We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One night in Paradise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Catamaran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Catamaran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One night in Paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Lovely hotel located right on the beach with lovely views over the bay. We stayed in a beach front room which had a lovely verandah complete with loungers and a hammock and step on to the beach...highly recommended. The staff here were really friendly and very helpful. The night we stayed the restaurant adjacent the hotel has just changed hands we did stay for bbq dinner which was great however the breakfast wasn't so good... still I think the staff where still finding their feet! The rooms are clean and air conditioned. The kitchen is well equipped and each room has a large refrigerator. The bathrooms although not huge are well equipped too. It is a short taxi ride into Falmouth Harbour takes around 10 minutes for $20. There is also a small supermarket a short walk away for all your provision needs. There is also a very small swimming pool. Would recommend this place!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    42
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
61
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Love the hotel was very comfortable and the staff were really friendly

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We just returned from Antigua. We stayed at the Catamaran Hotel and it was wonderful. The place is spotless. The staff are great and very friendly. There is free internet in the main office or if you bring your computer, you can use it in your room. All rooms have a great balcony with a view of the ocean. It's close to many restaurants in English Harbour. If you want a nice relaxing holiday, away from the all inclusive hotels, this is the place. Definitely rent a car so that you can check out all the beaches.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank momstjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed in a beachfront room and a friend of ours stayed in the superior room. I would recommend the superior room or better since the beachfront room was not as nice - the bathroom was much smaller, the furniture was "weathered" and there was little privacy since the door to the room opened directly onto the main level and beach (with people passing by). Also, in our room, the stove did not really work. However, I am still rating our stay as a four because our experience there was pleasurable. There were nice touches such as fresh flowers in the room; housekeeping was detail oriented (in fact they noticed I had moved a floor mat to the kitchenette area and next morning brought an additional mat for that area); the cook prepared us a sandwich even though the restaurant was closed for a function; and so on.

The little beach was pleasant and the yachts docked near by added to the ambiance. There was plenty of parking. The restaurant was convenient (although they did not have some of the items listed on the menu). All in all, this is a quaint little place with a nice staff who tries.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

A wonderful experience where you arrive as guests and leave as friends. We were lucky enough to be able to spend three weeks at the Catamaran in October and have nothing but praise for the owner and staff of this little gem of a hotel. From when we arrived, to be welcomed by a smiling Ron, until we left it was a joy. We like to be out and about when we are on holiday and found this hotel to be a good base to achieve this and with the added advantage of being able to relax in the air conditioned room, where you can prepare your own food if you wish, or cool down in the compact but very clean swimming pool. A tropical storm hit Antigua while we were there and Feona (the owner) and her staff kept us supplied with food and beverages throughout. I cant really do justice to how we felt seeing Feona and her merry group of staff struggling through torrential rain and winds to bring us supplies - definately beyond the call of duty. All the staff were extremely friendly, eager to help and Sharons continental breakfast was a treat. If you like the big all inclusive hotels then the Catamaran is not for you but if you want to feel part of the real Antiguan experience with real Antiguan people you will not be disappointed. Would we return to the Catamaran? Most definately!

  • Liked — staff and cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank migstony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
17.3 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
2.2 km away
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
#3 of 4 in English Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.7 km away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
16.5 km away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#5 of 16 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
16.7 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Catamaran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catamaran Hotel

Property: The Catamaran Hotel
Address: Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,756 - ₹ 14,636
Hotel Class:3 star — The Catamaran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Catamaran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catamaran Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing