We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy cafe in a beautiful setting”
Review of Cafe the Plaza

Cafe the Plaza
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe the Plaza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 243 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Seafood, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Café the Plaza is located in the city center of Oranjestad. Café the Plaza is not only the perfect location to enjoy a meal or to have drinks, but also the perfect place to relax and unwind, read the newspaper or to have a swinging night out on the weekends. Café the Plaza has a large outside patio area with daily live entertainment. The menu is extensive and has something for everyone. From breakfast to lunch to a superb exclusive evening meal, or just a little bite to go with your drinks.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had Dutch Waffles each which were very tasty and only cost $3.50. The setting is beautiful with manicured lawns, and it was a delightful place to have a light snack

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dtredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaWineAndDine, Public Relations Manager at Cafe the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

That’s so nice to hear! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the Dutch waffles and the atmosphere at Cafe the Plaza! We hope to see you back soon.
 
Kind regards,
Alfons Linders – marketing@arubawineanddine.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Good host with a good breakfast. We had a couple Dutch pancakes and waffles. Yes we did have breakfast at the “other” spot next door but for half the price I could not tell the difference between the Dutch pancakes. Thumbs up from our family and they all cleaned their plates. I would recommend.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaWineAndDine, Public Relations Manager at Cafe the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor review and we are happy to learn that you and your family had a good breakfast with us. It was wonderful having you at our restaurant and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
 
Kind regards,
Alfons Linders – marketing@arubawineanddine.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This restaurant looked inviting enough for breakfast - and while busy, it wasn't overly crowded. We opted for a table indoors - where we had to wait several minutes before our table was cleared and cleaned....and wait even longer until we received menus....and wait even longer until someone bothered to take our order. The wait staff seemed more interested in serving the patrons seated outdoors - and after prodding various servers over the course of an hour, we received our order which was blasé at best. Fortunately, for the rest of our stay, the neighboring restaurants were exceptional with their service and food. Quite a disappointment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaWineAndDine, Public Relations Manager at Cafe the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge that we didn’t meet your expectations and we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. It’s our goal to provide you with the best product and service possible and to offer you a great experience. We are constantly working towards improvement and your feedback will help us reaching higher.

We do hope that we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back. Feel free to contact me directly of you wish to make reservations again.

Kind regards,
Alfons Linders – marketing@arubawineanddine.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped here one afternoon while exploring downtown for lunch. Pleasantly surprised, great food with fresh bread for the sandwiches, good mixed drinks, and super friendly and helpful staff. Has a more upscale appearance but we didn't feel out of place in our casual day wear, maybe different at night, but a good lunch spot we will likely return to on future visits

Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaWineAndDine, Public Relations Manager at Cafe the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Pat,

Thank you very much for your nice review and we are happy to learn that you were pleasantly surprised.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Alfons Linders – marketing@arubawineanddine.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Awesome place for breakfast, wonderful food! We hit this twice, each time we didn't need any lunch afterwards.

Thank janisr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaWineAndDine, Public Relations Manager at Cafe the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Janis,

That’s so nice to hear! We are happy to read that you had an awesome breakfast at Cafe the Plaza! We hope to see you back soon.
 
Kind regards,
Alfons Linders – marketing@arubawineanddine.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe the Plaza also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Cafe the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing