We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant”

Waka Waka Safari Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 228 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A small, family-owned restaurant serving hearty portions of local, home-style family cuisine as well as international. "Machi" (Grandma) Betty shares her traditional recipesresulting in excellent meals for any occasion delectable local dishes served with outstanding Aruban hospitality makes for a memorable dining experience at Waka Waka. Eat like an Aruban, and discover why we are "one happy island." There is limited seating, so please call for a reservation. We are locate 5 minutes away from all the major hotel.
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We initially got there by accident- the restaurant we had reservations in was closed because of the rain so the taxi driver took us to Waka Waka.
We had an amazing meal. Even my very picky kids loved it. We had to go back before vacation was over.
Highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElinaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi ElinaB2!

Waw! We are definitely fortunate that you made it to Waka Waka even if it was by accident and delighted that your kids loved it :)

Looking forward to having you and your family again in Waka Waka soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 306 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2015

Waka Waka is worth a trip. My wife, adult son and I had the funchi with cheese app and three entrees -- bbq platter, grilled grouper with creole sauce and the arroz con pollo with peanut sauce. All three were perfectly prepared and had outstanding flavor. Service was attentive, and the space is beautifully theme decorated. We will definitely return.

Thank MyBrideandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear MyBrideandMe,


We are lighthearted by your review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it.
Our Chefs make a lot of effort for our plates to be "outstanding" as you mentioned.

We will pass along the compliments to the staff and awesome that you loved the theme of our restaurant.

See you back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

we went here after taking an ABC tour which is next door. Food is good and the service excellent. Ribs are good but not as good as Smokey Joes but the fish is better. Prices are very reasonable. You won't go wrong if you dine here

Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi there Alan S,

Thank you for taking time to review us.

Hope to see you back at Waka Waka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Actually a taxi driver suggested Waka Waka, so we decided to try it out. We have spent a lot of money eating on Aruba. This by far was one of our favorite meals. A definite when in Aruba! We started with the amazing plantain chips and coconut shrimp, simply delicious. The ribs were some of the best BBQ I have eaten. The lamb was seasoned and cooked to perfection. To finish off the meal, we tasted the best cheesecake I have tried. The night was highlighted with friendly service and a talented piano player. It was a perfect night out, hard to find though, take a cab!

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review :)

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant time at Waka Waka, and that you enjoyed our food, service and entertainment.
We are indeed a little bit of the beaten path, but glad that you discovered us.

Wishing you a great day, and we aspire to see you back at our restaurant soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

Not far from the Divi Golf resort and Ling Bros market, but tucked away in the back so you might want to map it first. We went there on a weeknight last week with a group of nine; everybody got the all inclusive $29.99 early bird meal. Most got either the grouper or the filet and everybody gave it a thumbs up. I've gotta say, the grouper was one of the better meals I've had in Aruba, and the desserts were terrific. Quite a good offering for $29 as Aruba restaurants can be a bit pricey. Will definitely go again !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ccdugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi there ccdugga!

Thank you very much for your review.

We are excited that you all gave a thumbs up to our meals :)
We will pass along the kudos to our Chef and Pastry Chef!

Hope to see you back soon at Waka Waka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waka Waka Safari Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Waka Waka Safari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing