncrof...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A True Escape to the Country”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

After seeing Nikki & Jason on Escape to the Country looking for holiday lets in Carmarthenshire we then discovered they had finally achieved their dream and were running a totally dog friendly place in the Brechfa Forest! We couldn't believe our luck, this would be perfect for our needs as we have a dog (Spike) and we have family in the area who we visit regularly so finding a place we can stay with Spike instead of putting him in kennels is priceless. He was even allowed on the sofa to snooze while we went to visit our family!

Hay Barn is a cosy rustic little place full of charm and character with outstanding views over the valley. It has an enclosed low 3ft fence to the front of the barn but there are sheep in the next field so be aware of this if for example you have a dog that likes jumping fences and sheep herding lol! Speaking of sheep, it might be worth potential visitors noting to keep the velux windows completely shut at night or they could wake you up Baaaaaaaaaaa!! Also worth noting for potential tall visitors that the ceiling height in the upstairs bedrooms are quite low, not a huge issue as you are sleeping most of the time anyway. While I'm on the topic of top tips for visitors I thought it might be useful to know what household items are included in your stay:-

Hand wash
Air freshener
Toilet bleach
Dishwasher tablets
2 toilet rolls
Fairy liquid

There's also a utility cupboard under the stairs with vacuum cleaner, mop & bucket etc handy for cleaning up after your dog. Things you might want to bring with you are essentials like tea, coffee, sugar, milk, bread, butter....alcohol lol! We stopped at Aldi at Crosshands on the way in and stocked up before arrival.

We didn't need to buy dinner however as we pre booked a three course meal with Nikki, stuffed mushrooms, Thai pork & pepper with rice and sticky toffee pud which were all amazing!! Highly recommend pre booking this option as if you are first to book you get to choose what you like, if someone has already booked for the same night then you will have the option to book the choices they have made. This makes it easier for Nikki who has found her cooking is very popular, for good reason, and therefore having to cook lots of different meals at the same time was proving impossible.

We all had a really lovely stay, we both commented how it truly was an escape to the country and can't wait to return, trying to convince hubby to book a pre Christmas weekend so watch this space!!

Thanks again Nikki, Jason & the Beags love Sally, John, Jack & Spike xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog allowed to be left at home & snooze on sofas 😊 Value for money is excellent!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Goodness me! What a lovely, very comprehensive and helpful review - thank you so much Sally, John, Jack and the scrumptious teddy bear Spike the Rottie. Hope to see you at Xmas! ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome....”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

If I could give this six stars I would. A group of friends & I have spent 3 days here on a mountain bike break. The riding is excellent, the Brecha Forest is a bit of an undiscovered gem, and Jay's guiding is first class, we got deep into the forest on tracks you just wouldn't have found. Add onto that the excellent facilities and frankly delicious food, and you have a great break. The very next thing I'm going to do is book my next trip back, can't recommend it enough

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you Neil. See you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Se1980
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Break Away”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We saw a cancellation on Facebook for a 3 night stay in Bay Tree Barn and we are so so glad that we decided to book it. The barn was just perfect for us and our dog Eric. From arrival we were made to feel so welcome, and I would highly recommend booking the meals as we did for our first night. The food was delicious - especially the banoffee sundae!! There are some beautiful walks on the doorstep, but also lovely walks a short drive away, especially the beaches. That's if you can bring yourself to leave the barn as it is just super cosy - we really did not want to come home!! Thank you for having us - we will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
And you would be very welcome. Thank you very much for the lovely review Stacey :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele R
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate-book!”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was a great few days away, we stayed at the quaint Old Bike Shed with our 2 collies. We tasted Nikki's delicious meals, do try her food,you will not be disappointed. Hubby loved the mountain biking and took advice from Jason. (He hopes to book through Mud Trek next year with friends to focus on the biking) This time it was a mixture of dog walking and biking in the most magnificent countryside. The accommodation was perfect and the views just amazing. Can't wait to revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, food cooked by Nikki and dog walks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Brilliant. Thanks Michele. Come back soon for more of the same ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second stay in Bay Tree Barn this year and once again what a lovely weekend we had with our two dogs.

Our first visit to Bay Tree Barn was so lovely it made us realise how much we would love a homely cottage everyday. We had no intentions of moving house before this trip but ended up selling our house in the city in Bristol and moving to our own cottage on the outskirts of Bristol and we are so happy there. So thank you Nikki for the inspiration.

Extremely dog friendly with so many beautiful walks nearby.

We had breakfast both mornings cooked by Nikki and the food was just as lovely as last time.

We also ate in the Daffodil which was lovely and had a great day out at Pembrey Country Park.

Lovely cottage, lovely views, lovely owners and lovely food. A wonderful home from home.

We will see you again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
How lovely that we were the inspiration for your own move to the country! Delighted to hear that trip no.3 is on the card too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing