We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, even better service!”

El Chalan Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 29/07
20:00
Ranked #66 of 249 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 22
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: The forerunners of Peruvian cuisine in Aruba, Betty and Isaac started this project in 1997 from their home where every resident Peruvian felt at home remembering Peru. Today we are in the heart of Aruba (Oranjestad) firm in transmitting and delighting with that hospitality and home season to the whole Island and visitors. Our Philosophy is summarized as "A Family that serves Families" that is why we have converted one of the best cuisines in the world at affordable prices for all. Visit us and let us have the honor of serving you, the only risk you run is to want to repeat every day.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

Such a great local restaurant. Everything was delicious, and came out quickly and hot! Our server, Alejandra, was amazing. I definitely recommend the arroz con leche for dessert. Relaxing jaz music keeps the food and drinking flowing.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank DesSaidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElChalanAruba, General Manager at El Chalan Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Thank you so much for this review, hope to serve you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2021

Wonderful meal, great service. Peruvian Asian fusion...who knew? Best, least expensive, most food meal we had out in Aruba.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mikemcgarry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElChalanAruba, General Manager at El Chalan Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

Thank you very much, we hope to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021

Visited there just recently for lunch and left satisfied with the food and great service.
They have a variety of lunch special beside their regular menu. Service was just outstanding,

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NOAOranjestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

This restaurant offers a great lunch option, at a great price. But the menu is also amazing. Plenty good options on authentic Peruvian food.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DNL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2019

El Chalan, peruvian restaurant in sunny Aruba. I have visited this restaurant a few times and mostly for the lunch special they have. I mean who doens't like a 3-course meal? Lol They start with a soup which is different i think everyday but the main dishes are standard for the lunch. You can choose 1 out of 6 or 8 dishes. Also the appetizer changes, but if you go a few times you catch up...lol. ofcourse you can choose something else if you do not want the lunch special, but the price will then be the usual price. I have to say everytime i went i enjoyed the meal and is a bit different then i am use to compared to the flavour and the way it is prepared. On the downside is the language barrier. The people speak mostly Spanish and Papiamento. So English is a bit difficult, but the girls do try their best and thankfully they are friendly! Also the main dishes are in Spanish and English so you have an idea what you can order and what is in it.
The restaurant i visted is not in the tourist area, but i think a bus passess in the area. Someone told me that there are 2 El Chalan's, but i have no idea where the other one is.
Enjoy!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Marel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chalan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Chalan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.