We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First dinner”
Review of Driftwood

Driftwood
Ranked #26 of 251 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 36
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are located in the heart of characteristic downtown Oranjestad and offer you a unique dining experience. Enjoy the freshest fish, biggest shrimp, or the most succulent Caribbean lobster amid the rustic ambience of the natural driftwood dining room. Our menu includes a large variety of typically Aruban delicacies including our three star fish soup and our mouth-watering filet of fish served with a mild Aruban Creole sauce... A seafood lovers dream come true. Furthermore all dishes are prepared with an Aruban touch and accompanied by Pan Bati, our famous Aruban corn bread. We welcome you to our intimate and comfortable Aruban seafood restaurant where we will do our utmost to make your dining experience a most pleasant and enjoyable one. Welcome to Driftwood!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our first dinner on the island here. Food was terrific. Service was good. Cute wall decorations where patrons had signed their names on driftwood.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jolo2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed our visit to Driftwood. Fast friendly service combined with excellent food made for a great dinner. The fresh seafood prepared Arubian style was delicious. We would definitely go back.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Driftwood is a long time popular establi. Known for their seafood it is very popular. It is a dinner only restaurant with a very competent chef. Not only do the serve fresh seafood, they have two large fishing boats and a team to supply the items served fresh from local waters. Service is prompt and personable and the food is delicious. The menu is manageable and the dining room fills up fast so get a reservation. Your catch from their charter boats can be prepared for you. The decor is a unique nautical theme fashioned from local Driftwood. The owners are friendly and personable. Good bar to match great food. The eatery is behind the Renaissance Hotel downtown Oranjestad.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank moosaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Wow wow wow where to start. The minute we walked through the door we were treated like family but only better. The food rocked ,DH had swordfish and I had wahoo ,both were caught today.
Each comes with your choice of rice with a wonderful sauce or a bake potato along with carrots, yellow pepper,
broccoli and corn bread. This is all for $26.95.
I had a coupon for a free Carmel flan.
They surprised us with a banana cake served on an anniversary plate with the hearts filled in with strawberry jell and sprinkles with a 25 made out of chocolate whipped cream yum yum.
Shout out to Michael and Lando and all the wonderful ladies there.
We are hoping to go back before we head home.
Do your self a favor and make a visit to Driftwood on your vacation.
They open up at 5.00pm and pretty packed by 6.30pm so plan accordingly.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank tyedyecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

I went fishing with the Driftwood’s Charters boat in the morning. Caught 3 nice mahi-mahi in about an hour on a 4 hour charter.
Rudolfo was the best mate ever & Hiro the captain found the fish.
Great time fishing and went to the Driftwood resturant that evening with my wife and had the fish prepared 4 ways. Food was excellent and we had plenty to take home which I snacked on for the next couple of days.
$400 for the charter & $17 each for the fish feasts.
All in all, an excellent day!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lynnseery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driftwood also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing