We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offside excellent restaurang”

Waka Waka Safari Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 227 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A small, family-owned restaurant serving hearty portions of local, home-style family cuisine as well as international. "Machi" (Grandma) Betty shares her traditional recipesresulting in excellent meals for any occasion delectable local dishes served with outstanding Aruban hospitality makes for a memorable dining experience at Waka Waka. Eat like an Aruban, and discover why we are "one happy island." There is limited seating, so please call for a reservation. We are locate 5 minutes away from all the major hotel.
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

Small family resturant with best catch on the day fish creole style I ever have eaten. Family owned restaurant where there are few restaurants except of the tourist resort restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Skutan,

Thank you for taking your time to review Waka Waka :)
We are happy you enjoyed our Catch of the day, and yes indeed we are a small cozy family restaurant!

Hope to see you back soon at Waka Waka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Waka Waka Safari Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 303 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2015

What can I say, food was great, prepared just right, service outstanding. This place is a hidden treasure. It is off the beaten path, but well worth the venture to try out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oneworldall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi there oneworldall1,

We are filled with joy with your review, thank you for taking your time to write it!
We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and great meals, happy that we delivered both.

Hope to see you back at Waka Waka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We initially got there by accident- the restaurant we had reservations in was closed because of the rain so the taxi driver took us to Waka Waka.
We had an amazing meal. Even my very picky kids loved it. We had to go back before vacation was over.
Highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElinaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi ElinaB2!

Waw! We are definitely fortunate that you made it to Waka Waka even if it was by accident and delighted that your kids loved it :)

Looking forward to having you and your family again in Waka Waka soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Waka Waka is worth a trip. My wife, adult son and I had the funchi with cheese app and three entrees -- bbq platter, grilled grouper with creole sauce and the arroz con pollo with peanut sauce. All three were perfectly prepared and had outstanding flavor. Service was attentive, and the space is beautifully theme decorated. We will definitely return.

Thank MyBrideandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear MyBrideandMe,


We are lighthearted by your review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it.
Our Chefs make a lot of effort for our plates to be "outstanding" as you mentioned.

We will pass along the compliments to the staff and awesome that you loved the theme of our restaurant.

See you back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

we went here after taking an ABC tour which is next door. Food is good and the service excellent. Ribs are good but not as good as Smokey Joes but the fish is better. Prices are very reasonable. You won't go wrong if you dine here

Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi there Alan S,

Thank you for taking time to review us.

Hope to see you back at Waka Waka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waka Waka Safari Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Waka Waka Safari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing