We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”

Waka Waka Safari Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 232 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A small, family-owned restaurant serving hearty portions of local, home-style family cuisine as well as international. "Machi" (Grandma) Betty shares her traditional recipesresulting in excellent meals for any occasion delectable local dishes served with outstanding Aruban hospitality makes for a memorable dining experience at Waka Waka. Eat like an Aruban, and discover why we are "one happy island." There is limited seating, so please call for a reservation. We are locate 5 minutes away from all the major hotel.
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We went to the restaurant on a Saturday. Because most of the visitors are from time share occupants, there was no one else at the restaurant. We really lucked out. The food was excellent. The service was perfect. We used a coupon to receive a free bottle of wine with the meal. We all had different entrees (and there were four of us). SO we got to sample a variety from the menu. All the choices were excellent! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Hi there Lonnie!

Thank you for your 5 star review.
We are filled with joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations :)

Hope to see you soon in Waka Waka again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 298 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2015

This restaurant is included in the ABC all day tour. Very different and nice decorations. The food was really good. I am a picky eater but I ate my food. For the size group we had, our food was hot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank browntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Hi there Browntone,

Thank you very much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed the meal, and hope you had a blast on the tour.

We hope to welcome you back for Dinner and you can experience an adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We ate here this evening, and found this restaurant to be delicious, the service was good and the prices are reasonable. We ate here in November and can say that the restaurant is consistent in all aspects. It's located near Ling and Sons Market and it's worth a visit.

Thank m1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Hi there M1006,

Thank you so much for reviewing and visiting our restaurant again :)

We are glad that you enjoyed your evening once again with us, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

grouper was a definite 10! Service was perfects. Ari was very attentive and the service was prompt. Drinks were hood.recommend the plantains as a starter. Key lime pie was a definite 10! Better than the keys. Will recommend to our friends and will return.

Thank LaNora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Hi there LaNora L,

Thank you for taking your time to review us :)

We are very happy that you indulged with our Key Lime Pie, kudos will be passed along to our Pastry Chef and for the group we will make sure our chefs know that it's a 10!

We shall see you again in Waka Waka, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Waka Waka Safari Restaurant is close to Ling & Sons Food store.. Food was ok, service slow, limited wine choices. Will not return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DHTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear DHTravelerBoston,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

Giving our customers excellent service is the core of our business, so we sincerely apologise for not delivering this and for not meeting your expectations.
Although it is hard to learn of your less than pleasant experience, we appreciate your feed back and will be sharing this information you have mentioned to continue to improve in the future.

We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back and truly showcase the Waka Waka experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waka Waka Safari Restaurant also viewed

Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Waka Waka Safari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing