We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great affordable quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dickenson Bay Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great affordable quiet place to stay”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

we really enjoyed our week here. we had just come from a hotel stay in St. kitts and decided to cook for ourselves 6of the 7 nights. It had a great kitchen and also a gas grill out by the pool. they do have a slight charge for the grill but that was ok as the staff would clean and prepare it for your use. Go to Epicurean grocery store and stock up as it's a $12 dollar cab ride there. but the store is huge and has everything. There is also another large grocery store that you can hike to. The cottages are clean and comfy. the staff very friendly. Kremilita (?) is in the office and she is amazing. If you want something or want to tour or fish, whatever, she is the go to woman. I enjoyed just lounging around the pool and enjoying the quiet.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are available and what the configuration of it is. Different floor plans available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islasusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    40
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
43
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at Dickenson bay cottages for 10 nights this february and found them to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The cottages our 15mins walk from dickenson beach and a good choice of restaurants the best for breakfast and dinner we found to be was coconut grove nice fresh food reasonably priced it has a french chef and it shows.The is a great store and veg/fruit seller near beach but it is worth going to the big supermarket to stock up walkable if fit or 10 mins by taxi.First time in antigua found to be much nicer than barbados (less hassle and friendly people) met an Italian couple who were very nice and they also said they would return again. Staff great, manager does need to remember to smile very nice though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here two nights on a business trip. Cottages are sizeable (mine was a duplex) and well maintained, good-size swimming pool and ample car parking space. A daily charge is made for wi-fi (why?) but not excessive. Watch out for the very tame bananquits which can get into your room given half a chance.

Not cheap, but I was travelling in high season, and Antigua has very little in the way of cheap, decent accommodation. I was allowed a couple of extra hours to check out for the late-afternoon Virgin flight. Reception staff could try to smile more often.....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at DBC and what a fab place to stay if you like peace and quiet using a venue as a base to explore the island. The cottages were very clean, well equipped and had both air conditioning and ceiling fans. It is not mentioned on their website but beach / pool towels are provided and can be changed whenever you want. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was about a ten minute walk away with bars / restaurants so you could stay all day. The restaurant, Opus, opposite the cottages served very good food but was not that busy so lacked a bit of atmosphere.

This is a place that we will definitely stay at again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredcarn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just returned from our 2 week stay hadn't been to antigua since 1994 and was really pleased to find it still unspoilt and empty beaches are still to be found. Cottage was fab and had everything we needed, very spacious and well equipped. My husband was on crutches and being a small place we could totally relax and enjoy the sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
2.3 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
0.8 km away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#7 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.4 km away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickenson Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickenson Bay Cottages

Property: Dickenson Bay Cottages
Address: Anchorage Road | Trade Winds, P.O.Box1379, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,170 - ₹ 10,400
Hotel Class:3 star — Dickenson Bay Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dickenson Bay Cottages is an exclusive development offering elegance and intimacy. The Suites are set in tranquil tropical gardens around an inviting and very private swimming pool. Fully equipped with every modern amenity and catering for couples and families alike the accommodation is practical and extremely flexible. Just a short walk from one of the islands premier beaches with its water sports, restaurants and bars. "Arguably the best self catering accommodation in Antigua" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dickenson Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dickenson Bay Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Dickenson Bay Cottages Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing