We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must have" on your dinner list!”

Waka Waka Safari Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 228 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A small, family-owned restaurant serving hearty portions of local, home-style family cuisine as well as international. "Machi" (Grandma) Betty shares her traditional recipesresulting in excellent meals for any occasion delectable local dishes served with outstanding Aruban hospitality makes for a memorable dining experience at Waka Waka. Eat like an Aruban, and discover why we are "one happy island." There is limited seating, so please call for a reservation. We are locate 5 minutes away from all the major hotel.
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Actually a taxi driver suggested Waka Waka, so we decided to try it out. We have spent a lot of money eating on Aruba. This by far was one of our favorite meals. A definite when in Aruba! We started with the amazing plantain chips and coconut shrimp, simply delicious. The ribs were some of the best BBQ I have eaten. The lamb was seasoned and cooked to perfection. To finish off the meal, we tasted the best cheesecake I have tried. The night was highlighted with friendly service and a talented piano player. It was a perfect night out, hard to find though, take a cab!

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review :)

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant time at Waka Waka, and that you enjoyed our food, service and entertainment.
We are indeed a little bit of the beaten path, but glad that you discovered us.

Wishing you a great day, and we aspire to see you back at our restaurant soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 309 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2014

Not far from the Divi Golf resort and Ling Bros market, but tucked away in the back so you might want to map it first. We went there on a weeknight last week with a group of nine; everybody got the all inclusive $29.99 early bird meal. Most got either the grouper or the filet and everybody gave it a thumbs up. I've gotta say, the grouper was one of the better meals I've had in Aruba, and the desserts were terrific. Quite a good offering for $29 as Aruba restaurants can be a bit pricey. Will definitely go again !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ccdugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi there ccdugga!

Thank you very much for your review.

We are excited that you all gave a thumbs up to our meals :)
We will pass along the kudos to our Chef and Pastry Chef!

Hope to see you back soon at Waka Waka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2014

We found this place by luck, as we were looking for a local dominican lady that cooks spanish food-we were told her place was in back of Waka Waka..we stopped into the ABC Jeep Tours(which is right next to Waka & Waka) and met the owner and some of the staff there(who are as sweet as can be btw!) they tried to find the place that we were looking for, called people etc BUT didnt havhaving too much luck, they asked if we had tried their restaurant Waka Waka and the rest is history! We made reservations and we had the best dinner!!!

The owner Sharla is a doll!!! she came up to us, gave us a BIG hug & welcome and thanked us for coming!

Our waiter Edickson and the waitress Danilella were GREAT! They were very attentive, accommodating and even asked us if we needed a taxi!

Excellent customer service, good food & a great atmosphere-you will feel very welomed, be sure to check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cinderella4aday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi there Cinderella4aday!

Thank you so so much for your review!
We loved meeting you guys, and the cupcakes you brought for us were absolutely delicious :D

Hope to see you back at Waka Waka when you return back to Aruba! Sharla and the whole team send you big hugs from the ABC & Waka Waka Family!

Have a great day <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Well worth a visit here as the food was very good . Not easy to find - best by taxi as not on the beach area. Glad we went though. Ribs were excellant and lamb chops too.........
They also do an early bird offer which is good value but we were too late for that.
Smallish place but had a piano player and a small bar area. The decor was very jungle themed and good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi Renb0,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

So awesome that you loved the lamb chops and the ribs.
We are also happy that you enjoyed the Safari/Jungle themed decor :)

Hope to see you back at Waka Waka!
Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014 via mobile

waka waka is a fairly new restaurant and a favorite with local
They offer a 3 course dinner for 2. For $29 per person that includes a bottle of wine
My wife and I had the coconut shrimp app. Which was very good
We ordered filet mignon and pan fried grouper for the main course
The portions are on the smaller side but adequate
Recommend you go early as they struggle when the place gets crowded
The room is very creative and comfortable
Worthv the trip

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterBurke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H, Manager at Waka Waka Safari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hi there Peter!

Thank you for your review :)

Glad you enjoyed the Coconut Shrimp, that is my personal favourite.
The decor is very safari inspired so we are happy to know you found it creative and comfortable!

Thanks again, hope to see you back soon.
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waka Waka Safari Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Waka Waka Safari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing